Select Page

The Reformation City of Lemgo

Germany

Lemgo

The historic Hanseatic city of Lemgo lies in the north of the German federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia. It is widely known for its successful handball team, TBV Lemgo.
During the Middle Ages, Lemgo achieved prosperity as a trading centre and was admitted into the Hanseatic League. Its historical status can be seen to this day in its opulently decorated stone-gabled houses and half-timbered buildings from the Renaissance era. The economic upturn also boosted the confidence of the citizens vis-à-vis the Church and the rulers of Lippe. The Reformation message spread rapidly along the trade routes, and as early as 1518 Lemgo’s town clerk Engelbert Preine read Luther’s 95 Theses and denounced the practice of indulgences. And so a Reformist movement also emerged in Lemgo during the 1520s. Its citizens determinedly demonstrated their Protestant faith – by attending Protestant worship in neighbouring towns and cities, provocatively eating meat during Lent and singing German Reformation church songs at mass. In so doing, they openly challenged Count Simon V of Lippe (1471-1536), who opposed the Reformation.
When Count Simon thought to launch military reprisals against Lemgo in 1533, Hessian Landgrave Philipp the Magnanimous (1504-1567) acted as a conciliator. That same year, Lemgo adopted the Braunschweig Church Order, thus formally introducing the Lutheran Reformation. Yet the fear of military intervention by the ruler persisted in the city. It was only after the death of Simon V that the Reformation was introduced throughout the entire county of Lippe by his son Bernhard VIII (1527-1563) in 1538.
During the second half of the 16th century, the confessional contrasts between the Lutheran and Reformed Reformation emerged. In 1605, Count Simon VI (1554-1613) converted to the Reformed confession, which classified the entire county as Reformed. However, the self-confident citizens of Lemgo did not wish to support this “second Reformation” and publicly revolted against the ruler. After years of dispute, Lemgo wrangled a compromise. The “Peace of Röhrentrup”, signed in 1617, allowed the city to remain Lutheran, while the rest of the county of Lippe adhered to the Reformed confession.
This confessional divide persists to a considerable degree to this day. The congregations of the Church of Lippe belong to either the Lutheran class (supra-regional church district) or one of the three Reformed classes (church districts). There are currently two Protestant-Reformed church congregations and three Protestant-Lutheran church congregations in Lemgo, with most of the population belonging to the Lutheran class. They all form a single regional church with congregations of different confessions. The Regional Church of Lippe was therefore also the first regional church signatory to the 1973 Leuenberg Agreement to declare table fellowship between Protestant churches and Christians of different confessions.
The historical city centre of Lemgo is home to a veritable treasure trove of Renaissance buildings from the 16th century, of which many bear house inscriptions. These are frequently verses or sayings from the Bible, which reflect the Protestant faith of their builders. The city of Lemgo is planning to mark the 2017 anniversary with a special publication and an exhibition that will link the quincentenary of the Reformation (1517) to the 400th anniversary of the “Peace of Röhrentrup” (1617).

As mayor, I am delighted that the historical Hanseatic city of Lemgo is being recognised as a European City of the Reformation. This title reflects the history of our city, which was very much shaped by the Reformation. At the same time, it highlights the European dimension, which is of great importance to such a European-spirited community as Lemgo. Dr. Reiner Austermann

Mayor, Lemgo

Lemgo adopted the Lutheran Reformation very soon after 1517 and held fast to the Lutheran faith. Networks played a valuable role in this respect – to start with, the Hanseatic League; nowadays the Lutheran World Federation, for example. These networks remind us that community goes beyond the people we meet locally. The title ‘European City of the Reformation’ superbly reflects that we are part of a great whole.” Andreas Lange

Lutheran Superintendent

Links

City of Lemgo http://www.lemgo.net/1636
Lemgo Tourism Office (in German only) http://www.lemgo-marketing.de
Regional Church of Lippe http://www.lippische-landeskirche.de/1-4-36
City Convention of Lemgo Churches (in German only) http://evangelisch.st-pauli-lemgo.de/

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Lemgo

Deutschland

Lemgo

Eine „Zwei-Klassen-Gesellschaft“

Die Alte Hansestadt Lemgo liegt im Norden des Bundeslandes Nordrhein-Westfalen. Einem breiten Publikum ist die Stadt durch ihre erfolgreiche Handballmannschaft, den TBV Lemgo, bekannt.
Im Mittelalter erlangte die Stadt Lemgo als Handelsstadt einen beachtlichen Wohlstand und wurde in den Bund der Hansestädte aufgenommen. Davon zeugen bis heute die reich verzierten Steingiebelhäuser und Fachwerkbauten aus der Renaissancezeit. Mit dem wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung wuchs auch das Selbstbewusstsein der Bürger gegenüber der Kirche und den lippischen Landesherren. Entlang der Handelswege breitete sich schnell die reformatorische Botschaft aus, bereits 1518 las der Lemgoer Stadtsekretär Engelbert Preine Luthers 95 Thesen und sprach sich gegen die Ablasspraxis aus. So entstand auch in Lemgo in den 1520er Jahren eine reformatorische Bewegung. In bewussten Inszenierungen bezeugten Lemgoer Bürger ihren evangelischen Glauben: Sie besuchten evangelische Gottesdienste in benachbarten Städten, aßen in der Fastenzeit demonstrativ Fleisch und sangen deutsche reformatorische Kirchenlieder in der Messe. Damit traten sie in offenen Konflikt zu Graf Simon V. von Lippe (1471-1536), der sich gegen die Reformation stellte.
Als Graf Simon 1533 militärisch gegen Lemgo vorgehen wollte, griff der hessische Landgraf Philipp der Großmütige (1504-1567) vermittelnd ein. Lemgo nahm noch im selben Jahr die Braunschweiger Kirchenordnung an und führte damit formal die lutherische Reformation ein. Doch die Angst vor einem militärischen Eingreifen des Landesherren blieb in Lemgo bestehen. Erst nachdem Simon V. verstorben war, wurde 1538 unter seinem Sohn Bernhard VIII. (1527-1563) die Reformation in der ganzen Grafschaft Lippe eingeführt.
In der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts brachen die konfessionellen Gegensätze zwischen der lutherischen und der reformierten Reformation auf. 1605 trat Graf Simon VI. (1554-1613) zum reformierten Bekenntnis über, was zu Folge hatte, dass nun in der ganzen Grafschaft das reformierte Bekenntnis galt. Die selbstbewusste Lemgoer Bürgerschaft jedoch wollte diese „zweite Reformation“ nicht mitvollziehen und revoltierte offen gegen den Landesherren. Nach jahrelangen Auseinandersetzungen erkämpfte die Stadt Lemgo einen Kompromiss: Im „Röhrentruper Rezess“ wurde der Stadt Lemgo 1617 zugestanden, lutherisch zu bleiben, während der Rest der Grafschaft Lippe sich zum reformierten Bekenntnis hielt.
Diese konfessionelle Verteilung besteht im Wesentlichen bis heute. Die Kirchengemeinden der Lippischen Landeskirche gehören entweder der lutherischen Klasse (überregionaler Kirchenbezirk) oder einer der drei reformierten Klassen (Kirchenbezirke) an. In Lemgo gibt es heute zwei evangelisch-reformierte Kirchengemeinden und drei evangelisch-lutherische Kirchengemeinden, wobei die Mehrzahl der Bevölkerung der lutherischen Klasse angehört. Sie alle bilden eine Landeskirche mit bekenntnisverschiedenen Gemeinden. Die Lippische Landeskirche war daher auch die erste Landeskirche, die 1973 die Leuenberger Konkordie unterzeichnete, welche die Abendmahlsgemeinschaft von evangelischen Kirchen und Christen verschiedener Bekenntnisse erklärte.
Die historische Altstadt von Lemgo versammelt einen wahren Schatz an Renaissancegebäuden aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, von denen viele mit Hausinschriften geziert sind. Oft sind es Bibelverse oder Sprüche, die von der evangelischen Überzeugung der Erbauer geprägt sind. Für das Jubiläumsjahr 2017 plant die Stadt Lemgo eine Publikation und eine Ausstellung, die das Reformationsjubiläum (1517) mit dem 400. Jubiläum des „“Röhrentruper Rezesses“ (1617) in Beziehung setzt.

Als Bürgermeister freue ich mich sehr, dass die Alte Hansestadt Lemgo als Europäische Reformationsstadt wahrgenommen wird. Dieser Titel nimmt Bezug auf die Geschichte unserer Stadt, die ganz maßgeblich durch die Reformation geprägt wurde. Gleichzeitig stellt er einen europäischen Zusammenhang her. Das ist für eine europaaktive Kommune wie Lemgo von besonderer Bedeutung. Dr. Reiner Austermann

Bürgermeister, Lemgo

Lemgo ist schon bald nach 1517 zur lutherischen Reformation übergegangen und hat am lutherischen Glauben festgehalten. Dafür waren Netzwerke hilfreich, einst die Hanse, heute zum Beispiel der Lutherische Weltbund. Diese Netzwerke erinnern die Menschen daran, dass Gemeinde mehr ist als das, was sich vor Ort versammelt. Der Titel der ‚Europäischen Reformationsstadt‘ bringt dieses Eingebundensein in ein großes Ganzes bestens zum Ausdruck. Andreas Lange

Lutherischer Superintendent

Links

Stadt Lemgo http://www.lemgo.net/
Tourismusbüro Lemgo http://www.lemgo-marketing.de
Lippische Landeskirche http://www.lippische-landeskirche.de/index.html
Lippe Lutherisch www.lippe-lutherisch.de
Stadtkonvent der Kirchen in Lemgo www.lemgo-evangelisch.de