Select Page

Emden

Germany

Emden

Signs of the Reformation are visible today

Emden was Europe’s largest sea port in the mid-16th century and one of the most populous cities in the German Empire. It would also play an important role in the Reformation. Political and spiritual developments in East Frisia coupled with Emden’s international character offered fertile ground for a wide range of Reformist initiatives. When Protestants started suffering persecution in the neighbouring regions of Europe, this cosmopolitan port became a gathering point for religious fugitives and for decades also acted as the figurative safe harbour for the intelligentsia, from where they continued to exert an influence on the course of the Reformation elsewhere in Europe.
Emden and East Frisia became home to many inspirational thinkers, such as Lutheran theologians from Bremen and Lüneburg, Andreas Karlstadt from Wittenberg, Melchior Hoffman from Schwäbisch Hall, numerous Dutch spiritualists and sacramentalists, and religious fugitives from Flanders. Close links existed to the Reformation in Switzerland, and Polish humanist Johannes a Lasco became the Superintendent of the East Frisian Church. As a Reformed theologian in a rather “Lutheran” office, he continually sought dialogue and close consensus between the different confessional associations.
Signs of the 16th century Reformation are still visible in the city today. The Reformation in Emden assumed its own particular form that incorporated a broad diversity of Reformist currents. Thus Emden provides a prime example of how close proximity can nurture fruitful co-existence.

The historical credo of the city of Emden, which adorns the entrance of the City Hall, sums it up: ‘Small things can flourish with the aid of harmony’. This is also true of Emden’s efforts as a European city of the Reformation. By working together, we are making good progress.

Bernd Bornemann

City Mayor, Stadt Emden

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Emden

Deutschland

Emden

Spuren der Reformation sind gegenwärtig

Emden – Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts der größte Seehafen Europas und eine der bevölkerungsreichsten Städte im Deutschen Reich – war ein wichtiger Ort der Reformation. Die politische und geistesgeschichtliche Entwicklung Ostfrieslands sowie das internationale Gepräge Emdens bildeten den Hintergrund für die Gegenwart einer Vielzahl von reformatorischen Ansätzen. Als im europäischen Umfeld die Verfolgung von Protestanten einsetzte, wurde die kosmopolitische Hafenstadt zu einem Sammelbecken religiös Verfolgter und für Jahrzehnte zum Fluchtpunkt einer intellektuellen Elite, die von hier aus auch Einfluss auf die Entwicklung der Reformation anderer europäischer Länder nahm.
Emden nahm viele Impulse auf: Lutherische Theologen aus Bremen und Lüneburg, Andreas Karlstadt aus Wittenberg, Melchior Hoffman aus Schwäbisch Hall, viele niederländische Spiritualisten und Sakramentarier sowie Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Flandern kamen nach Ostfriesland. Es gab enge Verbindungen zur Reformation in der Schweiz und der polnische Humanist Johannes a Lasco wurde Superintendent der ostfriesischen Kirche. Der reformierte Theologe in einem eher „lutherischen“ Amt suchte dabei fortwährend den Dialog und den größtmöglichen Konsens zwischen den konfessionellen Gruppen.
Die Spuren des 16. Jahrhunderts sind noch heute gegenwärtig. Die Reformation in Emden hat eine ganz eigene Form gefunden, die in der großen Pluralität reformatorischer Ansätze besteht. Aus einem Nebeneinander kann durchaus ein Miteinander wachsen – Emden möchte ein Beispiel dafür sein.

Das historische Credo der Stadt Emden, das sich am Portal des Rathauses wieder findet, bringt es zum Ausdruck: ,Durch Eintracht wachsen kleine Dinge’. Das gilt auch für die Ausgestaltung Emdens als europäische Reformationsstadt. Gemeinsam sind die Bündnispartner auf einem guten Weg.

Bernd Bornemann

Oberbürgermeister, Stadt Emden