Select Page

Reformationsstadt Erfurt

Deutschland

Erfurt

Birthplace of the Reformation

Erfurt is the capital city of the Free State of Thuringia and also the largest city in this federal state of Germany. It lies on the southern edge of the Thuringian basin in the valley of the River Gera, a tributary of the Elbe.
The monumental combination of the cathedral and Church of St. Severus, with its over 500 year-old “Maria Gloriosa”, the largest free-swinging medieval bell in the world, the rich patricians’ and charming half-timbered houses and the many churches and monasteries (earning the city its nickname of “Thuringian Rome”) make 1275 year-old Erfurt a veritable picture book of German history.
This economic, spiritual, cultural and political hub of Thuringia has drawn eminent figures to Erfurt throughout its colourful history, including Erfurt’s “most famous son” – Martin Luther.
Erfurt became Luther’s spiritual home in his youth. In 1505, he gained a master’s degree at the city university’s faculty of philosophy. Tradition has it that a heavy storm in the vicinity of Erfurt, at Luther’s Stone near Stotternheim, provided the impetus for his entering the Augustine monastery in 1505 and becoming a monk in gratitude for his survival. His transition from law student to monk marked the most abrupt volte face in Luther’s life and was the catalyst for a causal chain of events that gave rise to Luther the Reformer and brought about the Lutheran Reformation.
It was the intensity with which Luther lived and bore monastic life in the Erfurt’s Augustine monastery that ultimately laid down the existential roots of his theology and with it the Reformation. Erfurt has been considered the birthplace of the Reformation ever since. The city’s significance for the history of the Reformation was encapsulated by a former pastor of the Augustine Church, Rudolf Kohlschmidt, in his metaphor of the “Reformation’s nursery”. The way in which Luther experienced and lived in Erfurt formed the bedrock of his actions. It was here that he completed his formative education and identified his essential conflict in life, which would drive him forward henceforth, and here that his fundamental stances on church and society blossomed. This entire bundle of key impetuses acted as diverse directional forces on his actions.
Erfurt’s importance as a Reformation city is also revealed in the way the city so quickly became the pivotal fulcrum in the early days of the movement for pan-societal processes that radiated way beyond its municipal boundaries. As early as 1530, the Treaty of Hammelburg regulated peaceful coexistence between the Roman Catholic and Protestant communities, representing a prime example of the special history of Erfurt.
Erfurt still exudes the spirit of Luther and the Reformation in many places – first and foremost, the Protestant Augustine monastery, for which an enhancement application was submitted to UNESCO’s world heritage programme in February 2016 to be classified amongst “Lutheran sites in Central Germany”. The “Georgenburse” student hostel with its museum and pilgrims’ refuge, the collegium maius (former main building) of the old university, the cathedral, St. Michael’s Church, the Barfüsser Church and the Merchants’ Church all provide further testament to Erfurt’s eminent status as a key city of the Reformation.

Erfurt’s historical connection with the Reformation stems primarily from the important spiritual impetuses Martin Luther received here as a young man, both in the Augustine monastery and at Erfurt University, which is why we also refer to our city as the “Reformation’s nursery”. Erfurt is actively involved in celebrating the Luther Decade. For example, we are organising a major exhibition on Luther and the Mendicant Orders for 2017. Andreas Bausewein

Mayor, Stadt Erfurt

Links

City of Erfurt: www.erfurt.de/ef/en
Events in Erfurt (in German only): www.erfurt.de/luther
Tourism: www.erfurt-tourismus.de/en/all-about-erfurt
Erfurt Protestant Church Community (in German only): www.kirchenkreis-erfurt.de
Evangelical Church in Central Germany: www.ekmd.de/service/english/

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Erfurt

Deutschland

Erfurt

Die Geburtsstätte der Reformation

Erfurt ist die Landeshauptstadt des Freistaats Thüringen und zugleich die größte Stadt des Bundeslandes. Sie liegt am Südrand des Thüringer Beckens im Tal der Gera, einem Nebenfluss der Elbe.
Das monumentale Ensemble von Dom und Severikirche mit der über 500 Jahre alten „Gloriosa“, der größten frei schwingenden mittelalterlichen Glocke der Welt, die reichen Patrizier- und reizvollen Fachwerkhäuser sowie die vielen Kirchen und Klöster, die der Stadt den Beinamen das „thüringische Rom“ gaben, machen das 1275 Jahre alte Erfurt zu einem Bilderbuch der deutschen Geschichte.
Als wirtschaftliches, geistiges, kulturelles und politisches Zentrum Thüringens zog es in wechselvoller Geschichte große Persönlichkeiten nach Erfurt, darunter Erfurts „berühmtesten Sohn“ – Martin Luther.
Erfurt wurde für den jungen Luther zur geistigen Heimat. 1505 erlangte er an der Universität die Magisterwürde der philosophischen Fakultät. Den Überlieferungen nach soll ein schweres Unwetter unweit von Erfurt, am Lutherstein bei Stotternheim, den Anstoß dafür gegeben haben, dass er zum Dank für sein Überleben 1505 in das Augustinerkloster eintrat und Mönch wurde. Die Wende vom Jurastudenten zum Mönch markiert den abruptesten Einschnitt im Leben Luthers und das Ursprungsereignis einer Kausalkette, die zum Reformator Luther und zur lutherischen Reformation führte.
Die Intensität mit der Luther die mönchische Existenz im Augustinerkloster zu Erfurt durchlebte bzw. durchlitt, schufen letztendlich die existentiellen Wurzeln seiner Theologie und damit der Reformation. Seither gilt Erfurt als Geburtsstätte der Reformation – die Bedeutung der Stadt für die Reformationsgeschichte hat der ehemalige Pastor der Augustinerkirche, Rudolf Kohlschmidt, im sprachlichen Bild vom „Pflanzgarten der Reformation“ gefasst. Das Erleben der Stadt Erfurt durch Luther und sein Leben in der Stadt bilden das Fundament seines Handelns. Von hier nahm er seine Bildung und seinen zentralen Lebenskonflikt mit, der ihn antrieb und hier wurden seine grundlegenden Einstellungen zu Kirche und Gesellschaft in ihren Anfängen geformt. All diese Voraussetzungen flossen als vielfältige Impulse in sein Wirken ein.
Darüber hinaus zeigt sich die Bedeutung Erfurts als Reformationsstadt auch darin, dass die Stadt mit Beginn der reformatorischen Bewegung zum Dreh- und Angelpunkt für Prozesse wurde, die das gesellschaftliche Leben insgesamt betrafen und weit über die Stadtgrenzen ausstrahlten. Bereits 1530 gab es mit dem Hammelburger Vertrag eine Regelung, die ein friedliches Nebeneinander der römisch-katholischen und der evangelischen Bevölkerung ermöglichte und damit zur besonderen Geschichte Erfurts zählt.
In Erfurt finden sich noch viele Stätten, die den Geist Luthers und der Reformation atmen. An erster Stelle sei das Evangelische Augustinerkloster genannt, für das im Februar 2016 bei der UNESCO ein Erweiterungsantrag zur Aufnahme als Welterbe „Lutherstätten in Mitteldeutschland“ gestellt wurde. Die Georgenburse mit Gedenkstätte und Pilgerherberge, das ehemalige Hauptgebäude der alten Universität „Collegium maius“, der Dom, die Michaeliskirche, die Barfüßerkirche oder die Kaufmannskirche sind weitere Orte, die beredtes Zeugnis für die Bedeutung Erfurts als Reformationsstadt ablegen.

Der Bezug Erfurts zur Reformationsgeschichte liegt im Kern darin, dass Martin Luther als junger Mann hier wichtige geistliche Impulse empfangen hat, sowohl im Augustinerkloster als auch an der Erfurter Universität, weshalb wir auch von Erfurt als „Pflanzstätte der Reformation“ sprechen. Erfurt beteiligt sich aktiv im Rahmen der Lutherdekade. Für das Jahr 2017 planen wir beispielsweise eine große Ausstellung zu Luther und den Bettelorden. Andreas Bausewein

Oberbürgermeister, Stadt Erfurt

Links

Stadt Erfurt: www.erfurt.de
Veranstaltungen in Erfurt: www.erfurt.de/luther
Tourismus: www.erfurt-tourismus.de
Evangelischer Kirchenkreis Erfurt: www.kirchenkreis-erfurt.de
Evangelische Kirche in Mitteldeutschland: www.ekmd.de