Select Page

Gennep

The Netherlands

Gennep

Gennep – a safe haven for all

Gennep – a safe haven for all

The city of Gennep lies in the Dutch province of Limburg to the south of Nijmegen, where the River Niers flows into the Maas. Over the course of its almost 700-year history, Gennep-on-Maas has belonged to changing rulers and nations. Until 1815, Gennep was part of the Duchy of Cleves, which welcomed the Reformation in the 16th century and supported its citizens’ religious freedom. The city played a special role in the course of the Dutch Reformation.
In 1530, Protestant religious fugitives starting fleeing there from the Netherlands, Belgium and northern France and were taken in by the mainly Catholic locals. Not only were these Protestants permitted to worship their faith in the city’s Saint Martin Church, but Catholic priests and Reformed preachers even conducted joint services together. The Catholics listened to the Protestants’ psalms and the Reformed congregation marvelled at the Catholic priest’s celebration of the Eucharist. New-borns were baptised by either the Catholic priest or the Reformed preacher, depending who was currently on call. Even Duke William the Rich of Cleves (1516-1592) had his first daughter baptised Catholic and the second Protestant.
Whilst the Reformation prompted persecution, violence and war in many parts of Europe, Gennep demonstrated a very different approach. Respect and tolerance gave no foothold to iconoclasm, persecution or religious war and instead secured peace and prosperity.
However, when Fernando Álvarez de Toledo y Pimentel, the Duke of Alba (1507-1582), was appointed Governor of the Netherlands in 1567, he unleashed a rule of terror that afflicted the Protestants above all. The Duke of Alba had already vanquished the Protestants as a commander in the Smalkaldic War. Now thousands of religious fugitives from the Netherlands fled to the Duchy of Cleves along with others from France and England. Thus Gennep, Goch and Cleves became a central haven for refugees. The asylum-seekers from the Netherlands, who became known as the “Dutch refugee community”, joined forces with the local Protestants to establish the Reformed Church in Gennep and Goch, which was officially recognised by the Emden Synod in 1571.
After many years of Reformed worship in the Catholic Saint Martin Church, the new City Hall and the Catholic Saint Antonius Chapel, the presbytery decided to build its own church. A plot was acquired opposite the City Hall in the heart of Gennep and the construction work (1660-1663) was financed from the prolific fund-raising travels of preacher Johannes Engelen around Germany and the Netherlands.
To this day, the Saint Martin Tower, the market square with the historic City Hall and the Reformed Church remain the key features of the historic heart of Gennep. When the city joined the Netherlands in 1815, its Reformed Church became the oldest Protestant-built church in the kingdom. The citizens of Gennep are as proud of this fact as they are of the virtues of tolerance and respect that the city is known for. There is plenty of cross-border contact with the town of Goch and its Protestant congregation. Life in Gennep continues to strongly reflect its ecumenical spirit and welcoming attitude towards alternative schools of thought.

We are proud that Gennep became the reformation city of The Netherlands. Respect and tolerance are parts of the DNA of the community. We propagated this already 500 years ago. Today this open mind towards dissidents is as important as before. We cherish and disseminate it. Together we may show during the year of the Reformation what Europe means in terms of responsibility.

Peter de Koning

mayor of Gennep

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Gennep

Niederlande

Gennep

Gennep – ein sicherer Hafen für alle

Die Stadt Gennep liegt in der niederländischen Provinz Limburg südlich von Nijmegen an der Mündung der Niers in die Maas. In ihrer knapp 700-jährigen Geschichte gehörte die Stadt an der Maas zu wechselnden Herrschaften und Nationen. Bis 1815 war Gennep Teil des Herzogtums Kleve, welches im 16. Jahrhundert der Reformation gegenüber aufgeschlossen war und seinen Bürgern Religionsfreiheit zusicherte. In der niederländischen Reformationsgeschichte nimmt Gennep eine besondere Rolle ein.
Ab 1530 kamen evangelische Glaubensflüchtlinge aus den Niederlanden, Belgien und Nordfrankreich nach Gennep und wurden von der mehrheitlich katholischen einheimischen Bevölkerung aufgenommen. Den Evangelischen wurde nicht nur gestattet, ihre Gottesdienste in der Sankt Martinuskirche zu halten, sondern katholische Priester und reformierte Prediger leiteten gemeinsam die Gottesdienste. Die Katholiken lauschten den Psalmen und die Reformierten verfolgten mit Ehrfurcht die Eucharistiefeier des katholischen Priesters. Neugeborene wurden vom katholischen Priester oder vom reformierten Prediger getauft, je nachdem, wer jeweils zur Verfügung stand. Selbst Herzog Wilhelm der Reiche von Kleve (1516-1592) ließ seine erste Tochter katholisch und die zweite evangelisch taufen.
Während die Reformation in weiten Teilen Europas Anlass zu Verfolgung, Gewalt und Krieg bot, zeigte sich in Gennep eine Alternative: Respekt und Toleranz ließen Bilderstürme, Verfolgung und Glaubenskriege nicht aufkommen und sicherten Frieden und Wohlstand.
Als Fernando Álvarez de Toledo y Pimentel, der Herzog von Alba (1507-1582), 1567 zum Statthalter der Niederlande ernannt wurde, begann seine Schreckensherrschaft, unter der vor allem die Protestanten leiden mussten. Der Herzog von Alba hatte schon im Schmalkaldischen Krieg als Feldherr die Protestanten besiegt. Nun flohen tausende Glaubensflüchtlinge aus den Niederlanden in das Herzogtum Kleve, hinzu kamen evangelische Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Frankreich und England. In Gennep, wie in Goch und Kleve entstand so ein Flüchtlingszentrum. Die Niederländischen Asylanten gründeten die „Holländische Flüchtlingsgemeinde“, vereinigten sich mit den einheimischen Protestanten und bildeten damit die reformierte Kirche in Gennep und Goch, die 1571 offiziell durch die Emder Synode anerkannt wurde.
Nachdem die reformierten Gottesdienste über viele Jahre in der katholischen Sankt Martinuskirche, im neuen Rathaus und in der katholischen Sankt Antoniuskapelle gefeiert wurden, beschloss das Presbyterium eine eigene Kirche zu bauen. Ein Grundstück gegenüber des Rathauses konnte im Zentrum von Gennep erworben werden und der Kirchenbau (1660-1663) wurde finanziert durch umfangreiche Kollektenreisen des damalige Predigers Johannes Engelen nach Deutschland und in die Niederlande.
Bis heute sind der Sankt Martinusturm und der Marktplatz mit dem alten Rathaus und der reformierten Kirche prägend für das historische Zentrum von Gennep. Als die Stadt 1815 Teil der Niederlande wurde, wurde die reformierte Kirche damit zur ältesten protestantisch erbauten Kirche der Niederlande. Darauf ist man in Gennep stolz, ebenso wie darauf, dass bis heute Toleranz und Respekt maßgebliche Tugenden der Stadt sind. Mit der Stadt Goch und der dortigen evangelischen Gemeinde besteht ein reger grenzüberschreitender Kontakt. Der ökumenische Gedanke und die Offenheit für anders Denkende prägen bis heute das Leben in der Stadt Gennep.

Wir sind stolz darauf, dass Gennep die Reformationsstadt der Niederlande ist. Respekt und Toleranz sind Teil der DNA unserer Gemeinde. Das bringen wir seit 500 Jahren zum Ausdruck. Und heutzutage ist diese offene Einstellung in Richtung Andersdenkender noch immer wichtig. Diese Kultur pflegen wir und tragen sie in die Welt. Zusammen zeigen wir im Reformationsjahr wofür Europa steht.

Peter de Koning

Bürgermeister von Gennep