Select Page

City of the Reformation Crailsheim

Germany

Crailsheim

The district town of Crailsheim in Baden-Württemberg straddles the River Jagst at the edge of the Swabian-Franconian Forest.

Crailsheim is one of the cities in southern Germany where the Reformation very quickly gained a foothold. Adam Weiss (approx. 1490-1534) had started preaching Protestantism here as early as 1522. A son of the town, he held the post of Professor of Theology in Mainz before his appointment as pastor of St John’s Church in Crailsheim at the end of 1521. It was Weiss’ contact with humanist circles that gradually acquainted him with Reformist thought, which he then adopted in his vocational work. He preached Protestantism and started offering the dual sacrament (bread and wine) in 1526, the year in which he also wed. He succeeded in introducing the new faith to Crailsheim despite quite considerable resistance and was also heavily involved in the Reformation movement in the surrounding margravate Brandenburg-Ansbach. The Reformation was reflected in new ecclesiastical orders without much ado. The valuable collection of books that he amassed had already led to his house being called the “Liberei” (library) long before the town inherited it as such.

The special role Crailsheim played during the Reformation era is reflected to this day in a stained-glass window set in Wittenberg’s Castle Church that depicts the town’s coat of arms. The town authority has joined forces with the Protestant and Catholic church communities to create the “Crailsheim Reformation Pathway” around the town centre, which traces the course of the Reformation and illuminates its historical and current significance. The twelve markers along the path were created by sculptor Rudolf Kurz to each portray a local facet of fundamental universal themes.

The call of the Reformation to rely on faith alone, on the Bible alone, on grace alone and on Christ alone also calls for individual responsibility. It requires people to handle considerable free rein. The “Crailsheim Reformation Pathway” demonstrates the formative effect the Reformation continues to exude in many spheres to this day.

Rudolf Michl

City Mayor, Crailsheim

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Crailsheim

Deutschland

Crailsheim

Die baden-württembergische Kreisstadt Crailsheim liegt an den Ausläufern des Schwäbisch-Fränkischen Waldes auf beiden Seiten der Jagst.

Crailsheim zählt zu den Städten in Süddeutschland, in denen die Reformation sehr früh Fuß fasste. Bereits 1522 predigte hier Adam Weiß (ca. 1490-1534) in evangelischem Sinne. Geboren in Crailsheim war er Professor für Theologie in Mainz, bevor er Ende 1521 auf die Pfarrstelle an der Crailsheimer Johanneskirche berufen wurde. Über seine Kontakte zu humanistischen Kreisen hatte sich Weiß allmählich reformatorischen Glaubensinhalten angenähert und setzte diese in seiner Pfarrtätigkeit um. Er predigte evangelisch, reichte seit 1526 das Abendmahl in beiderlei Gestalt (Brot und Wein) und heiratete im selben Jahr. Es gelang ihm, die neue Glaubenslehre gegen nicht geringe Widerstände in Crailsheim einzuführen, und auch an der Reformation in der Markgrafschaft Brandenburg-Ansbach, der die Stadt damals angehörte, war er maßgeblich beteiligt. Die reformatorische Bewegung wurde ohne größeren Aufruhr in neue Kirchenordnungen überführt. Seiner wertvollen Bibliothek, die er der Stadt hinterlassen hat, ist es geschuldet, dass schon früher sein Haus „Liberei“ (Bücherei) genannt wurde.

Ein Zeugnis der besonderen Rolle Crailsheims in der Reformationszeit ist ein Glasfenster in der Wittenberger Schlosskirche, das das Wappen der Stadt Crailsheim zeigt. Mit dem „Crailsheimer Reformationsweg“ haben die Stadt Crailsheim sowie die evangelischen und katholischen Kirchengemeinden einen Rundweg durch die Innenstadt geschaffen, der die Geschichte der Reformation in ihrer historischen und aktuellen Bedeutung beleuchtet. Die zwölf Stationen sind von dem Bildhauer Rudolf Kurz gestaltet und knüpfen jeweils einen lokalen Bezug zu universalen Themenschwerpunkten.

Die Forderung der Reformation, sich allein auf den Glauben, allein auf die Bibel, allein auf die Gnade und allein auf Christus zu verlassen, ist auch ein Anspruch an die Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen. Sie verlangt mit einem großen Maß an Freiheit umgehen zu können. Der „Crailsheimer Reformationsweg“ zeigt, wie das Ereignis der Reformation so bis heute in vielen Bereichen prägend wirkt.

Rudolf Michl

Oberbürgermeister, Stadt Crailsheim