Select Page

Reformationsstadt Eisleben

Deutschland

Eisleben

“That is where I am from”

The Luther town of Eisleben lies to the west of the university city of Halle in the Mansfeld region of Saxony-Anhalt in Germany. The town is most famous for being Martin Luther’s place of birth and death. Its memorials to Luther, which include the house where he was born and the museum at the house where he died, were awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 1996.

During the late Middle Ages, copper ore mining generated wealth for both the town and the Mansfeld counts. That Luther was born and died in the same town was rather a coincidence. His mother, Margarete Lindemann, was heavily pregnant at the end of 1483 when she arrived with her husband, Hans Luder, in Eisleben. Luder was looking for a new line of work in mining there, which after all boasted 4,000 inhabitants at the time. However, as things turned out, they would only stay for a while in Eisleben before making their permanent home in Mansfeld.

Martin Luther was born some time after 11 p.m. on the evening of 10 November 1483 at house number 15 of what is now known as Luther Street. He was supposedly the second-born child of Hans and Margarete. He was baptised Martin on Saint Martin’s Day, 11 November, in the nearby Church of St Peter and Paul, and would later adopt the surname of Luther to reflect the Greek word for freedom – eleutheria – at the age of 34, at the start of the dispute over indulgences. About six months after his birth and baptism, in the summer of 1484, the family moved to Mansfeld, where his father started work as a smelter and later went on to become a mining entrepreneur.

Luther later repeatedly returned to the town of his birth for various reasons. In 1516, during his time as an Augustine provincial vicar (1515–1518), he consecrated the newly built St Anne’s Monastery and Church. Under the influence of Luther, the church, which today is one of the most beautiful Renaissance churches in central Germany, became the first church to host Protestant preaching in the county of Mansfeld during the Reformation. Count Albrecht VII of Mansfeld, a friend of Luther’s, introduced the Reformation in Eisleben from 1525. Pastor Martin Rinckart (1586–1649), the author of the famous hymn “Now thank we all our God”, was also later active at St Anne’s.

In January 1546, Luther undertook two final missions to Eisleben. He had been asked to mediate in an inheritance battle that had lasted for years amongst the Mansfeld counts. He accompanied his friend and Reformation companion Justus Jonas as a legal advisor. Despite already being weakened by illness, Luther still managed to bring the protracted negotiations to a successful conclusion. On 16 February, Jonas and he also signed the foundation certificate for the first grammar school there, now called the “Martin Luther Gymnasium”.

A few days before his death, Luther is purported to have said: “I was born and baptised here in Eisleben; and God might see that I also die here!”. Martin Luther died on 18 February as the result of a heart attack. The following day, Justus Jonas delivered a funeral sermon in St Andrew’s Church, where Luther had preached for the last time. He also accompanied the coffin to Wittenberg, where Luther was laid to rest under the pulpit of the town’s Castle Church.

The Luther town Eisleben has been very active in its work with the congregations of St Andrew’s, St Nicolas’ and St Peter’s Church and St Anne’s for years. We are in contact not just with the Protestant Church but also with the Catholic Church and our convent in Helfta. We can rightly say that ecumenism has been thriving in Luther’s home town for a good 25 years.

Jutta Fischer

Oberbürgermeisterin, Lutherstadt Eisleben

Links

Luther town of Eisleben (with interactive translation): www.eisleben.eu
St Andrew’s, St Nicolas’ and St Peter’s Church congregation (in German only): www.kirche-in-eisleben.de
St Anne’s Church congregation (in German only): www.kirche-eisleben-stannen.de
Church Community in Eisleben Sömmerda (in German only): www.kirchenkreis-eisleben-soemmerda.de
Evangelical Church in Central Germany: www.ekmd.de/service/english/

Seite auswählen

Lutherstadt Eisleben

Deutschland

Lutherstadt Eisleben

„Von daher bin ich“

Die Lutherstadt Eisleben liegt im Mansfelder Land westlich von der Universitätsstadt Halle und gehört zum Bundesland Sachsen-Anhalt. Die Stadt ist vor allem bekannt als Geburts- und Sterbeort Martin Luthers. Die Luthergedenkstätten, zu denen das Geburtshaus zusammen mit dem Museum „Luthers Sterbehaus“ gehören, sind 1996 als UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe anerkannt worden.

Im Spätmittelalter bildete der Abbau von Kupfererz die Grundlage für den Reichtum sowohl der Stadt als auch der Mansfelder Grafen. Dass sich Luthers Geburt und Sterben in ein und derselben Stadt ereigneten, war eher ein Zufall. Martin Luthers Mutter Margarete Lindemann war Ende 1483 hochschwanger, als sie in Begleitung ihres Ehemanns Hans Luder nach Eisleben kam. Ihr Mann suchte damals in der Stadt mit den immerhin 4000 Einwohnern einen neuen beruflichen Anfang im Bergbau. Dabei erwies sich dann Eisleben aber nur als Zwischenstation; der dauerhafte Wohnort sollte Mansfeld werden.

Am Abend des 10. November 1483, nach 23 Uhr, wurde Martin geboren, im Haus der heutigen Lutherstraße 15. Es war mutmaßlich das zweite Kind von Hans und Margarete. Martin, am 11.  November in der nahegelegenen St. Petri-Pauli-Kirche auf den Namen des Tagesheiligen getauft, sollte sich später mit 34 Jahren vom Beginn des Ablassstreites an in Aufnahme des griechischen Wortes für Freiheit (Eleutheria) Luther nennen. Ein halbes nach Geburt und Taufe, im Sommer 1484, zog die Familie nach Mansfeld, wo Hans Luder zunächst eine Stelle als Hüttenmeister antrat und später zum Montanunternehmer aufstieg.

In seine Geburtsstadt kam Luther später immer wieder aus verschiedenen Anlässen. In der Zeit seines Ordensamtes als Provinzvikar der Augustiner (1515-1518) weihte er 1516 das neu errichtete St. Annenkloster und die St. Annenkirche ein. Die Kirche, die heute zu den schönsten Renaissancekirchen Mittedeutschlands zählt, wurde unter Luthers Einfluss in der Reformation zu ersten evangelischen Predigerkirche in der Grafschaft Mansfeld. Die Reformation führte der Mansfelder Graf Albrecht VII., ein Freund Luthers, 1525 in Eisleben ein. An St. Annen wirkte später auch Pfarrer Martin Rinckart (1586-1649), der den Text zum berühmten Choral „Nun danket alle Gott“ dichtete.

Im Januar 1546 reiste Luther zuletzt in zwei Missionen nach Eisleben. Er war gebeten worden, in einem sich über Jahre hinziehenden Erbstreit unter den Mansfelder Grafen als Schlichter zu fungieren. Als Rechtsberater begleitete ihn der Freund und Weggefährte der Reformation Justus Jonas. Bereits durch Krankheit geschwächt, führte Luther dennoch die langwierigen Verhandlungen erfolgreich zu Ende. Außerdem unterzeichnete er noch am 16. Februar zusammen mit Justus Jonas die Stiftungsurkunde für die erste Lateinschule, das heutige Martin-Luther-Gymnasium.

Wenige Tage vor seinem Tod soll Luther gesagt haben: „Ich bin allhier zu Eisleben geboren und getauft; wie, wenn’s Gott schicket, dass ich auch hier stürbe!“ Am 18. Februar erlag Martin Luther den Folgen eines Herzinfarkts. Justus Jonas hielt am Tag darauf eine Leichenpredigt in der St. Andreaskirche, wo Luther zuletzt gepredigt hatte. Er begleitete auch die Überführung des Sarges nach Wittenberg, wo er unter der Kanzel der Schlosskirche beigesetzt wurde.

Die Lutherstadt Eisleben arbeitet seit Jahren sehr aktiv mit der Kirchengemeinde St. Andreas-Nicolai-Petri und der St. Annengemeinde zusammen. Wir pflegen aber nicht nur den Kontakt zu der evangelischen Kirche, sondern auch zu der katholischen Kirche und zu unserem Kloster in Helfta. Wir können zu Recht sagen, dass Ökumene in Luthers Heimatsstadt seit gut 25 Jahren gelebt wird. Jutta Fischer

Oberbürgermeisterin, Eisleben

Links

Lutherstadt Eisleben : www.eisleben.eu
Kirchengemeinde St. Andreas-Nicolai-Petri: www.kirche-in-eisleben.de
Kirchengemeinde St. Annen : www.kirche-eisleben-stannen.de
Kirchenkreis Eisleben Sömmerda: www.kirchenkreis-eisleben-soemmerda.de
Evangelische Kirche in Mitteldeutschland: www.ekmd.de