Select Page

City of Reformation Braunschweig (Brunswick)

Germany

Braunschweig

The citizens’ Reformation

With a population of around 250,000, Braunschweig is the largest city between Hannover and Berlin. Nowadays, it offers an attractive shopping environment, has a lively cultural scene and lies at the focal point of one of Europe’s major heartlands of research. Braunschweig was already a flourishing cultural and economic hub in the early 16th century thanks to the Welf dynasty, its location at the juncture of key long-distance trades routes and its membership of the Hanseatic League.
Welf Duke Henry the Lion founded the city and bestowed it with monuments such as Dankwarderode Castle, St. Blasii Cathedral and the Brunswick Lion, which remains its heraldic beast to this day. He and his son, Emperor Otto IV, also promoted economic, cultural and scientific innovations in Braunschweig. In so doing, on the brink of the modern era they paved the way for the city to become an economic hub and centre of education, innovation and communications, which thus poised it to play a special role in the urban Reformation movement.
The distinctive historical feature of the Reformation in Braunschweig was the active role that its citizens played, who were quickly inspired by the Reformation in Wittenberg and endeavoured to implement this change for themselves. Their efforts prompted Johannes Bugenhagen, a close confidant of Luther and town pastor in Wittenberg, to draw up a new church order in Braunschweig, which served as the blueprint for others in Germany and Scandinavia.
The Benedictine monk Gottschalk Kruse (c. 1499-1540), who had studied in Erfurt and Wittenberg and encountered Martin Luther in person, also played a key role in the early Reformation processes in Braunschweig. His public lectures on the Gospel of Matthew were very popular with its citizens. Although the council and clergy expelled him from the city, the seed of Reformist thought had been sown, and the first baptism to be conducted in German in Braunschweig took place in St. Magni’s Church in 1527. At the insistence of the citizens, the council, which had held long hesitated out of respect to Emperor Charles V and the welfish ruler Duke Henry the Younger of Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel, turned to Martin Luther, who dispatched his companion Johannes Bugenhagen to Braunschweig to compose a new church order.
Bugenhagen unveiled his church order in Braunschweig on 5 September 1528. It not only laid down the structure of the church and forms of worship, but attended equally to the city’s school system and aid for the poor. The Braunschweig church order formed the blueprint for Bugenhagen’s subsequent Reformation activity, as it spread (among other places) to Hamburg, Lübeck and as far afield as Scandinavia.
However, this new church order did not mark the completion of the Reformation in Braunschweig, as the conflict with Duke Henry the Younger, who was one of its best-known opponents, escalated to the point that in 1531 the city was compelled to join the Schmalkaldic League, an association designed to protect Protestant towns and cities. Following several armed conflicts, in 1533 the Wolfenbüttel Peace Accord finally brought this antagonism to and end by enshrining the city’s Protestant faith.
Numerous events including exhibitions, guided tours, concerts, readings, lectures, services of worship and series of sermons are being held in Braunschweig to commemorate the 500th anniversary of the Reformation.

The history of the Reformation in Braunschweig is closely linked with the figure of Johannes Bugenhagen who, as a close confidant of Luther, was one of the major protagonists of the Reformation. Bugenhagen composed a comprehensive church order in Braunschweig within a matter of weeks and in close collaboration with its council and citizenry that completely overhauled the city’s entire church, school and welfare system. This order provided the blueprint for other northern German and Scandinavian cities. Current-day compulsory school education for all children – both boys and girls – is a concept that Bugenhagen held close to his heart. The social welfare services that we consider perfectly natural for people in need also stem from Bugenhagen’s ideas. Furthermore, Braunschweig is a classic example of urban Reformation, as the citizens took the fundamental reorganisation of their churches into their own hands.
Photo: City of Braunschweig/Nielsen

Ulrich Markurth

Mayor, Braunschweig

Links

City of Braunschweig: www.braunschweig.de/english

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Brunswick www.landeskirche-braunschweig.de/english-version

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Braunschweig

Deutschland

Braunschweig

Reformation der Bürger

Braunschweig ist mit rund 250.000 Einwohnern die größte Stadt zwischen Hannover und Berlin. Heute eine attraktive Einkaufsstadt, lebendige Kulturstadt und Zentrum einer der forschungsintensivsten Regionen Europas, stand Braunschweig durch den Einfluss der Welfen und aufgrund seiner Lage am Schnittpunkt bedeutender Fernhandelswege und als Mitglied im Hansebund schon im frühen 16. Jahrhundert in besonderer kultureller und ökonomischer Blüte.
Welfenherzog Heinrich der Löwe gründete die Stadt und hinterließ ihr Monumente wie die Burg Dankwarderode, den Dom St. Blasii und den Braunschweiger Burglöwen, der noch heute Wappentier der Stadt ist. Zudem förderte er ebenso wie sein Sohn Kaiser Otto IV. Innovationen in Wirtschaft, Kultur und Wissenschaft. Sie legten damit den Grundstein für eine Stadt, die an der Schwelle zur Neuzeit ein Zentrum von Wirtschaft, Bildung, Innovation und Kommunikation sein konnte und der damit eine besondere Rolle im Kontext der städtischen Reformationen zukommt.
Die Besonderheit der Braunschweiger Reformationsgeschichte ergibt sich aus dem Engagement der Bürgerinnen und Bürger, die die von der Wittenberger Reformation ausgegangenen Impulse früh aufnahmen und durchzusetzen versuchten. Ihre Bemühungen sorgten dafür, dass Johannes Bugenhagen, ein enger Vertrauter Luthers und Stadtpfarrer in Wittenberg, in Braunschweig eine neue Kirchenordnung erarbeitete, die als Vorbild für weitere Kirchenordnungen in Deutschland und Skandinavien diente.
Maßgeblich an den anfänglichen Reformationsprozessen in Braunschweig beteiligt war der Benediktinermönch Gottschalk Kruse (um 1499-1540), der in Erfurt und Wittenberg studiert und Martin Luther persönlich erlebt hatte. Er begann öffentliche Lektionen über das Matthäusevangelium zu halten, die in der Bürgerschaft großen Zuspruch fanden. Obwohl Rat und Klerus ihn aus der Stadt wiesen, war das reformatorische Gedankengut gesät und so fand 1527 in der Braunschweiger Magnikirche die erste Taufe in deutscher Sprache statt. Den drängenden Wünschen der Bürgerinnen und Bürgern entsprechend wandte sich der Rat, der sich aus Rücksicht auf Kaiser Karl V. und den welfischen Landesherrn Herzog Heinrich den Jüngeren von Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel lange zurückgehalten hatte, an Martin Luther, der seinen Weggefährten Johannes Bugenhagen nach Braunschweig schickte, um eine neue Kirchenordnung zu erarbeiten.
Bugenhagen legte die von ihm verfasste Kirchenordnung am 5. September 1528 in Braunschweig vor. Sie regelte nicht nur Fragen der Kirchenorganisation und des Gottesdienstes, sondern betraf in gleicher Weise das Schul- und Fürsorgewesen der Stadt. Für Bugenhagens weiteres reformatorisches Wirken nahm die Braunschweiger Kirchenordnung eine Vorbildfunktion ein, so gelangte sie unter anderem über Hamburg und Lübeck bis nach Skandinavien.
In Braunschweig war die Reformation mit der Kirchenordnung aber noch nicht endgültig durchgesetzt, da der Konflikt mit Herzog Heinrich dem Jüngeren, einem der bekanntesten Gegner der Reformation, eskalierte, sodass die Stadt Braunschweig 1531 dem Schmalkaldischen Bund, einem Bündnis zum Schutz evangelischer Städte und Territorien, beitrat. Nach mehreren kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen brachte erst der Friedenschluss von Wolfenbüttel 1533, in dem die Gültigkeit des evangelischen Bekenntnisses in der Stadt festgeschrieben war, Einigung.
Zum 500-jährigen Jubiläum finden in Braunschweig zahlreiche Veranstaltungen wie Ausstellungen, Führungen, Konzerte, Lesungen, Vorträge, Gottesdienste und Predigtreihen statt.

Die Braunschweiger Reformationsgeschichte ist eng mit Johannes Bugenhagen verknüpft, der als enger Vertrauter Luthers zu den wichtigsten Protagonisten der Reformation gehörte. In Braunschweig erarbeitete Bugenhagen innerhalb weniger Wochen in engem Einvernehmen mit Rat und Bürgerschaft eine umfassende Kirchenordnung, die das gesamte städtische Kirchen-, Schul- und Fürsorgewesen von Grund auf neu gestaltete. Diese Ordnung wirkte vorbildhaft in anderen norddeutschen und skandinavischen Städten. Kinder unterliegen heute der Schulpflicht, Jungen wie Mädchen – hierauf legte Bugenhagen großen Wert. Es ist für uns selbstverständlich, dass es für Menschen in Not eine Sozialhilfe gibt – all dies hat Bugenhagen mit seinen Ideen vorgedacht. Darüber hinaus ist Braunschweig ein klassisches Beispiel für eine Stadtreformation: Die Bürger nahmen die Neuorganisation ihres Kirchenwesens selbst in die Hand.
Foto: Stadt Braunschweig/Nielsen

Ulrich Markurth

Oberbürgermeister, Braunschweig

Links

Stadt Braunschweig: www.braunschweig.de
Reformationsveranstaltungen: www.braunschweig.de/reformationsveranstaltungen
Evangelisch-Lutherische Landeskirche in Braunschweig: www.landeskirche-braunschweig.de