Select Page

Reformation City Ljubljana

Slovenia

Ljubljana

Slovenian Luther

Ljubljana is the capital city of the Republic of Slovenia and, also being its largest, the country’s political, economic and cultural centre. There is evidence of dioceses in this former Roman province as far back as the 3rd century. Following renewed systematic missionary efforts during the 8th century, Ljubljana’s churches joined the Aquileia Patriarchy. The Ljubljana diocese was founded in 1461.
Politically, Ljubljana was the capital city of the Duchy of Carniola under Habsburg rule from 1335 until 1908. In the late Middle Ages and early modern era, its citizens mainly spoke German.
Reformation preaching commenced in Ljubljana no later than 1523. The imperial guilds of Carniola helped the Reformation movement to spread. They took it upon themselves to revise church structures and founded a Protestant school in the capital. Humanism was also instrumental in the development of the Reformation. However, the main protagonist was to be the Slovenian Reformer Primus Truber (1508-1586). He was a student of the humanist adherent and pro-Reformation Bishop Pietro Bonomo (1502-1546) of Trieste. After his ordination by Bonomo, Truber’s Reformist sermons, which he conducted in Slovene, caused conflict with his church. Nonetheless, he was made a canon of Ljubljana Cathedral in 1542. However, things changed after Bonomo’s death. His successor implemented the Habsburgs’ anti-Reformation stance in the diocese. In 1548, Truber fled to Nuremberg, where he explicitly committed himself to the Reformation. Then between 1553 and 1561, he steered the free imperial city of Kempten towards Lutheranism as its pastor.
He had started his life’s major work on foreign soil, in southern Germany, in 1550 – to promote the Slovenian Reformation by publishing Reformist works in the Slovenian language. He completed most of the translations into Wendish himself. These included a catechism, a Slovenian church order and the complete New Testament along with parts of the Old. He translated the Biblical scriptures based on the Lutheran Bible. In 1561, he oversaw the team in the Württemberg town of Urach – which included his compatriot Hans Ungnad – that founded the “Ungnad-Trubersche Bibelwerk”, a printing centre dedicated to producing Reformation works in Slovene, Croatian and Italian. By publishing Biblical and catechetical texts in Slovene, Truber was in fact instrumental in developing a written Slovenian language, which had previously not existed as such.
In 1562, he returned to Ljubljana as a superintendent with the aim of establishing a Slovenian Church, but he was forced to leave again just three years later after the new ruler, Archduke Karl, banned him from preaching. He found refuge in the Lutheran Duchy of Württemberg. From 1567 until his death, he was the pastor of Derendingen near Tübingen. During this time, he continued his lifework of translating and publishing Slovenian works in the Urach printing house.
Truber’s Reformation in Slovenia was brought to an end by the successful imposition of the Counter-Reformation during the first third of the 17th century. This process closed the Ministry for Churches and Schools in Ljubljana, expelled Protestant preachers, established a religious reformation commission and banished any noblemen who refused to convert. From that point on, Protestant Christians lived their faith as “clandestine Protestants”. New congregations were formed following the Patent of Toleration issued by Joseph II in 1781; in Ljubljana during the mid-19th century. The independent Slovenian Church A.C. (Augsburg Confession) was founded in 1945. It asserts its status in this predominantly Catholic country as a small but committed minority church.
Truber, who had fallen into obscurity for a long time, is now celebrated in Slovenia as the creator of written Slovenian. His face can be found on the country’s one-euro coin. Reformation Day on 31st October is a national holiday.

Zoran Janković

Mayor, Ljubljana

Links

City of Ljubljana: www.ljubljana.si/en/
Tourist Office: www.visitljubljana.com
Protestant Church A.C. in Slovenia: www.evang-cerkev.si

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Ljubljana

Slowenien

Ljubljana

Slowenischer Luther

Ljubljana ist die Hauptstadt der Republik Slowenien und als größte Stadt das politische, wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Zentrum des Landes. Bereits im 3. Jahrhundert sind Bischofssitze in der damaligen römischen Provinz belegt. Nach erneuter systematischer Missionierung im 8. Jahrhundert kam Ljubljana kirchlich zum Patriarchat Aquileia. 1461 wurde das Bistum Ljubljana gegründet.
Politisch stand Ljubljana, zu Deutsch Laibach, von 1335-1908 als Hauptstadt des Herzogtum Krain unter Habsburger Herrschaft. Das Bürgertum in der Stadt war im Spätmittelalter und der Frühen Neuzeit weitgehend deutschsprachig.
Spätestens ab 1523 gab es eine reformatorische Predigt in Ljubljana. Die Ausbreitung der reformatorischen Bewegung wurde durch die Krainer Landstände gefördert. Sie nahmen die Neuordnung der kirchlichen Verhältnisse in die Hand und gründeten eine evangelische Schule in der Hauptstadt. Für die Entwicklung der Reformation spielte auch der Humanismus eine Schlüsselrolle. Zum führenden Akteur sollte jedoch der slowenische Reformator Primus Truber (1508-1586) werden. Er war Schüler des humanistisch gesinnten und der Reformation zugewandten Triester Bischofs Pietro Bonomo (1502-1546). Von Bonomo 1530 zum Priester geweiht, geriet Truber wegen seiner reformatorischen Predigten, die er auf slowenisch hielt, zunehmend in Konflikt mit seiner Kirche. Gleichwohl wurde er 1542 zum Kanonikus an den Dom in Ljubljana berufen. Durch den Tod Bonomos änderte sich jedoch die Lage. Sein Nachfolger setzte im Bistum den antireformatorischen Kurs der Habsburger durch. Truber flüchtete 1548 nach Nürnberg und bekannte sich nun ausdrücklich zur Reformation. Danach, als er von 1553 bis 1561 Stadtpfarrer in der Reichsstadt Kempten war, setzte er die Ausrichtung der Stadt auf das Luthertum durch.
Außerhalb seiner Heimat in Süddeutschland widmete er sich seit 1550 seinem Lebenswerk: Die Förderung der slowenischen Reformation durch Veröffentlichungen reformatorischer Schriften in slowenischer Sprache. Die nationalsprachlichen Übersetzungen in die sogenannte „windische“ Sprache besorgte er weitgehend selbst. Dazu gehörten ein Katechismus, eine slowenische Kirchenordnung und eine Gesamtausgabe des Neuen Testaments und Teile des Alten Testaments. Die biblischen Schriften übertrug er auf Grundlage der Lutherbibel. 1561 entstand unter seiner Leitung und Mitarbeit anderer im württembergischen Urach das „Ungnad-Trubersche Bibelwerk“, ein Druckzentrum zur Produktion reformatorischer Schriften in slowenischer, kroatischer und italienischer Sprache, das er zusammen mit seinem Landsmann Hans Ungnad gegründet hatte. Mit seinen Veröffentlichungen biblischer und katechetischer Texte in der slowenischen Sprache begründete Truber überhaupt auch die Entstehung einer slowenischen Schriftsprache, die es vorher so noch nicht gegeben hat.
1562 kehrte er nach Laibach zurück, um als Superintendent eine slowenische Kirche aufzubauen, doch musst er schon drei Jahre später, nachdem er vom neuen Landesherrn Erzherzog Karl mit Predigtverbot belegt war, das Land wieder verlassen. Aufnahme fand er im lutherischen Herzogtum Württemberg. Von 1567 bis zu seinem Tode war er Pfarrer in Derendingen bei Tübingen. Während dieser Zeit arbeitete mit der Übersetzung und Veröffentlichung slowenischer Schriften in der Uracher Druckerei weiter an seinem Lebenswerk.
Die Reformation Trubers endete in Slowenien mit der erfolgreichen Durchsetzung der Gegenreformation im ersten Drittel des 17. Jahrhunderts. Ihre Maßnahmen waren: Die Schließung des Kirchen- und Schulministeriums in Ljubljana, die Ausweisung evangelischer Prediger, die Einrichtung einer Religions-Reformationskommission und der Landesverweis für den konversionsunwilligen Adel. Von da an lebten evangelische Christen als „Geheimprotestanten“. Neue Gemeindegründungen gab es nach dem Josephinischen Toleranzpatent von 1783, in Ljubljana Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Die eigenständige Slowenische Kirche A.B. (Augsburger Bekenntnisses) gibt es seit 1945. Sie behauptet in dem mehrheitlich katholischen Land ihre Stellung als kleine, aber engagierte Minderheitenkirche.
Truber, der lange in Vergessenheit geraten war, wird heute in Slowenien als Schöpfer der slowenischen Schriftsprache in Ehren gehalten. Sein Bildnis ziert die 1-Euro-Münze. Der Reformationstag, der 31. Oktober, ist ein nationaler Feiertag.

Zoran Jankovic

Bürgermeister, Ljubljana

Links

Stadt Ljubljana: www.ljubljana.si
Tourismus: www.visitljubljana.com
Evangelische Kirche A.B. in Slowenien: www.evang-cerkev.si