Select Page

City of Reformation Nantes

France

Nantes

The Edict city that formed the exception

The history of this French city at the mouth of the Loire reaches back to Roman times. Christianity took hold there in the third century. During the Middle Ages, Nantes became the capital of the Duchy of Bretagne. Its historic heart boasts the city’s late-Gothic Saint-Pierre Cathedral.
The city is also inextricably linked with the historic Edict of Nantes, issued in 1598. This signalled an end to the religious wars that blighted France during the second half of the 16th century and granted Protestants fundamental rights, at least temporarily – other than in Nantes itself.
Reform-minded congregations had started to form in France as early as the 1520s and 30s. A Reformist movement also emerged in Nantes during the early 1530s. To start with, although the congregations were repeatedly persecuted, at times they were also briefly tolerated. However, the persecution became more acute after the 1540s. Despite this, Protestantism was still able to spread, mainly under the influence of John Calvin. In 1555, a Reformed Church was established in Paris, and within five years of this more than 70 Protestant congregations sprang up throughout France.
The Reformation, which was initially furthered by craftsmen and merchants, increasingly permeated the lower and higher-ranking nobility. In 1559, the first national synod of this group known as the “Huguenots” decided to adopt the Calvinist confession.
There was also a congregation in Nantes around 1560, which employed a Genevan pastor called Antoine Bachelard. The following year, a disturbance in the cathedral forced several hundred Huguenots to flee to the nearby city of Blain.
Between 1562 and 1598, a series of eight civil wars were fought in France, as the Huguenots, who had also become a strong military force, battled the Catholics for power. In 1570, four protection zones were negotiated that stood under Huguenot power. However, this did not stop a bloodbath from being perpetrated against them on 24 August 1582, which came to be known as the St. Bartholomew’s Day massacre. Several tens of thousands of Protestants, including almost all of their leaders, were killed in the series of massacres that took place in France. However, in contrast to elsewhere, the Huguenots in Nantes clearly were not attacked in this way. Towards the end of the 16th century, the city then fell entirely under Catholic rule by the Governor of Bretagne, Phillippe Emmanuelle de Mercœr, which eradicated any traces of Protestantism there during this era.
It was only Huguenot Henri IV’s accession to the throne that brought the religious wars to an end. The Edict of Nantes that he issued on 13 April 1598 laid the foundation for religious political peace in the country, which had suffered under inter-confessional hatred and bloody hostilities for decades. The Edict granted the Huguenots general toleration and freedom of conscience and allowed them to conduct Reformed worship in public at specified venues, construct houses of worship (known as “temples”) and organise their own cemeteries. It guaranteed civil rights and legal protection and, finally, also the right to open schools and academies.
However, the Edict did not apply to the city of Nantes, ruled as it was by Catholic nobility. Followers of the Reformed faith were not tolerated there, and instead continued to be subjected to violent hate campaigns.
For some decades, the Edict of Nantes kept the peace in other parts of the land until armed conflict between the confessions broke out again in the 1620s. The systematic oppression of Protestantism finally came to a head with the Edict of Fontainebleau in 1685, with which King Ludwig XIV of France revoked the Edict of Nantes and drove a large number of Protestants into exile. The Huguenots living in France would have to wait until 1789 for renewed religious freedom and civil rights. The Protestant inhabitants of Nantes were able to worship publicly again starting in 1805.
In the quincentenary year of the Reformation, Nantes’ city authorities, Protestant and Catholic churches, university and museums have joined forces to form the “Culture Evénements Patrimonial Protestants in Loire-Atlantique” (CEPP-LA) to organise events in celebration of the city’s Protestant heritage.

Johanna Rolland

Mayor, Nantes

Links

City of Nantes: en.nantes.fr/home.html
Tourist Office: www.nantes-tourisme.com/en
Eglise protestante unie de Loire-Atlantique (in French only): eglise-reformee-loire-atlantique.org
United Protestant Church of France (in French only): www.eglise-protestante-unie.fr

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Nantes

Frankreich

Nantes

Stadt des Edikts und ohne Toleranz

Die französische Stadt an der Mündung der Loire blickt auf eine bis in die Römerzeit reichende Geschichte zurück. Die Christianisierung erfolgte im 3. Jahrhundert. Im Mittelalter wurde die Nantes zur Hauptstadt des Herzogtums der Bretagne. Sehenswert in der Altstadt ist die Kathedrale spätgotischen Stils Saint-Pierre.
Untrennbar mit der Stadt verbunden ist die geschichtliche Erinnerung an das Toleranzedikt von Nantes aus dem Jahr 1598. Das Edikt setzte einen Schlusspunkt hinter die Religionskriege in Frankreich in der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts und gewährte den Protestanten zumindest vorübergehend elementare Grundrechte – mit Ausnahme in Nantes.
Bereits seit den 1520er und 30er Jahren hatten sich in Frankreich reformatorisch gesinnte Gemeinden gebildet. Auch in Nantes gab es Anfang der 1530er Jahre eine reformatorische Bewegung. Verfolgung und phasenweise Duldung dieser Gemeinden wechselten einander ab. Seit den 40er Jahren erfuhren die Verfolgungen jedoch Verschärfungen. Dennoch hatte sich der Protestantismus, vor allem unter dem Einfluss Johannes Calvins kontinuierlich ausbreiten können. 1555 entstand eine reformierte Kirche in Paris, fünf Jahre danach hatten sich mehr als 70 protestantische Gemeinden in Frankreich entwickelt.
Die Reformation, die zu Anfang von Handwerkern und Kaufleuten getragen war, wandte sich mehr und mehr dem Adel und schließlich auch dem Hochadel zu. 1559 entschied sich die erste Nationalsynode dieser auch offiziell „Hugenotten“ genannten Gruppe für ein von Calvin beeinflusstes Glaubensbekenntnis.
Um 1560 gab es auch eine Gemeinde in Nantes, in der Antoine Bachelard, ein Pfarrer aus Genf angestellt war. Im Jahr darauf kam es zu einem Aufruhr in der Kathedrale. Mehrere hundert Hugenotten wurden daraufhin zur Flucht in die nahegelegene Stadt Blain gezwungen.
In den Jahren zwischen 1562 und 1598 kam es in Frankreich zu einer Reihe von acht Bürgerkriegen, in denen die Hugenotten, die zu einer auch militärisch starken politischen Partei geworden waren, und die Katholiken um die Vormachtstellung in Frankreich kämpften. 1570 konnten von den Hugenotten vier Schutzzonen, die unter ihrer Kontrolle standen, ausgehandelt werden. Dann jedoch folgte das Blutbad an den Hugenotten in der sogenannten „Bartholmäusnacht“ am 24. August 1582. Mehrere zehntausend Protestanten, darunter fast die gesamte Führungsschicht, wurden damals Opfer von Massakern, die in Frankreich stattfanden. Offenbar waren die Hugenotten in Nantes im Unterschied zu anderen Städten in der Bretagne jedoch nicht davon betroffen. Danach gegen Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts geriet die Stadt unter der Herrschaft des Gouverneurs der Bretagne Phillippe Emmanuelle de Mercœr ganz unter katholischer Kontrolle mit der Folge, dass sich die Spur des Protestantismus während dieser Zeit in der Stadt verliert.
Erst mit der Thronbesteigung des Hugenotten Heinrich IV. fanden die Religionskriege ein Ende. Er legte mit dem am 13. April 1598 erlassenen Edikt von Nantes die Grundlage für einen religionspolitischen Frieden in dem Land, das jahrzehntelang von konfessionellem Hass und blutiger Feindschaft aufgerieben war. Das Edikt gewährte den Hugenotten allgemeine Duldung und Gewissensfreiheit, die Zulassung eines öffentlichen reformierten Gottesdienstes an festgelegten Orten, die Erlaubnis zum Bau von Gotteshäusern („temples“ genannt), die Einrichtung eigener Friedhöfe. Es garantierte bürgerliche Rechte und Rechtsschutz, schließlich auch das Recht, Schulen und Akademien zu gründen.
In der vom katholischen Adel regierten Stadt Nantes fand das Edikt allerdings keine Anwendung. Hier waren die reformierten Gläubigen nicht toleriert, sondern fortgesetzt gewalttätigen Hassaktionen ausgesetzt.
Für einige Jahrzehnte sicherte das Edikt von Nantes in den übrigen Landesteilen den Frieden, bis es in den 1620er Jahren zu neuen kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den Konfessionen kam. Die systematische Zurückdrängung des Protestantismus gipfelte schließlich in dem Edikt von Fontainebleau 1685, mit dem der französische König Ludwig XIV. das Edikt von Nantes widerrief und eine große Zahl von Protestanten ins Exil trieb. Erst 1789 wurde den Hugenotten in Frankreich wieder Religionsfreiheit und zivile Rechte gewährt. Ab 1805 konnten die Protestanten in Nantes wieder ihre Gottesdienste feiern.
Zur Ausgestaltung des Reformationsjubiläums arbeiten in Nantes Partner aus Stadt, der Protestantischen und katholischen Kirche, der Universität und den Museen in der Organisation „Culture Evénements Patrimoine Protestants en Loire-Atlantique“ (CEPP-LA) zusammen.

Johanna Rolland

Bürgermeisterin, Nantes

Links

Stadt Nantes: www.nantes.fr
Tourismus: www.nantes-tourisme.com
Veranstaltungen zum Reformationsjubiläum: www.nantes-evenements-protestants.fr
Eglise protestante unie de Loire Atlantique: eglise-reformee-loire-atlantique.org
Eglise protestante unie de France: www.eglise-protestante-unie.fr