Select Page

Basel

Switzerland

Basel

City of the CPCE General Assembly 2018

Nestled between the Swiss Jura, the Black Forest of Baden and the Vosges in Alsace, the Swiss city of Basel straddles the Rhine. This makes Basel the trifold intersection where France, Germany and Switzerland meet. This exposed geographical situation has always bestowed a special status on the city. Basel is a key intersection of European traffic and one of the most important global hubs of the pharmaceutical industry.
The city first truly flourished during the 15th century, when the Council of Basel convened there from 1431 until 1449. Paper production commenced in the city, printing presses started producing books and in 1460 papal privilege awarded Basel the first university to be established within the territory of modern-day Switzerland. The city also flourished in cultural terms, as Basel attracted prominent figures such as the physician Paracelsus, lawyer Sebastian Brant, artist Hans Holbein the Younger and humanist Erasmus of Rotterdam. In 1516, it was here that Erasmus published the first printed edition of the Greek New Testament along with his own Latin translation. The second edition of this work, published in 1519, formed the basis for further Reformist Bible translations, such as Martin Luther’s German edition, William Tyndale’s English Bible and the King James Version.
From 1515 to 1516, one of the professional associates of Erasmus was Johannes Oekolampad (1482-1531). After encountering Reformist thought and then studying Reformist teachings at various places for a number of years, Oekolampad finally settled in Basel in 1522, where, in his roles of professor and pastor, he became the city’s preeminent Reformer. In 1525, he celebrated the first Protestant Communion, then his first Protestant order of service for the city appeared in 1526, and in 1528, having been ordained as a priest, he married Wibrandis Rosenblatt, who after his death went on to re-marry – first Strasbourg Reformer Wolfgang Capito and then Reformer Martin Bucer. These close relations reveal just how tight the network was between the individual members of the movement. Oekolampad took part in numerous Reformation-era international discussions and disputations about religion. However, in Basel itself the Reformation followed a slightly different course. Although its City Council granted followers of the new teachings the freedom to practise their religion in this cathedral city, this only occurred after the inhabitants started iconoclastic riots on the night of Shrove Tuesday in 1529, which then led to immense civil unrest during which the handcraft guilds forced the City Council to admit the Reformation. The traditionalist City Mayor and the cathedral chapter left the city, and Basel Cathedral became Protestant. The city gradually acquired all the formal episcopal rights, thus gaining its independence. In 1535, John Calvin found refuge in Basel whilst fleeing from France, and it was there that he wrote his magnum opus Institutio Christianae religionis (Institutes of the Christian Religion), which sought to demonstrate that the Protestant faith formed the true Church. This seminal work was then printed in Basel the following year.
Basel was a pivotal city for the course of the Reformation’s development in Germany, France and Switzerland. So it is perfectly fitting that Basel is set to host the General Assembly of the Community of Protestant Churches in Europe in 2018, when its members will convene in Basel Cathedral and the Bishop’s Palace.

Our city’s paper industry, printing works and publishing houses drew the Humanists to Basel. During 2016, exhibitions celebrating Erasmus and his impetus for the Reformation will be displayed in Basel’s Historical Museum, its Art Museum and the Cathedral. The Reformation took hold in Basel in 1529. In 1536, Calvin sought refuge in Basel and published his Institutio here. Basel is without any doubt a genuine city of the Reformation.

Dr. Guy Morin

District President of the Canton of Basel City, Basel

Incidentally … Hans Holbein the Younger immortalised Basel’s anti-Reformist City Mayor Jakob Meyer zum Hasen, who left the city in 1529, in his Darmstadt Madonna. The painting is on public display in the European Reformation city of Schwäbisch Hall.

Links

City of Basel http://www.bs.ch/en

Tourist information http://www.basel.com/en

Evangelical-Reformed Church of the Canton Basel-Stadt http:// www.erk-bs.ch/

Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches http://www.kirchenbund.ch/en

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Basel

Schweiz

Basel

Reformationsgeschichte vom 15. ins 21. Jahrhundert: GEKE- Vollversammlung Basel 2018

Eingebettet zwischen dem schweizerischen Jura, dem badischen Schwarzwald und den Vogesen im Elsass liegt an beiden Ufern des Rheins die schweizerische Stadt Basel. Sie ist damit Zentrum des Dreiländerecks Frankreich, Deutschland und Schweiz. Diese exponierte geographische Lage gab der Stadt immer schon eine hervorgehobene Position. Basel ist ein europäischer Verkehrsknotenpunkt und eines der bedeutendsten Zentren für pharmazeutische Betriebe weltweit.
Im 15. Jahrhundert kam die Stadt zu einer ersten Blüte: Von 1431 bis 1449 tagte hier das Konzil von Basel. Die Papierfabrikation und der Buchdruck wurden eingeführt und durch päpstliches Privileg wurde in Basel 1460 die erste Universität auf dem Gebiet der heutigen Schweiz gegründet. Der kulturelle Aufschwung blieb nicht aus und Basel zog Persönlichkeiten, wie den Arzt Paracelsus, den Juristen Sebastian Brant, den Maler Hans Holbein d.J. und den Humanisten Erasmus von Rotterdam an. Letzterer veröffentlichte hier 1516 die erste gedruckte Ausgabe des griechischen Neuen Testaments mit einer von ihm angefertigten lateinischen Übersetzung. Die zweite Auflage dieses Werkes von 1519 wurde die Grundlage für verschiedene reformatorische Bibelübersetzungen, wie der Übersetzung Martin Luthers ins Deutsche oder ins Englische durch William Tyndale oder die Übersetzer der King-James-Version.
Ein Mitarbeiter des Erasmus war in den Jahren 1515/16 Johannes Oekolampad (1482-1531). Nachdem er mit den Gedanken der Reformation in Kontakt gekommen war und sich daraufhin über mehrere Jahre an verschiedenen Stätten mit der reformatorischen Lehre auseinandergesetzt hatte, ließ er sich 1522 endgültig in Basel nieder und wurde als Professor und Pfarrer der prägende Reformator der Stadt. 1525 feierte er das erste evangelische Abendmahl, 1526 erschien seine evangelische Gottesdienstordnung für die Stadt und 1528 heiratete der zum Priester geweihte Oekolampad Wibrandis Rosenblatt, die nach seinem Tod zunächst den Straßburger Reformator Wolfgang Capito und dann den Reformator Martin Bucer heiratete. Diese familiären Verbindungen geben Auskunft darüber, wie eng das Netzwerk der einzelnen Reformatoren war. Oekolampad nahm an zahlreichen internationalen Religionsgesprächen und Disputationen der Reformationszeit teil. Doch in Basel selbst nahm die Reformation eine etwas andere Wendung. Der Rat der Stadt erlaubte in der Bischofsstadt zwar den Anhängern der neuen Lehre die freie Religionsausübung, doch erst, als an Fastnacht 1529 die Bevölkerung einen Bildersturm begann, der sich zu großen Unruhen auswuchs, führte der Rat der Stadt auf Drängen der Handwerkszünfte die Reformation ein. Der altgläubige Bürgermeister und das Domkapitel verließen die Stadt, das Basler Münster als bisherige Bischofskirche wurde evangelisch. Nach und nach erwarb die Stadt auch formal alle bischöflichen Hoheitsrechte und wurde so unabhängig. 1535 fand Johannes Calvin auf seiner Flucht aus Frankreich Zuflucht in Basel und verfasste hier seine Institutio Christianae religionis (= Unterricht in der christlichen Religion), eine Schrift, die aufweisen sollte, dass der evangelische Glaube der wahren Kirche entspricht. Im Jahr darauf wurde dieses grundlegende Werk in Basel gedruckt.
Basel war als Reformationsstadt eine Drehscheibe für die Entwicklungen in Deutschland, Frankreich und der Schweiz. So passt es gut, dass im Jahr 2018 in Basel die Vollversammlung der Gemeinschaft Evangelischer Kirchen in Europa stattfinden wird – in den Örtlichkeiten des Basler Münsters und des Bischofshofs.

Durch die Papierindustrie, den Buchdruck und die Verlage wurde unsere Stadt zu Anziehungspunkt der Humanisten. 2016 werden im Historischen Museum Basel, im Kunstmuseum und im Münster Ausstellungen zu Erasmus und seinem reformatorischen Impuls stattfinden. 1529 hat sich in Basel die Reformation durchgesetzt. 1536 suchte Calvin in Basel Zuflucht und publizierte seine „Institutio“. Basel kann man also zweifellos eine Reformationsstadt nennen. Dr. Guy Morin

Regierungspräsident des Kantons Basel-Stadt, Stadt Basel

Übrigens … Hans Holbein d.J. hat den antireformatorischen Basler Bürgermeister Jakob Meyer zum Hasen, der 1529 Basel verließ, in der „Darmstädter Madonna“ verewigt. Das Gemälde ist in der Europäischen Reformationsstadt Schwäbisch Hall zu bewundern.

Links

Stadt Basel http://www.bs.ch/
Touristeninformation http://www.basel.com/de
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche Basel-Stadt http://www.erk-bs.ch/
Schweizerischer Evangelischer Kirchenbund www.kirchenbund.ch/de