Select Page

Reformationsstadt Bremen

Deutschland

Bremen

Close the cathedral, the Reformation is coming!

The northern German city of Bremen lies on the banks of the River Weser, some 60 kilometres upstream from its mouth at the North Sea port of Bremerhaven. Together, these two cities make up the small German federal state known as the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen.
The Free Imperial City of Bremen enjoyed an economic boom during the Middle Ages thanks to its membership of the Hanseatic League. As a result, the citizens managed to liberate themselves to a certain extent from the Bremen Diocese. This blossoming self-confidence is reflected in the Roland statue (1404) and City Hall (1409) on the market square, which are both UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
A Reformation movement was established very early on in Bremen. The Augustine monk Heinrich von Zütphen from the Netherlands, who played a key role in spreading the movement, delivered the first Protestant sermon there in November 1522, in the St. Ansgarii Church.
The Catholic Archbishop Christoph von Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel, a determined opponent of the Reformation, demanded the immediate banishment of the monk. However, the City Council sided with von Zütphen and instead expelled the Dominican Friar from the city’s Saint Catherine’s monastery, who campaigned against Lutheran preaching. This political intervention in church politics cleared the way for the implementation the Reformation.
With the support of the City Council, Bremen’s churches appointed more Protestant preachers during 1524 and 1525, and the city’s parish churches were forbidden from celebrating traditional Latin mass from 1525 on. The ban was extended to include rural parish churches in 1527 and then even Bremen’s monasteries in 1528. As a result, the Dominican monastery became a Latin School, and a little later the Franciscan monastery was turned into a hospital with the agreement of the monks. The diaconal institutions founded at that time to care for the poor and needy still exist to this day.
The period from 1530 to 1532 was marked by social and religious conflict. In 1532, the cathedral chapter closed St. Peter’s Cathedral for 15 years following the imposition of Lutheran worship achieved by the “Revolt of the 104 men” in the face of the Catholic Archbishop’s resistance.
In 1534, the City Council introduced a church order authorised by Luther for Bremen. In 1547, the first Protestant preacher, Albert Rizäus Hardenberg, was installed in the cathedral at the Council’s insistence. However, he ended up being banned from the city when his Reformed leanings emerged. This rattled the Lutherans’ collective identity and provoked escalating conflicts between adherents of the Lutheran and Reformed confessions.
Many influential merchants gradually swayed towards the Reformed camp, and in 1561 control of the city fell into Reformed hands as inter-Protestant conflicts raged.
However, the aristocratic canons of the cathedral remained resolute Lutherans and the resulting conflict between the City Council and the cathedral chapter once again closed the cathedral for worship – this time at the Council’s behest and for 77 years.
The arrival of the Hessian preacher Christoph Pezelius heralded the start of the “second Reformation” in Bremen, spurred on by City Mayor Daniel von Büren. In 1582, he ensured the demolition or removal of all statues from Bremen’s churches and established a moderate Reformed doctrine that was meant to uphold a conciliatory stance towards the Lutherans. The City Council, which had assumed authority over church matters in 1580, introduced the Heidelberg Catechism in Bremen around 1600. As an island of Reformed confession surrounded by Lutheran Lower Saxony, Bremen instated a resolutely Reformed gymnasium academicum in 1610.
Bremen was also invited to the Synod of Dordrecht, where the Reformed Protestants determined the proper interpretation of the Calvinist teaching of predestination in 1618/19. As the Council bound the city’s three delegates to the Augsburg Confession, Bremen represented a unique case on the European church landscape of a Reformed German city.
It was only the invasion by Lutheran troops from Denmark in 1638 that forced the Reformed city to allow its large Lutheran community to conduct Protestant worship again in the cathedral. This led to the parallel existence of both Protestant confessions in Bremen.
Bremen’s Protestant Church has preserved many features from the Reformation era. The church order laid down in 1534 placed special emphasis on congregations’ autonomy, and all Protestant citizens of Bremen have been free to choose which congregation they wish to belong to ever since Mayor Johann Smidt introduced the principle of personal parish in 1860.

On 31st October 2017, we will also be celebrating the 500th anniversary of the Reformation here in Bremen. Our citizens and Senate have decided to declare this day an official holiday. After all, the Reformation was and still is important for everyone. And it reaches way beyond matters of faith. The Reformation stands for respect, regard and recognition. It stands for human rights and human dignity, for democracy and for responsibility. Dr. Carsten Sieling

Mayor, Bremen

Links

City of Bremen www.bremen.de/home
Bremen Protestant Church (in German only) www.kirche-bremen.de
St. Peter’s Cathedral (in German only) www.stpetridom.de
Bremen Tourist Office www.bremen-tourismus.de

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Bremen

Deutschland

Bremen

Schließt den Dom, es kommt die Reformation!

Die Stadt Bremen liegt in Norddeutschland an der Weser, ungefähr 60 Kilometer bevor der Fluss bei Bremerhaven in die Nordsee mündet. Beide Städte bilden zusammen das kleine Bundesland Freie Hansestadt Bremen.
Die freie Reichsstadt Bremen erfuhr im Mittelalter als Bündnispartner in der Hanse einen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. Im Zuge dessen gelang es der Bürgerschaft, sich teilweise von der Herrschaft des Bistums Bremen zu befreien. Zeichen solchen Selbstbewusstseins sind die Rolandstatue (1404) und das Rathaus (1409) auf dem Marktplatz, die beide zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe zählen.
In Bremen kam es sehr früh zu einer reformatorischen Bewegung. Eine führende Rolle zur Ausbreitung der Bewegung nahm der niederländische Augustinermönch Heinrich von Zütphen ein. Er hielt im November 1522 in der St.-Ansgarii-Kirche die erste evangelische Predigt.
Der katholische Erzbischof Christoph von Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel, war entschiedener Gegner der Reformation und forderte die sofortige Auslieferung des Mönches. Der Rat der Stadt stellte sich allerdings hinter von Zütphen und wies die gegen die lutherische Predigt agitierenden Dominikaner des Katharinenklosters aus der Stadt aus. Durch diese kirchenpolitische Maßnahme war der Weg zur Durchsetzung der Reformation gebahnt.
In den Jahren 1524 und 1525 beriefen die Bremer Stadtkirchen mit Unterstützung des Rates weitere evangelische Prediger. Die Feier der traditionellen lateinischen Messe wurde den Pfarrkirchen in der Stadt 1525 verboten. Dieses Verbot wurde 1527 auch für die Pfarrkirchen im Landgebiet in Geltung gesetzt und 1528 schließlich auch für die Bremer Klöster. In der Folge wurde das Dominikanerkloster zur Lateinschule und das Franziskanerkloster wenig später mit Einverständnis der Mönche zum Hospital. Zur Fürsorge für Arme und Notleidende wurden die heute noch bestehenden diakonischen Einrichtungen gegründet.
Die Jahre 1530 bis 1532 waren von sozialen und religiösen Konflikten gekennzeichnet. 1532 wurde der St. Petri-Dom vom Domkapitel für 15 Jahre geschlossen, nachdem gegen Widerstand des katholischen Erzbischofs in einem „Aufstand der 104 Männer“ die Einführung des lutherischen Gottesdienstes erzwungen worden war.
1534 führte der Rat eine von Luther genehmigte Kirchenordnung für Bremen ein. 1547 wurde auf Drängen des Rates der erste evangelische Prediger, Albert Rizäus Hardenberg, an den Dom berufen. Dieser tendierte jedoch zur reformierten Konfession und wurde der Stadt verwiesen. Das verschärfte den Identitätsdruck auf das Luthertum und führte zur ständigen Zunahme der lutherisch-reformierten Auseinandersetzungen.
Nach und nach wandten sich viele einflussreiche Kaufleute dem reformierten Glauben zu, und 1561 ging die Kontrolle über die Stadt, begleitet von innerprotestantischen Konflikten, in die Hände der Reformierten über.
Aber die aristokratischen Stiftsherren des Doms blieben treue Lutheraner und der daraus resultierende Konflikt zwischen Stadtrat und Domkapitel endete mit der erneuten Schließung des Doms für die Gläubigen, die – diesmal vom Rat der Stadt verfügt – 77 Jahre andauern sollte.
Mit der Ankunft des hessischen Predigers Christoph Pezelius begann in Bremen mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung des Bürgermeisters Daniel von Büren die sogenannte „zweite Reformation“. Er setzte 1582 die Demolierung oder Entfernung aller Bildwerke aus den stadtbremischen Kirchen durch und etablierte eine moderat reformierte Lehre, die sich immer als vermittelnd hin zu den Lutheranern verstand. Der Bremer Rat, der 1580 das Kirchenregiment übernommen hatte, führte um 1600 den Heidelberger Katechismus ein. Mit dem 1610 gegründeten Gymnasium illustre bekommt Bremen, als reformierte und vom lutherischen Niedersachsen umgebene Stadt, eine streng reformierte Hochschule.
Bremen wurde auch zur Dordrechter Synode eingeladen, auf der 1618/19 die Reformierten die rechtmäßige Interpretation der calvinistischen Prädestinationslehre festlegten. Die drei Bremer Deputierten aber wurden vom Rat auf das Augsburger Bekenntnis verpflichtet. So wurde Bremen eine Besonderheit im europäischen Kirchenwesen, eine deutsch-reformierte Stadt.
Erst der Einmarsch dänischer lutherischer Truppen im Jahr 1638 zwang den reformierten Stadtrat dazu, der großen Zahl von Lutheranern in der Stadt wieder evangelische Gottesdienste im Dom zu genehmigen. So bestanden beide evangelischen Konfessionen in Bremen nebeneinander.
Vieles hat die Bremische Evangelische Kirche seit der Reformationszeit bewahrt. Schon die Kirchenordnung von 1534 legte einen besonderen Akzent auf die Gemeindeautonomie und seitdem 1860 der Bürgermeister Johann Smidt das sogenannte Personalgemeindeprinzip einführte, steht es allen evangelischen Bürgern Bremens frei, welcher Kirchengemeinde sie angehören wollen.

Am 31. Oktober 2017 feiern wir auch in Bremen 500 Jahre Reformation. Die Bremische Bürgerschaft und der Senat haben beschlossen, dass dieser Tag ein gesetzlicher Feiertag sein soll. Denn die Reformation war und ist für alle Menschen von Bedeutung. Und sie geht weit über die Frage des Glaubens hinaus. Die Reformation steht für Respekt, Achtung und Anerkennung. Sie steht für Menschenrechte und Menschenwürde, für Demokratie und Verantwortung. Dr. Carsten Sieling

Bürgermeister, Präsident des Senats der Freien Hansestadt Bremen