Select Page

City of Reformation Lyon

France

Lyon

Valdes and Viret

Lyon lies in south-eastern France and is the country’s third-largest city after Paris and Marseilles. The attractive historic quarter and part of the Lyon Peninsula are UNESCO world heritage sites.
This city on the banks of the Rhône boasts a long history of Christianity. It was here, during the second century A.D., that the first Christian community was founded in Gaul in relation to the early Church Father Irenaeus from Smyrna. During the Middle Ages, Lyon was not a major economic or political centre. However, during the 11th century, its importance as an archdiocese stretched beyond its own region once the Archbishop had been appointed the Primate of Gaul. The Archbishop of Lyon has maintained this predominant status as the head of the Catholic Church of France ever since.
The Waldensians – followers of the wealthy citizen Valdes de Lyon (also known in English as Peter Waldo, who is thought to have died some time between 1205/18) – made their first appearance in the city during the 12th century. This group is classed as “forerunners” in the Protestant depiction of the history of the Reformation. Nowadays, very little is known for sure about Valdes. But this much is clear: This rich man from Lyon appears to have been inspired to convert and lead his life according to the Apostles by a vernacular translation of their works. After covering his wife’s and two daughters’ needs, he distributed his wealth amongst the poor and started preaching in the city’s streets and squares. At the Third Lateran Council in Lyon in 1179, he is said to have applied for an official preaching licence to no avail. Irrespective of this, Valdes quickly attracted followers and went on to found a major piety movement – the Waldensians, although they were swiftly excommunicated after their formation, in 1184. Valdes had been expelled from Lyon three years earlier. It is not known where he went, nor when he died.
Despite repeated persecution throughout the centuries, the Waldensian movement that bore his name developed into a church. During the 16th century, the Waldensians, who lived mainly in the Duchies of Savoy and Piedmont, affiliated themselves with the Swiss Reformation. The Waldensian Church also calls itself a “pre-Reformation church” because of its early history. Other than the diaspora church with some 25,000 members in Italy, nowadays the rest of its members live mainly in Uruguay and Argentina.
After 1183, however, no more Waldensians were to be found any more in Lyon. At the end of the 15th century, the city experienced an economic boom thanks to the silk industry. Branches of renowned printing houses also made Lyon an important European hub of this activity. In the mid-16th century, Lyon had more than 50,000 inhabitants, making it one of the most prominent cities of the Holy Roman Empire.
The local book printing ensured the spread of Humanist thought throughout the city, and then, as early as the beginning of the 1520s, of Luther’s writings as well. It also seems more than likely that the circles of reform-minded Humanists who placed store in the Bible had something to do with the general shift in favour of the Reformation. However, anyone publicly promoting the Reformation still easily risked being accused of heresy. Five students who had studied in Lausanne and returned to their native city to preach were burned at the stake for their cause. Other adherents of Reformist thought fled into exile.
Despite this, Protestantism kept on growing in Lyon. Initially, a small group started meeting in secret, mostly at night. Others started to join them during the 1550s. Soon, organised congregations started to form. Some of the key impetus for this stemmed from John Calvin in Geneva. In 1560, Reformed services of worship were permitted in public. During the first religious war, the Huguenots, as the French Reformers came to be called from 1560 on and then particularly while they suffered persecution, took military control of the city in 1562. As a result, and with the aid of Swiss Reformer Pierre Viret, public and church life were organised according to the model of the city state of Geneva. The first Reformed church building, the “Le Paradis” temple, was erected in 1564, only to be destroyed three years later upon the outbreak of the second religious war.
However, Lyon did not remain under control of the Reformers for very long during the religious wars that saw the Huguenots and the Catholics battle for power within France. The two confessions’ coexistence was fragile and the Huguenots could no longer maintain their political power. Once “Le Paradis” had been torn down, Reformed worship was no longer permitted in the city. Lyon fell under lasting control by the Catholics. The St. Bartholomew’s Day massacre in 1572, when thousands of Huguenots in Paris were sought out during the night and killed in cold-blood, prompted similar mass killings in Lyon as well.
Nowadays, the United Protestant Church of Lyon (Eglise protestante unie à Lyon) has one of the largest congregations in the Protestant Church throughout France. It was created when the Protestant-Lutheran Union of France and the Reformed Church of France joined forces at Pentecost in 2013.

Gérard Collomb

Mayor , Lyon

Links

City of Lyon: www.lyon.fr
Tourist Office: www.en.lyon-france.com
Eglise protestante unie à Lyon (in French only): www.protestants-lyon.org

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Lyon

Frankreich

Lyon

Valdes und Viret

Lyon liegt im Südosten Frankreichs und ist nach Paris und Marseille die drittgrößte Stadt des Landes. Die sehenswerte Altstadt und ein Teil der Halbinsel Lyon gehören zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.
Die Rhônestadt kann auf eine lange christliche Geschichte zurückblicken. Hier entstand im zweiten Jahrhundert die erste christliche Gemeinde Galliens, deren Gründung mit dem aus Smyrna stammenden Kirchenvater Irenäus verbunden ist. Im Mittelalter war die Stadt zwar wirtschaftlich und politisch eher unbedeutend. Als Erzbistum jedoch erlangte sie im 11. Jahrhundert eine überregionale Bedeutung, nachdem der Erzbischof zum Primas Galliens ernannt worden war. Diese führende Stellung als Primas der katholischen Kirche von Frankreich hat der Erzbischof von Lyon noch heute inne.
Im 12. Jahrhundert traten in der Stadt die Waldenser, die Anhänger des wohlhabenden Bürgers Valdes von Lyon (gestorben ca. 1205/18), ins Licht der Geschichte. Sie zählen in der protestantischen Deutungsgeschichte der Reformation zu ihren „Vorläufern“. Über Valdes ist nur wenig Sicheres überliefert. Nur so viel weiß man: Der reiche Mann aus Lyon scheint durch eine volkssprachliche Übersetzung der Evangelien zu einem Leben in der Nachfolge der Apostel bekehrt worden zu sein. Nach Versorgung seiner Frau und seiner beiden Töchter verteilte er seinen Besitz unter den Armen und begann in den Straßen und auf den Plätzen der Stadt zu predigen. Auf dem III. Laterankonzil 1179 in Lyon soll er vergeblich um offizielle Predigterlaubnis gebeten haben. Dessen ungeachtet gewann Valdes rasch Anhänger und wurde zum Begründer einer großen Frömmigkeitsbewegung: der Waldenser, die allerdings nach kurzem Bestehen bereits 1184 exkommuniziert wurde. Valdes war drei Jahre vorher aus Lyon ausgewiesen worden. Wohin er ging und auch, wann er starb, ist nicht überliefert.
Die nach ihm benannte Bewegung der Waldenser entwickelte sich trotz vieler Verfolgungen, die sie immer wieder im Laufe der Jahrhunderte erleiden musste, zu einer Kirche. Im 16. Jahrhundert schlossen sich die Waldenser, die haupsächlich in den Herzogtümern Savoyen und Piemont lebten, der Schweizer Reformation an. Die Waldenserkirche nennt sich daher selbst auch eine „vorreformatorische Kirche“. Ihre Mitglieder leben heute neben der Diasporakirche in Italien mit ca. 25.000 Mitgliedern, vorwiegend in Uruguay und Argentinien.
In Lyon allerdings gab es nach 1183 keine Waldenser mehr. Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts erlebte die Stadt durch die Seidenindustrie einen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. Die Niederlassung berühmter Drucker machte Lyon außerdem zu einem bedeutenden europäischen Zentrum des Buchdrucks. Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts lebten in der Stadt mehr als 50.000 Einwohner. Damit zählte Lyon zu den großen Metropolen im Heiligen Römischen Reich.
Der Buchdruck sorgte für die Verbreitung humanistischen Gedankenguts in der Stadt und trug dann auch bereits seit Anfang der 1520er Jahre zur Weitergabe der Schriften Luthers bei. Dabei ist anzunehmen, dass eine Verbindung zwischen einer Hinwendung zur Reformation und den Kreisen reformgesinnter, an der Bibel orientierter Humanisten bestand. Da man leicht der Ketzerei bezichtigt werden konnte, waren öffentliche reformatorische Aktionen jedoch riskant. Fünf Studenten, die in Lausanne studiert hatten, und als Prediger in ihre Heimatstadt zurückkehrten, erlitten den Feuertod als Ketzer. Andere Parteigänger reformatorischer Überzeugungen flohen ins Exil.
Trotzdem wuchs der Protestantismus in Lyon nach und nach heran. Zunächst war es eine kleine Gruppe, die sich heimlich, meist zu nächtlicher Stunde versammelte. In den 1550er Jahren kamen andere hinzu. Bald entstanden organisierte Gemeinden. Wichtige Impulse erhielten sie aus Genf von Johannes Calvin. 1560 wurden öffentliche reformierte Gottesdienste zugelassen. Im ersten Religionskrieg 1562 nahmen die Hugenotten, wie die französischen Reformierten seit 1560 und dann besonders in der Zeit der Verfolgung genannt wurden, die Stadt militärisch ein. In der Folge wurde mit Unterstützung des Schweizerischen Reformators Pierre Viret das öffentliche und kirchliche Leben nach dem Modell des Stadtstaates Genf organisiert. 1564 wurde der Temple „Le Paradis“ (Paradieskirche) erbaut, der erste reformierte Kirchenbau, der drei Jahre später zu Beginn des zweiten Religionskrieges zerstört wurde.
Im Zuge der Religionskriege, in denen die Hugenotten und die Katholiken um die Vormachtstellung in Frankreich rangen, war die reformierte Herrschaft in Lyon jedoch nicht von Dauer. Die Koexistenz beider Konfessionen war brüchig. Die politische Partei der Hugenotten konnte ihre Stellung nicht länger behaupten. Nach Abriss des Temple de Paradis wurde der reformierte Gottesdienst in der Stadt verboten. Die Stadt geriet auf Dauer unter katholische Kontrolle. Nach der sogenannten Bartholomäusnacht 1572, in der in Paris tausende Hugenotten systematisch und kaltblütig ermordet wurden, kam es auch in Lyon zu Folgemassakern.
Die Eglise protestante unie à Lyon zählt heute zu den größeren Gemeinden in der evangelischen Kirche in Frankreich. Diese Eglise protestante unie de France ist Pfingsten 2013 aus der Union der Eglise Evangélique-Luthérienne de France (Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche Frankreichs) und der Eglise Réformée de France (Reformierte Kirche Frankreichs) entstanden.

Gérard Collomb

maire, Lyon

Links

Stadt Lyon: www.lyon.fr
Tourismus: www.de.lyon-france.com
Eglise protestante unie à Lyon: www.protestants-lyon.org