Select Page

Geneva

Switzerland

Geneva

“Send us wood, and we will send you back arrows!”

Geneva is an extremely cosmopolitan city. Many international organisations such as the United Nations, the International Red Cross, the World Trade Organisation, the World Council of Churches and the Lutheran World Federation have offices there. The city lies at the southern end of Lake Geneva in Switzerland and is almost completely encircled by France. Almost half of its population holds a foreign passport. Geneva already displayed marked international credentials during the Reformation era. Its role as a safe haven for religious fugitives made it the “Protestant Rome”, and it was the base from which Calvinism spread throughout the entire world.
Talk of the new Reformist teachings reached Geneva as early as 1525, but it would take ten more years for the city to embrace the Reformation under the influence of its protagonist Guillaume Farel (1489-1565). The movement started to gain a proper foothold with the arrival of John Calvin (1509-1564). Although his proposals to introduce a new church order to Geneva were initially scorned and he was banished from the city together with William Farel in 1538, Calvin returned at the behest of the City Council in 1541. This was the chance he needed to instigate the new church order that very year, which laid down the responsibilities of its offices and church discipline. The newly founded consistory, made up of council members and Geneva’s pastors, was responsible for reprimanding and potentially excommunicating anyone who contravened the order – e.g. for playing cards, dancing, intemperance or violent behaviour. A catechism and order of service followed this in 1542 to ensure unity of faith in teaching and worship.
The influx of Protestant religious fugitives from France doubled Geneva’s population over the following years. Whilst this certainly caused a general increase in poverty, the fugitives also included wealthy and skilful merchants and tradesmen who contributed to the city’s affluence by setting up textile, print and clock-making businesses. An academy was formed in Geneva in 1559 to train young theologians, and Theodor Beza (1519-1605) was appointed its Rector. Students from all over Europe were drawn to Geneva, and it seemed that Calvin’s call to the Reformed World – “Send us Wood, and we will send you back arrows!” – was being answered. The academy’s students included Guy de Brès, who was to lead the Reformation in Belgium, and Caspar Olevian (1536-1587), whose subsequent appointments as professor of theology in Heidelberg and then Herborn would serve to spread Reformist teaching throughout the Empire. John Knox (1514-1572), the leader of Reform in Scotland, spent some of his time in exile in Geneva. It was also at this time that native translations of the Bible were completed and printed by Geneva’s anglophone and Italian-speaking expatriate communities. The city exuded a powerful charisma throughout Europe and the name “Geneva” became synonymous with Calvinism.

La tradition initiée par la Réforme, faite de convictions humanistes profondes, de virtuosité technologique, d’importantes avancées scientifiques, de réflexions politiques et sociales de haut niveau, d’audace et d’ouverture internationale, demeure une composante essentielle de l’identité genevoise d’aujourd’hui. Le label de « Cité européenne de la Réforme »permettrait de mettre en lumière cette histoire et cette identité. Sami Kanaan

City Mayor of Geneva, Geneva

Links

City of Geneva http://www.ville-geneve.ch/welcome-geneva/

Tourist information http://www.geneve-tourisme.ch/en/home

International Museum of the Reformation http://www.musee-reforme.ch/en

Reformed Church of Geneva http://www.protestant.ch/epg

Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches www.kirchenbund.ch/en

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Genf

Schweiz

Genf

„Schickt uns Holz – wir senden Euch Pfeile“

Genf ist eine international geprägte Stadt. Zahlreiche internationale Organisationen wie die Vereinten Nationen, das Internationale Rote Kreuz, die Welthandelsorganisation, der Ökumenische Rat der Kirchen oder der Lutherische Weltbund haben hier einen Sitz. Die schweizerische Stadt am Südende des Genfer Sees ist fast vollständig von Frankreich umgeben. Knapp die Hälfte der Bevölkerung der Stadt hat heute einen auswärtigen Pass. Diese Internationalität hatte Genf auch schon in der Reformationszeit. Als sicherer Hafen der Glaubensflüchtlinge wurde es zum „protestantischen Rom“. Von hier breitete sich der Calvinismus über die ganze Welt aus.
Zwar hörte man in Genf schon ab 1525 etwas über die neuen reformatorischen Lehren, doch dauerte es zehn Jahre, bis sich die Stadt Genf angeregt von dem Reformator Guillaume Farel (1489-1565) der Reformation anschloss. Erst mit dem Eintreffen von Jean Calvin (1509-1564) begann die Bewegung richtig Fuß zu fassen. Zwar wurden seine Vorschläge zu einer Neuordnung der Kirche in Genf zunächst abgelehnt und Calvin gemeinsam mit Farel 1538 aus Genf ausgewiesen, doch kam Calvin auf Drängen des Rates der Stadt 1541 zurück nach Genf. Nun konnte er die Neuordnung der Kirche angehen: Die Kirchenordnung von 1541 regelte die Zuständigkeiten der Ämter und die Kirchenzucht. Dem neugegründeten Konsistorium, bestehend aus Ratsmitgliedern und den Genfer Pastoren, kam bei Übertretungen der Ordnung, z.B. durch Kartenspiel, Tanz, Trunksucht oder Gewalttätigkeit, die Aufgabe zu, die Übeltäter zu ermahnen und gegebenenfalls vom Abendmahl auszuschließen. Um die Einheit des Glaubens in Lehre und Gottesdienst festzuschreiben, folgten 1542 ein Katechismus und eine Gottesdienstordnung.
Durch den Zuzug evangelischer Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Frankreich verdoppelte sich in den folgenden Jahren die Einwohnerzahl Genfs. Dies führte zum einen zu einer Steigerung der Armut, zum anderen waren unter den Flüchtlingen aber auch wohlhabende und geschickte Kaufleute und Handwerker, die das Textil-, Druckerei- und Uhrengewerbe in der Stadt aufbauten und ihr so zu Wohlstand verhalfen. Zur Ausbildung des theologischen Nachwuchses wurde 1559 die Akademie in Genf gegründet und Theodor Beza (1519-1605) zu ihrem Rektor berufen. Studierende aus ganz Europa zog es nach Genf und Calvins Ruf an die reformierte Welt sollte in Erfüllung gehen: „Schickt uns Holz, und wir senden euch Pfeile!“ Unter den Schülern der Akademie befanden sich unter anderem Guy de Brès, der spätere Reformator Belgiens oder Caspar Olevian (1536-1587), der später als Theologieprofessor in Heidelberg und in Herborn zur Ausweitung der reformierten Lehre im Reich beitrug. Auch John Knox (1514-1572), der Reformator Schottlands, verbrachte einen Teil seiner Exilszeit in Genf. In der englischsprachigen Exulantengemeinde in Genf wurde zu dieser Zeit ebenso eine muttersprachliche Bibelübersetzung verfasst und gedruckt, wie auch in der Genfer italienischsprachigen Gemeinde. Die Stadt hatte Ausstrahlungskraft für ganz Europa und der Name „Genf“ wurde zum Synonym für Calvinismus.
Einen Eindruck davon kann man auch heute noch in Genf gewinnen. Der ausgeschilderte Stadtrundgang „Auf den Spuren der Reformation“ führt an den wichtigsten Gebäuden und Plätzen der Reformation in Genf entlang. Ausgehend vom großen Reformationsdenkmal, der Mur des Réformateurs gelangt man zu verschiedenen Kirchen, dem Collège Calvin und zum Auditoire Calvin. Der Stadtrundgang endet beim Internationalen Museum der Reformation, welches die Bedeutung und Ausbreitung der Reformation weltweit schildert.

La tradition initiée par la Réforme, faite de convictions humanistes profondes, de virtuosité technologique, d’importantes avancées scientifiques, de réflexions politiques et sociales de haut niveau, d’audace et d’ouverture internationale, demeure une composante essentielle de l’identité genevoise d’aujourd’hui. Le label de « Cité européenne de la Réforme »permettrait de mettre en lumière cette histoire et cette identité.

Sami Kanaan

Maire de Genève

Links

Stadt Genf http://www.ville-geneve.ch/index.php?id=6734
Touristeninformation http://www.geneve-tourisme.ch/en/home
Internationales Museum der Reformation http://www.musee-reforme.ch/de
Reformierte Kirche Genf http://www.protestant.ch/epg
Schweizerischer Evangelischer Kirchenbund http://www.kirchenbund.ch/de