Select Page

City of the Reformation – Coburg

Germany

Coburg

The city of Coburg lies to the south of the Thuringian Forest in Bavarian Upper Franconia.

Coburg began to make its mark in the history of the Reformation in 1530. The Protestant confession was subject to negotiation at the Imperial Diet in Augsburg. The Elector of Saxony, Johann the Steadfast, also travelled there with a sizeable entourage including Reformers Philipp Melanchthon, Justus Jonas, Georg Spalatin and Johann Agricola. The only man unable to accompany him to the Imperial City of Augsburg was Martin Luther, who was subject to the ban Emperor Karl V had served on him and thus confined to the Electorate of Saxony. Coburg lay at the southern border of that Electorate. While the Diet was in session, Luther took haven at the Veste Coburg and maintained unbroken contact with the Protestant imperial estates in Augsburg by means of written correspondence.

Indeed, Luther was extremely active while based in Coburg. He continued his work translating the Bible and reflected upon this activity in his Open Letter on Translating, which is held in high regard to this day as an essay on the theory of translation. He also translated Aesop’s Fables into German and composed more than 120 letters for dispatch by messenger. It was during this time that he explained the new faith to the citizens of Coburg and the electoral Saxon imperial delegation in the chapel of the Veste and the Moriz Church.

Luther drew tourists to Coburg even in the 16th century. To this day, the two rooms that he occupied there remain on public display. Other key references to his life and works include the Luther Chapel, Moriz Church and paintings by Lucas Cranach the Elder. Artefacts from centuries past that commemorate the Reformation are exhibited at the Veste Coburg, and a collection of around 50,000 prints made from the time of the Reformation until the Thirty Years War is held in the Regional Library there.

Martin Luther spent about six months at the Veste Coburg, where he wrote seminal works for the Reformation. We are well aware of the inheritance Martin Luther bestowed upon our city, which is why we are already working so hard on our preparations for the 500th anniversary of his theses in 2017.

Norbert Tessmer

City Mayor, Coburg

Links

City of Coburg: http://www.coburg.de

Luther in Coburg: http://www.coburg.de/Subportale/martin-luther.aspx

Tourist information: http://www.coburg-tourist.de

Lutheran Dean’s Office in Coburg: http://www.coburg-evangelisch.de

Lutheran Church in Bavaria: http://www.bayern-evangelisch.de

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Coburg

Deutschland

Coburg

Die Stadt Coburg liegt südlich des Thüringer Waldes im bayerischen Oberfranken.

Im Jahre 1530 rückte Coburg in den Fokus der Reformationsgeschichte. In Augsburg wurde auf dem Reichstag über das Bekenntnis der Evangelischen verhandelt. Auch der sächsische Kurfürst Johann der Beständige zog mit großem Gefolge, darunter auch die Reformatoren Philipp Melanchthon, Justus Jonas, Georg Spalatin und Johann Agricola nach Augsburg. Nur Martin Luther konnte er in die Reichsstadt Augsburg nicht mitnehmen. Da Kaiser Karl V. über Luther die Reichsacht verhängt hatte, durfte Luther Kursachsen nicht verlassen. Coburg lag an der südlichen Grenze des Kurfürstentums Sachsen. Während des Reichstags blieb Luther sechs Monate auf der sicheren Veste Coburg und hielt ständigen Briefkontakt mit den evangelischen Reichsständen in Augsburg.

Überhaupt war Luther in Coburg sehr rege. Er arbeitete weiter an seiner Bibelübersetzung und reflektierte diese Arbeit im „Sendbrief vom Dolmetschen“, der bis heute ein wichtiges Werk der Übersetzungstheorie ist. Er übersetzte auch Fabeln des Äsop ins Deutsche und verfasste über 120 Briefe, die er durch Boten zustellen ließ. In der Kapelle der Veste und in der Morizkirche legte Luther in dieser Zeit den Coburgern und der kursächsischen Reichstagsgesandtschaft den neuen Glauben aus.

Schon im 16. Jahrhundert begann ein Luthertourismus in Coburg. Bis heute werden die beiden Räume, in denen Luther wohnte als „Lutherzimmer“ ausgestellt. Auch die Lutherkapelle, die Morizkirche und Gemälde von Lucas Cranach dem Älteren erinnern an das Leben und Schaffen des Reformators. Auf der Veste Coburg werden auch Zeugnisse des Reformationsgedenkens aus früheren Jahrhunderten präsentiert und in der Landesbibliothek werden rund 50.000 Drucke aus der Reformationszeit und der Zeit bis zum Dreißigjährigen Krieg aufbewahrt.

Martin Luther hat rund sechs Monate auf der Veste Coburg verbracht und während seines Aufenthalts für die Reformation bedeutsame Schriften verfasst. Des Erbes, das Martin Luther unserer Stadt damit hinterlassen hat, sind wir uns bewusst und so arbeiten wir aktuell besonders intensiv an den Vorbereitungen für das Jahr 2017, in dem sich der Thesenanschlag zu 500. Mal jährt. Norbert Tessmer

Oberbürgermeister, Stadt Coburg

Links

Stadt Coburg: http://www.coburg.de

Luther in Coburg: http://www.coburg.de/Subportale/martin-luther.aspx

Touristeninformation: http://www.coburg-tourist.de

Evangelisch-Lutherisches Dekanat Coburg: http://www.coburg-evangelisch.de

Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Bayern: http://www.bayern-evangelisch.de