Select Page

Ilanz

Switzerland

Ilanz

The Rhaeto-Romanic Reformation City

Ilanz lies on the headwaters of the Rhine in the Swiss canton of Graubünden. Its small population of around 2,500 makes this closest settlement to the source of the Rhine more of a town of the European Reformation. However, size is by no means any measure of its importance in this setting. Ilanz gained its town rights over 700 years ago. The languages spoken there are German and Romansh. The town has a well-preserved historic centre and lies right in the heart of the Surselva District, a popular region for winter sports and skiing. In 2014, Ilanz and a number of its neighbours merged to form the new municipality of Ilanz/Glion.
This small town played a disproportionately major role in the history of the Reformation. For alongside Davos and Chur, Ilanz was one of the capitals and seats of the assemblies of the Three Leagues alliance. The Ilanz Articles issued by the Federal Assembly in 1524 and 1526 gave the municipalities of the Three League’s Free State the right to appoint their own pastors, thus curtailing the rights of the Bishops and nobility. The Articles can be chiefly traced back to the Reformer Johannes Comander (approx. 1484-1557), who was active in Chur from 1523 and met with its Bishop Paul Ziegler in Ilanz in January 1526 for a disputation. The legacy of Johannes Comander is still evident in the Evangelical-Reformed Church of the Canton of Graubünden and the canton’s constitution. It was he who wrote the first Reformed Church Constitution and founded the Synod of the Leagues in 1537. To this day, all the canton’s pastors gather once a year in this assembly to consider the admission and ordination of new pastors for service to their churches, to discuss theological and liturgical issues, and to exercise the ultimate supervision of pastoral affairs. The new pastors are ordained in the Sunday service of worship that takes place during the Synod. The Synod of the Leagues is one of the oldest Protestant synods and has always been quite unique in terms of its tasks and composition.
During the Reformation era, there was also a secret Baptist community in Ilanz. Leopold Scharnschleger (approx. 1485-1563), a leading figure of the Baptist movement, found work there as a school master in 1546 and headed a small Baptist community. He maintained vigorous correspondence with other Baptist communities as far afield as Mähren.
A number of buildings in Ilanz bear witness to the Reformation era. The town’s Reformed Church of St. Margaret, which was the venue for the Ilanz Disputation, is decorated with late medieval murals including an illustration of Death playing chess with chess with a lady. The old town hall, known as the Casa Cumin, where the Federal Assembly convened, was replaced by a new building in 1880. The language of Ilanz bears its own lively historical witness. The catechism published by Ilanz pastor Stefan Gabriel in 1611 was the first book to be printed in Sursilvan, the Rhaeto-Romanic idiom of the Upper Rhine Valley.

When Ilanz and other local municipalities embraced the Reformation, a keen rivalry ensued with those neighbouring communities that remained faithful to the Bishop. This colourful history spawned a lively ecumenism that will characterise the forthcoming celebrations to mark the anniversary of the Reformation.

Andreas Thöny

Church Council President of the Evangelical-Reformed Church of the Canton of Graubünden

Links

Town of Ilanz http://www.ilanz-glion.ch/home.html
Evangelical-Reformed Congregation of Ilanz http://www.ilanz-reformiert.ch/
Evangelical-Reformed Church of the Canton of Graubünden http://www.gr-ref.ch/
Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches http://www.kirchenbund.ch/en

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Ilanz

Schweiz

Ilanz

Das Reformations-„Städtli“

Ilanz liegt am Vorderrhein im schweizerischen Kanton Graubünden. Mit nur zweieinhalbtausend Einwohnern ist die erste Stadt am Rhein das Europäische Reformations-„Städtli“. Doch sagt die Größe nichts über die Bedeutung der Stadt aus. Seit über 700 Jahren hat Ilanz Stadtrechte. Hier spricht man Deutsch und Rätoromanisch. Ilanz mit seiner gut erhaltenen historischen Altstadt liegt im Herzen der Wintersport- und Skigebiete der Surselva. Im Jahr 2014 fusionierte die Stadt Ilanz mit anderen Gemeinden zur kommunalen Gemeinde Ilanz/Glion.
Auch für die Geschichte der Reformation kommt der kleinen Stadt eine große Bedeutung zu. Neben Davos und Chur war Ilanz nämlich Tagungsort der allgemeinen Bundesversammlung der Drei Bünde. Mit der Verabschiedung der Ilanzer Artikel von 1524 und von 1526 sprachen die 64 Gesandten den Gemeinden im Freistaat der Drei Bünde unter anderem das Recht der Pfarrerwahl zu und beschnitten damit die Rechte des Bischofs und des Adels.
Nach Klagen im Dezember 1525 über Comander und andere 40 Geistliche, die „der katholischen Kirche zuwiderlaufende Lehren“ verkünden würden, haben die Häupter der Drei Bünde auf den Januar 1526 eine Disputation in Ilanz zwischen Johannes Comander (um 1485–1557) und dem Churer Prämonstratenserabt Theodul Schlegel (um 1485–1529) verfügt. Comander wirkte seit 1523 in Chur als Priester am St. Martin und verfasste für die Disputation seine „Ilanzer Thesen“, basierend auf Zwinglis Schlussreden. Das Erbe des Johannes Comander prägt bis heute die Evangelisch-reformierte Landeskirche Graubünden und die Kantonsverfassung. Er arbeitete die erste reformierte Kirchenverfassung aus und begründete 1537 die Bündner Synode. Bis heute kommen in dieser Versammlung jährlich alle Pfarrerinnen und Pfarrer des Kantons zusammen und beraten über die Aufnahme und Ordination von Pfarrerinnen und Pfarrern in den Bündner Kirchendienst, befassen sich mit theologischen und liturgischen Fragen und nehmen die Oberaufsicht über die Pfarramtsführung war. Im Sonntagsgottesdienst während der Synode werden jeweils die neuen Pfarrerinnen und Pfarrer ordiniert. Die Bündner Synode ist eine der ältesten Synoden im Protestantismus und bis heute in Bezug auf Aufgaben und Zusammensetzung ein Unikum.
In der Reformationszeit gab es in Ilanz auch eine geheime Täufergemeinde. Leopold Scharnschlager, (um 1485–1563) ein führender Kopf der Täuferbewegung, hatte ab 1546 in Ilanz eine Anstellung als Schulmeister gefunden und betreute die kleine Täufergemeinde. Mit anderen täuferischen Gemeinden bis hin nach Mähren unterhielt er regen Briefkontakt.
Einige Bauwerke in Ilanz geben noch Zeugnis von der Reformationszeit. In der reformierten St. Margarethenkirche, in welcher auch die Ilanzer Disputation stattfand, befinden sich auch spätgotische Wandmalereien, darunter eine Abbildung des Todes, der mit einer Frau Schach spielt. Die Casa Cumin, das alte Rathaus, in dem die Bundesversammlung stattfand, wurde 1880 durch einen Neubau ersetzt. Die Sprache in Ilanz ist ein eigenes lebendiges geschichtliches Zeugnis. Der Ilanzer Pfarrer Stefan Gabriel gab 1611 mit seinem Katechismus das erste Buch auf surselvisch, also dem rätoromanischen Idiom des Vorderrheintals heraus.

Durch die Annahme der Reformation in Ilanz und in einigen umliegenden Gemeinden ergab sich eine herausfordernde Nachbarschaft zu den Gemeinden, die dem Bischof treu blieben. Diese wechselvolle Geschichte hat sich zu einer lebendigen Ökumene entwickelt, die bei den Feiern zum Reformationsjubiläum Berücksichtigung finden wird.

Andreas Thöny

Kirchenratspräsident der Evangelisch-reformierten Landeskirche Graubünden, Ilanz

Links

Stadt Ilanz: www.ilanz-glion.ch/home.html
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirchengemeinde Ilanz: http://ilanz-reformiert.ch/
Evangelisch-reformierte Landeskirche Graubünden: www.gr-ref.ch/
Programm zum Reformationsjubiläum Ilanz und Umgebung: https://www.ilanz-glion.ch/aktuelles/reformationsstadt-europas/veranstaltungen-2017.html
Schweizerischer Evangelischer Kirchenbund: www.kirchenbund.ch/de