Select Page

Reformation City Celle

Germany

Celle

Princes stride into a new era

The town of Celle lies to the south of Hannover, the capital city of the federal state of Lower Saxony, in northern Germany. To the north stretches the Lüneburg Heath, a vast area of heathland and forest that in former times made up most of the Principality of Lüneburg. From 1433 on, the Princes of Lüneburg formally resided in Celle Castle, which was when the town started to flourish economically. A cluster of half-timbered buildings from the late Middle Ages forms its historical heart.
Celle was the first town after Wittenberg to take Reformation fully on board as early as 1524. The initiative behind this stemmed from Ernest I, the Duke of Brunswick and Lüneburg (1497–1546), who later also earned the suffix “Confessor”.
The two brothers Duke Otto (the first-born) and Duke Ernest were entrusted to their uncle Frederick the Wise for their education. He sent them to the University of Wittenberg, which he himself had founded, from 1511 to 1516 and appointed Georg Spalatin, an instrumental early protagonist of the Reformation, to oversee their studies. There, they attended Luther’s lectures, in which they became first-hand witnesses of the birth of Reformation thought.
By the time the Princes returned to the residence of Celle following their educational travels, Wolf Cyclop had settled there in 1517 as court physician to the reigning Duke Henry. Cyclop, who was an avid supporter of Luther, had formerly been a professor of mathematics in Wittenberg, then a pharmacist. Thus he did not hesitate to take on the Franciscan monks who performed mass at the town’s St. Mary’s Church and resisted any kind of renewal. Otto and Ernest had already announced their allegiance to the Reformation movement on 28 July 1521, some days before their father formally appointed them co-governors in state parliament. One year later, Duke Henry abdicated and fled into exile in France upon his Imperial banishment. With this, Lüneburg became one of the five pro-Reformation Imperial Principalities.
In 1527, Ernest secured the agreement of the Diet to reform the monasteries, which sanctioned the introduction of the Reformation throughout the Principality and the reorganisation of the financial system. In 1530, he summoned Urbanus Rhegius to Celle, who first implemented the Reformation in the town of Lüneburg before turning his hand to reforming the monasteries. His appointment marked the successful introduction of the Reformation in Celle, just as the seminal Protestant document known as the Augsburg Confession was being unveiled, which Dukes Ernest and Otto also duly signed.

The Reformation that emanated from Germany 500 years ago was and remains a world-ranking occurrence. Celle’s very early direct involvement in this movement is not well-known. The Princes’ Reformation, which was set into motion by Ernest the Wise in Celle and his brothers Otto in Harburg and Francis in Gifhorn, not only deeply influenced northern Germany, but also spread into Scandinavia and the Baltics.
Celle is hosting numerous events throughout the anniversary year of 2017 to raise awareness of this. One of the major highlights is likely to be an exhibition of four presentations spread across three sites. The local Bomann Museum and Celle’s church community will be presenting past and current-day slants on the theme.
I cordially invite you to visit Celle during the 2017 celebrations to mark the anniversary of the Reformation.

Dirk-Ulrich Mende

Mayor, Celle

Links

Town of Celle (in German only): www.celle.de
Tourist Office: www.celle-travel
Celle’s Evangelical-Lutheran Church Community (in Germany only): www.kirche-celle.de
Evangelical-Lutheran Church of Hannover (in German only): www.landeskirche-hannovers.de

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Celle

Deutschland

Celle

Schritte der Prinzen in eine neue Zeit

Die Stadt Celle liegt in Norddeutschland, südlich von Hannover, der Hauptstadt des Bundeslandes Niedersachsen. Nach Norden erstreckt sich die Lüneburger Heide, eine weiträumige Heide- und Waldlandschaft, die den Hauptteil des früheren Fürstentums Lüneburg umfasst. Ab 1433 machten die Fürsten von Lüneburg das Celler Schloss zu ihrer Residenz. Zur gleichen Zeit erlebte die Stadt einen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. Das spätmittelalterliche Stadtzentrum des Ortes besteht aus einem Ensemble sehenswerter Fachwerkhäuser.
Celle war die erste Stadt außerhalb Wittenbergs, die sich vollständig der Reformation anschloss und dies bereits 1524. Die Initiative dazu ging von Ernst I., Herzog zu Braunschweig und Lüneburg (1497–1546) aus, der später auch „der Bekenner“ genannt wurde.
Die beiden herzoglichen Brüder Otto (der Erstgeborene) und Ernst wurden zu ihrer Erziehung ihrem Onkel Friedrich dem Weisen anvertraut. Dieser schickte sie 1511 bis 1516 auf die von ihm begründete Universität Wittenberg und bestellte als Aufseher ihrer Studien Georg Spalatin, eine Schlüsselfigur der Frühreformation. Hier hörten sie Luther in seinen Vorlesungen. So wurden sie zu authentischen Zeugen der aufkeimenden Reformationsgedanken, die Luther in seinen Vorlesungen entfaltete.
Als die Prinzen nach ihren anschließenden Bildungsreisen in die Residenzstadt Celle heimkehrten, hatte sich dort 1517 Wolf Cyclop als Leibarzt des regierenden Herzogs Heinrich niedergelassen. Zuvor Professor der Mathematik in Wittenberg, dann Apotheker, war er glühender Anhänger Luthers. Das veranlasste ihn, alsbald gegen die Franziskanermönche vorzugehen, die den Messdienst an der Stadtkirche St. Marien versahen und sich jeglichen Neuerungen widersetzten. Otto und Ernst bekundeten bereits am 28. Juli 1521, wenige Tage bevor ihr Vater sie förmlich als Mitregenten an der Landesregierung beteiligte, dass Sie sich der reformatorischen Bewegung angeschlossen hatten. Ein Jahr später dankte Herzog Heinrich wegen der über ihn verhängten Reichsacht ab und ging ins französische Exil. Damit gehörte das Fürstentum Lüneburg fortan zu den fünf reformatorischen Reichsfürstentümern.
1527 erwirkte Ernst die Zustimmung des Landtages zur Klosterreform, was die Einführung der Reformation landesweit und zudem eine Neuordnung des Finanzwesens beinhaltete. 1530 berief er Urbanus Rhegius nach Celle, der zunächst die Reformation in der Stadt Lüneburg durchsetzte und sich dann der Klosterreform widmete. Mit seiner Berufung war die Einführung der Reformation in Celle erfolgreich durchgeführt, zur selben Zeit, als auf Reichsebene die Confessio Augustana, die maßgebliche evangelische Bekenntnisschrift, präsentiert wurde, zu deren Unterzeichnung sich auch die Herzöge Ernst und Otto anschlossen.

Die von Deutschland vor 500 Jahren ausgehende Reformation war und ist eine Entwicklung von welthistorischer Bedeutung. Dass die Stadt Celle an dieser Entwicklung schon sehr früh direkt beteiligt war, ist nur wenig bekannt. Die von dem Reformationsfürsten Ernst dem Bekenner in Celle und seinen Brüdern Otto in Harburg und Franz in Gifhorn ausgehende Fürstenreformation war nicht nur bedeutsam für Norddeutschland, sondern strahlte aus bis nach Skandinavien und ins Baltikum.
Um das Wissen hierüber zu verbreiten, wird es in der Stadt Celle im Jubiläumsjahr 2017 eine Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen geben. Herausragend dürfte dabei ein Ausstellungsprojekt sein, das vier Präsentationen an drei Ort zeigen wird. Das örtliche Bomann-Museum und der Kirchenkreis Celle werden vergangene und gegenwärtige Aspekte des Themas präsentieren.
Ich lade Sie herzlich ein, im Jahre 2017 die Reformationsstadt Celle zu besuchen.

Dr. Jörg Nigge

Oberbürgermeister, Celle

Links

Stadt Celle: www.celle.de
Tourismus: www.celle-tourismus.de
Evangelisch-Lutherischer Kirchenkreis Celle: www.kirche-celle.de
Evangelisch-Lutherische Landeskirche Hannovers: www.landeskirche-hannovers.de