Select Page

City of the Reformation Neuchâtel

Switzerland

Neuchâtel

Neuchâtel is situated in western Switzerland, just a few kilometres from the French border. The city is the capital of the canton that bears the same name. Here, the cultures of the French and German speakers intermingle – a recurrent subject in the works of Swiss author and dramatist Friedrich Dürrenmatt, who lived in the city for almost forty years. Whatever his complaints, he clearly didn’t wish to relinquish the quality of life he enjoyed on the banks of Lake Neuchâtel.

The onset of the Reformation in Neuchâtel is closely linked with the Reformer Guillaume Farel (1489-1565). He arrived in Neuchâtel in 1530 after a long journey as a religious fugitive from France with a letter of recommendation in his pocket from the city of Bern to gain Neuchâtel for the cause of the Reformation. That is not to say that this inspirational and fiery preacher convinced everyone who heard him. While he was restricted to preaching in the small Chapelle de l’Hôpital, one of his supporters consoled him with the fact that Jesus Christ himself was born in a humble manger. His sermons quickly attracted so many listeners that he persuaded the crowd to ascend the castle mound and take the Collegiate Church. His preaching stirred the people so profoundly that they destroyed its altars, statues, images and crosses. Only the tomb of the Earl of Neuchâtel survived the iconoclasm. Within a matter of days, the city council joined the Reformation movement, although the aristocratic upper class remained Catholic until 1707.

Many Protestant religious fugitives from France settled in the vicinity of Neuchâtel and influenced the course of the Reformation in that region. Antoine Marcourt, the man who was probably behind the posters that caused the Affair of the Placards in France in 1534, was the first Protestant pastor to be appointed there, whilst Farel promoted the cause of the Reformation and summoned Calvin to his side in Geneva. Together with Pierre-Robert Olivétan, who worked as a tutor in Neuchâtel, Farel met the Waldensians in Chanforan in the Piedmont region of Italy in 1532, who had requested a French translation of the Bible. Olivétan conducted this work, and his was the first French version of the entire Bible to be printed by Pierre de Vingle in Neuchâtel in 1535. Further reprints quickly followed in Geneva and elsewhere of what to this day remains the most important French translation of the Bible. When Calvin and Farel were banished from Geneva in 1538, Marcourt was called there to replace them and Farel assumed his position in Neuchâtel. He worked to establish a church ordinance there like the one in Geneva. He also championed the cause of francophone supporters of the Reformation on his numerous journeys to Italy, France and Germany.

A statue on the esplanade in front of the Collegiate Church commemorates the work of Guillaume Farel. Many reminders of the history of the Reformation can be found in and around the Collégiale de Neuchâtel. The consequences of the iconoclasm are still visible to this day in the Collegiate Church itself, and the erstwhile lodgings of Farel and Marcourt both stand in the Rue de la Collégiale, along with the Collège du Haut the pair founded. The 1534 translation of the Bible and inflammatory placards from that same year can be viewed in the university library and the Bibliothèque des Pasteurs, which was founded in 1538. The illustrated Bible produced by Jean-Frédéric Ostervald, a subsequent pastor of Neuchâtel, is also on display.

Neuchâtel lent francophone Protestantism a new degree of cohesion as the vital nucleus of the network of Protestant exiles.

Nous sommes persuadés que l’inscription de Neuchâtel dans ce réseau de villes européennes partenaires constitue une opportunité pour mettre en exergue son patrimoine exceptionnel en lien avec la Réforme, qui a de surcroît contribué à forger son identité sociale et culturelle au cours des cinq derniers siècles.

Thomas Facchinetti

Conseiller communal, directeur de la Culture, Neuchâtel

Links

City of Neuchâtel: http://en.neuchatelville.ch/

Neuchâtel Tourist Office: http://www.neuchateltourisme.ch/en/home.html

Protestant Reformed Church of the Canton of Neuchâtel: www.eren.ch

Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches: http://www.kirchenbund.ch/en

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Neuchâtel

Schweiz

Neuchâtel

Neuchâtel (dt. Neuenburg) liegt in der Westschweiz nur wenige Kilometer von der französischen Grenze entfernt. Die Stadt ist Hauptort des gleichnamigen Kantons. Hier treffen französischsprachige und deutschsprachige Kultur aufeinander – ein Zustand, den der Dichter Friedrich Dürrenmatt, der hier fast vierzig Jahre lebte, immer wieder zum Gegenstand seines Schreibens gemacht hat. Doch die Lebensqualität der Stadt am Ufer des Neuenburger Sees wollte er wohl auch nicht missen.

Die Einführung der Reformation in Neuchâtel ist eng mit dem Namen von Guillaume Farel (1489-1565) verbunden. 1530 kam der Reformator nach langer Wanderschaft als französischer Glaubensflüchtling nach Neuchâtel, in der Tasche ein Empfehlungsschreiben der Stadt Bern um Neuchâtel für die Reformation zu gewinnen. Doch der begeisternde und hitzköpfige Prediger stieß nicht überall auf offene Ohren. Als er nur in der kleinen Chapelle de l’Hôpital predigen durfte, wurde er von einem Anhänger getröstet: Jesus Christus sei schließlich doch auch in einem Stall zur Welt gekommen. Bald zog seine Predigt so viele Menschen an, dass er die Menge dazu brachte, zum Schlosshügel hinauf zu gehen und die Stiftskirche einzunehmen. Seine Predigt brachte die Menge derart auf, dass diese die dortigen Altäre, Statuen, Bilder und Kreuze zerstörte. Lediglich das Grabmal der Grafen von Neuenburg überstand den Bildersturm unversehrt. Wenige Tage später schloss sich der Rat der Stadt der Reformation an. Die adelige Oberschicht jedoch blieb bis 1707 katholisch.

Zahlreiche evangelische Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Frankreich fanden in der Umgebung von Neuchâtel Zuflucht. Sie prägten die weitere Entwicklung der Reformation in der Region. Antoine Marcourt, der als wahrscheinlicher Autor der Flugschriften gilt, die 1534 in Frankreich die Affaire des Placards auslösten, wurde als erster evangelischer Pfarrer berufen, während Farel sich in Genf für die Belange der Reformation einsetzte und Calvin nach Genf holte. Mit Pierre-Robert Olivétan, der als Hauslehrer in Neuchâtel tätig war, traf sich Farel 1532 im piemontesischen Chanforan mit Vertretern der Waldenser, die um eine Bibelübersetzung ins Französische baten. Olivétan machte sich an die Arbeit der Übersetzung und 1535 druckte Pierre de Vingle in Neuchâtel Olivétans Übersetzung als erste französische Vollbibel. Sie wurde bald in Genf und an anderen Orten nachgedruckt und gilt bis heute als wichtigste französische Bibelübersetzung. Als Calvin und Farel 1538 aus Genf verbannt wurden, wurde Marcourt stattdessen nach Genf berufen und Farel übernahm seine Stelle in Neuchâtel. Dort bemühte er sich, eine Kirchenordnung nach Genfer Vorbild einzuführen. In zahlreichen Reisen nach Italien, Frankreich und Deutschland setzte er sich für die Belange der französischsprachigen reformierten Glaubensgeschwister ein.

Heute erinnert eine Statue auf der Esplanade vor der Stiftskirche an das Wirken Guillaume Farels. Rund um die Collégiale de Neuchâtel finden sich zahlreiche Zeugnisse der Reformationsgeschichte. In der Stiftskirche selbst sind die Folgen des Bildersturms bis heute noch sichtbar und in der Rue de la Collégiale befinden sich die Wohnhäuser von Farel und Marcourt sowie das von ihnen begründete Collège du Haut. In der Universitätsbibliothek und der 1538 gegründeten Bibliothèque des Pasteurs kann man sowohl die Bibelübersetzung von 1534 und die Placards von 1534 bewundern. Ebenfalls findet sich dort die illustrierte Bibel des späteren Pfarrers von Neuchâtel Jean-Frédéric Ostervald.

Von Neuchâtel aus gewann der französischsprachige Protestantismus neuen Zusammenhalt. Das Netzwerk der der protestantischen Exulanten hatte hier einen wichtigen Knotenpunkt.

Nous sommes persuadés que l’inscription de Neuchâtel dans ce réseau de villes européennes partenaires constitue une opportunité pour mettre en exergue son patrimoine exceptionnel en lien avec la Réforme, qui a de surcroît contribué à forger son identité sociale et culturelle au cours des cinq derniers siècles.

Thomas Facchinetti

Conseiller communal, directeur de la Culture, Stadt Neuchâtel

Links

Stadt Neuchâtel: http://de.neuchatelville.ch/

Tourismusbüro: www.neuchateltourisme.ch/de/home.html

Eglise Réformée Evangélique du Canton de Neuchâtel: www.eren.ch

Schweizerischer Evangelischer Kirchenbund: www.kirchenbund.ch