Select Page

Graz

Austria

Graz

Exile or Catholizism

Graz is the capital city of Austria’s federal state of Styria, and it lies at the south-eastern edge of the Alps, not far from Austria’s borders with Slovenia and Hungary. Graz was designated the European Capital of Culture in 2003 and its historic city centre is an official UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site.
The teachings of the Reformation found their way to Graz as early as the 1520s. City mayor Simon Arbeiter, an apothecary by profession, was actively in favour of the Protestant celebration of the Eucharist. It wasn’t long before the majority of the population turned to Protestantism. Hans Ungnad von Sonnegg (1493-1564), who became the Head of the Styrian government in 1530, also embraced Protestantism. His influence grew with his appointment as Colonel in Chief and then Governor of the Archduchy of Austria-sub-Enns between 1542 and 1544. All the same, his efforts to procure religious freedom from King Ferdinand I remained unsuccessful, which led him to resign his offices in 1556 and move away – first to Melanchthon’s side in Wittenberg and then supporting Primož Trubar’s efforts to translate the Bible into Slovenian.
The Hapsburgs were at pains to rescind Protestantism in Graz and re-Catholicise the city. In 1572, Archduke Karl summoned the Jesuits to Graz. During the following year, they founded a theological college in the city to compete with the flourishing Protestant seminary. After the Jesuit college initially failed to attract enough students, it was upgraded to a university in 1586. On the Protestant front, Lutheran professor of theology David Chyträus (1530-1600) moved to Graz from the University of Rostock in 1574 in order to draft a school statute for the Protestant seminary along with a church order. The most famous teacher at the Protestant school was Johannes Keppler (1571-1630), who taught mathematics there from 1594 to 1600. The church order regulated worship, official acts and the organisation of the church. Styria was the only region in Austria to install the office of Protestant Superintendent. For a short time, this meant that Protestant theologians could be ordained in Graz, whereas candidates throughout the rest of Austria had to travel to the Protestant regions of Germany for this act.
But then the Counter-Reformation put an end to blossoming Protestant life in Graz. In 1598, the Protestant pastors were all banished and Protestant books burned, and the following year saw the closure of the Protestant school. Religious commissions hunted down Protestants to condemn their faith. Only the nobility was able to keep the Protestant faith for a few more years, but from 1628 on even they had to choose between exile or Catholicism, so Protestant life was forced entirely underground.
It was only after Emperor Joseph II issued the Edict of Tolerance in 1781 that Protestants were once again allowed to practise their faith in Austria. Even then, it would be another forty years before a “Protestant community of the Augsburg and Helvetic confession” could establish itself in Graz, in 1821, as an outpost of the closest parish of Wald am Schoberpass. The community managed to erect a prayer house in 1824 and to found a Protestant school in 1828. In the years that followed, more and more Protestants moved to Graz and so helped the city to flourish. Nowadays, there are five Protestant parishes in Graz and one Methodist congregation. The Protestant Church maintains its own cemetery, offers students a hall of residence and runs a number of welfare institutions.

The city of Graz will be seizing the chance to address the city’s history during the Reformation era and to share this knowledge with a broad public audience. This will involve a critical evaluation of the way Protestants were treated in Graz around the time of the Reformation; but equally, we will be explaining the influx of Protestants following the Edict of Tolerance issued by Joseph II in 1781 and highlighting their contribution to the economic growth of Styria’s capital city thereafter.

Siegfried Nagl

City Mayor

Links

City of Graz www.graz.at/EN/

Graz Tourist Office www.graztourismus.at/en

Graz Protestant Church of the Redeemer (Heilandskirche Graz – in German only) http://heilandskirche.st/

Graz Protestant Church of the Holy Cross (Kreuzkirche Graz – in German only) http://www.kreuzkirche-graz.at/

Protestant Church of Styria http://www.evang.st/

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Graz

Österreich

Graz

Auswandern oder katholisch werden

Die Landeshauptstadt der Steiermark liegt am südöstlichen Rand der Alpen, unweit der österreichischen Grenze zu Slowenien und zu Ungarn. 2003 war Graz die Kulturhauptstadt Europas und ihre Altstadt ist UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.
Bereits in den 1520er Jahren breitete sich in Graz die reformatorische Lehre aus. Der Apotheker und Bürgermeister Simon Arbeiter setzte sich für evangelische Abendmahlsfeiern an. Bald war die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung evangelisch. Ab 1530 war Hans Ungnad von Sonnegg (1493-1564) Landeshauptmann der Steiermark. Er schloss sich ebenfalls der Reformation an. Sein Einfluss wuchs, nachdem er zum Obersten Feldhauptmann und von 1542 bis 1544 zusätzlich zum Statthalter des Erzherzogtums Österreich unter der Enns ernannt wurde. Doch seine Bemühungen um Religionsfreiheit bei König Ferdinand I. blieben erfolglos, so dass er 1556 seine Ämter niederlegte und zunächst nach Wittenberg zu Melanchthon zog und später die slowenische Bibelübersetzung von Primož Trubar unterstützte.
Die Habsburger verfolgten die Rekatholisierung der evangelischen Stadt. 1572 berief Erzherzog Karl die Jesuiten nach Graz. Bereits im Folgejahr errichteten sie in der Stadt ein Kolleg in Konkurrenz zu der florierenden evangelischen Landschaftsschule. Da das Jesuitenkolleg jedoch Anfangs nicht genug Zulauf hatte, wurde es 1586 zur Universität erhoben. Für die evangelische Seite kam 1574 der lutherische Theologieprofessor David Chyträus (1530-1600) von der Universität Rostock nach Graz um eine Schulordnung für die evangelische Landschaftsschule und eine Kirchenordnung auszuarbeiten. Der bekannteste Lehrer der evangelischen Schule war Johannes Kepler (1571-1630), der dort von 1594 bis 1600 Mathematik unterrichtete. Die Kirchenordnung regelte sowohl die Gottesdienstordnung und die Amtshandlungen als auch die Organisation der Kirche. In der Steiermark konnte als einzigem Territorium Österreichs das Amt eines evangelischen Superintendenten eingerichtet werden. Damit konnten für kurze Zeit in Graz evangelische Theologen ordiniert werden, während im Rest Österreichs die evangelischen Theologen in die evangelischen Territorien Deutschlands reisen mussten, um sich ordinieren zu lassen.
Doch die Gegenreformation beendete das blühende evangelische Leben. 1598 wurden alle evangelischen Prädikanten vertrieben, evangelische Bücher verbrannt und im Jahr darauf die evangelische Schule geschlossen. Religionskommissionen spürten Evangelische auf, um sie zu verurteilen. Nur dem Adel war es einige Jahre länger vorbehalten evangelisch zu sein, doch auch er stand ab 1628 vor der Wahl: Auswandern oder katholisch werden. Nur noch im Geheimen war evangelisches Leben möglich.
Erst nach dem Religionspatent von Kaiser Joseph II. aus dem Jahre 1781 war es Evangelischen in Österreich erlaubt, ihren Glauben zu leben. Es dauerte noch vierzig Jahre, bis 1821 in Graz eine „Evangelische Gemeinde Augsburger und Helvetischer Confession“ als Filiale der nächstgelegenen Pfarrgemeinde Wald am Schoberpass entstehen konnte. 1824 konnte die Gemeinde ein Bethaus erbauen und 1828 eine evangelische Schule einrichten. In den folgenden Jahren siedelten sich mehr und mehr Protestanten in Graz an und trugen zum Aufschwung in der Stadt bei. Heute gibt es in Graz fünf evangelische Pfarrgemeinden und eine evangelisch-methodistische Gemeinde. Die evangelische Kirche unterhält einen Friedhof, ein Studentenwohnheim und verschiedene diakonische Einrichtungen.

Die Stadt Graz möchte die Möglichkeit wahrnehmen, ihre Geschichte zur Zeit der Reformation zu thematisieren und der breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. So wird Graz mit kritischem Blick den Umgang mit den ProtestantInnen zur Zeit der Reformation in Graz beleuchten. Ebenso gilt es zu thematisieren, dass nach dem Toleranzpatent unter Joseph II. im Jahr 1781 sehr viele ProtestantInnen nach Graz kamen und zum wirtschaftlichen Wachstum der steirischen Landeshauptstadt beitrugen.

Siegfried Nagl

Bürgermeister der Landeshauptstadt Graz

Links

Stadt Graz http://www.graz.at/
Tourismusbüro Graz http://www.graztourismus.at/de
Evangelische Heilandskirche Graz http://heilandskirche.st/
Evangelische Kreuzkirche Graz http://www.kreuzkirche-graz.at/
Evangelische Kirche Steiermark http://www.evang.st/
Evangelisch sein – 500 Jahre Reformation www.evangelisch-sein.at