Select Page

Lausanne

Switzerland

Lausanne

First Protestant university in French-speaking Europe

Lausanne is situated in the canton of Vaud in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. The Reformation started to take hold in this former Bishop’s city while Switzerland was experiencing political and military struggles for power during the 16th century.
In 1525, Lausanne entered into an alliance of co-citizenship with Bern and Fribourg. When Bern sought to defend the city of Geneva against the territorial claims of the Dukes of Savoy shortly thereafter, Lausanne had to join it in war as an ally. In 1536, Protestant Bern conquered the Savoys in Vaud and made Lausanne its administrative centre. It was then that the Reformation was introduced there, prompting Bishop Sébastien de Montfalcon to flee the city.
The citizens of Lausanne nominated Pierre Viret (1511-1571) as the city’s Reformer. Viret was born in the municipality of Orbe in Vaud, and had studied alongside Calvin in Paris at the Collège de Montaigu, which is where he encountered Reformist thought. After his Protestant beliefs forced him to leave Paris, he began preaching the new faith in Vaud in 1531. In 1536, Bern ordered a formal disputation on introducing the Reformation in Lausanne, although its outcome was predetermined. Pierre Viret, Guillaume Farel (1489-1565), John Calvin (1509-1564) and Pierre Caroli (1480-1545) were part of the Protestant delegation. At Christmas time that year, the city renounced Catholicism and Pierre Caroli became Lausanne’s Protestant pastor. The first Protestant university in French-speaking Europe was the Académie de Lausanne, established there in 1537, which quickly attracted more than 700 students. Reformer Theodor Beza (1519-1605) was appointed Rector of the academy in 1552, but he would resign just six years later to support Calvin in Geneva, where he also became Rector of its nascent academy.
The course the Reformation followed in Lausanne was tightly intertwined with state interests, and the Reformed Church maintains close ties with the state structures of Vaud to this day – a relationship not found anywhere else in Switzerland. Lausanne’s Academy and Cathedral still bear impressive witness to the Reformation era. Its Cathedral, which was originally decorated in extremely ornate fashion at the start of the 16th century, shows hefty signs of damage from the Reformist iconoclasm, which left just a single window intact from the Reformation times. Even the statues of the apostles at its south portal still bear scars from this attack. One of the windows was replaced by a stained glass image of Reformer Pierre Viret instead.

Lausanne doit son évolution, son rayonnement et sa croissance aussi grâce à ce mouvement de la Réforme qui déborda très largement les frontières politiques européennes. Les idées issues de la Réforme n’ont cessé de proposer une lecture globale de la société, notamment dans les domaines de la santé et de l’accompagnement des défavorises. Xavier Paillard

Président du Conseil synodal, Lausanne

Links

City of Lausanne www.lausanne.ch/en/lausanne-en-bref
Lausanne Tourist Office www.lausanne-tourisme.ch/en
Evangelical-Reformed Church of the Canton of Vaud www.eerv.ch
Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches www.kirchenbund.ch/en

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Lausanne

Schweiz

Lausanne

Erste protestantische Hochschule im französischen Sprachraum

Lausanne liegt in der französischsprachigen Schweiz im Kanton Waadt. Die Einführung der Reformation in der ehemaligen Bischofsstadt ging einher mit den politischen und militärischen Machtkämpfen des 16. Jahrhunderts in der Schweiz.

Lausanne schloss mit Bern und Freiburg 1525 einen Burgrechtsvertrag. Als Bern bald darauf die Stadt Genf gegen die Gebietsansprüche des Herzogtums Savoyen verteidigte, mussten die verbündeten Lausanner mit in den Krieg ziehen. 1536 eroberte das evangelische Bern die Waadt von den Savoyern und machte Lausanne zum Verwaltungszentrum der Waadt. Zugleich wurde in der Bischofsstadt die Reformation eingeführt und Bischof Sébastien de Montfalcon floh aus der Stadt.

Als Reformator kam auf Bitten der Lausanner Bürgerschaft Pierre Viret (1511-1571). Er stammte aus der Nähe, war in Orbe in der Waadt geboren und hatte in Paris zeitgleich mit Calvin am Collège de Montaigu studiert. Dort war er mit reformatorischem Gedankengut in Kontakt gekommen. Wegen seiner evangelischen Gesinnung musste er Paris verlassen und predigte ab 1531 in der Waadt den neuen Glauben. Zur Einführung der Reformation wurde auf Anordnung Berns im Oktober 1536 in Lausanne eine Disputation abgehalten, deren Ausgang jedoch schon vorbestimmt war. Pierre Viret vertrat unter anderem mit Guillaume Farel (1489-1565), Jean Calvin (1509-1564) und Pierre Caroli (1480-1545) die evangelische Seite. Zu Weihnachten desselben Jahres wurde der katholische Kultus abgeschafft und Pierre Caroli als evangelischer Pfarrer eingesetzt. Zur Ausbildung der Pastoren wurde 1537 die Académie de Lausanne als erste protestantische Hochschule im französischen Sprachraum gegründet, die schon bald über 700 Studenten hatte. 1552 wurde der Reformator Theodor Beza (1519-1605) zum Rektor der Akademie berufen. Nur sechs Jahre später trat Beza von diesem Amt zurück und ging zur Unterstützung Calvins nach Genf, wo er ebenfalls Rektor der im Entstehen begriffenen Akademie wurde.

Die Reformation in Lausanne ist durch eine enge Verflechtung mit staatlichen Interessen gekennzeichnet. Bis heute ist eine enge Bindung zwischen der reformierten Kirche und dem Staat charakteristisch für die Waadt – und in dieser Weise ein Unikat in der Schweiz. Als Zeugnisse der Reformationszeit lassen sich in Lausanne die Akademie und die Kathedrale bestaunen. Die Kathedrale, die Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts prächtig ausgeschmückt wurde, zeigt viele Folgen des reformatorischen Bildersturms, welchen nur ein Fenster aus vorreformatorischer Zeit überstanden hat. Auch die Apostelfiguren des Südportals tragen noch Narben dieser Zeit. Dafür wurde Pierre Viret ein Fenster gewidmet, welches den Reformator zeigt.

Lausanne doit son évolution, son rayonnement et sa croissance aussi grâce à ce mouvement de la Réforme qui déborda très largement les frontières politiques européennes. Les idées issues de la Réforme n’ont cessé de proposer une lecture globale de la société, notamment dans les domaines de la santé et de l’accompagnement des défavorises.

Xavier Paillard

Président du Conseil synodal, Lausanne

Links

Stadt Lausanne: www.lausanne.ch
Tourismusbüro: www.lausanne-tourisme.ch
Evangelisch-Reformierte Kirche des Kantons Waadt: www.eerv.ch
Schweizerischer Evangelischer Kirchenbund: www.kirchenbund.ch