Select Page

Reformation City Pau

France

Pau

Self-assured women reshape the church

The city of Pau is set in an out-of-the-ordinary location at the foot of the Pyrenees, near to the Spanish border and one hour’s drive from the Atlantic coast. Nowadays, it is a popular tourist destination and has been designated a “City of Art and History”. Pau is the capital of the French department Pyrénées-Atlantiques and also of the province of Béarn, which was a sovereign principality until it became part of France in 1620.
The Reformation process in the Viscounty of Béarn saw the movement spread out from the cities of Pau and Orthez with the encouragement of local rulers. Reformist ideas already started to bear influence during the early 1520s with the spread of Luther’s writings. The main figurehead for Protestant reforms was Gérard Roussel (1500-1550), the court chaplain of Margaret of Angoulême (1492-1549). Margaret was the sister of King Francis I of France and the wife of Henri II d’Albret, the King of Navarre and Viscount of Béarn.
He met the young John Calvin during his protracted efforts to advance the Reformation in France, where he suffered persecution time and again. Whilst fleeing the country, he ended up at Margaret’s court. He became the Bishop of Oloron in 1536, where he gradually and carefully introduced Protestant reforms until his death in office in 1550. Margaret was a very active supporter of these reforms, which it has to be said were achieved without formally breaking away from the Catholic Church.
It was only under Jeanne d’Albret (1528-1572), the daughter of Henri II and Margaret, who came to the throne in 1555, that the decisive step was taken to implement the Reformation. For it was she who appointed the Swiss Reformer Pierre Viret to the court of Pau and gave him the task of reforming church structures in line with Reformed Protestantism. This led to the renewal of the church in Béarn during the process of the religious wars that caused turmoil in France for many decades. The crucial factor was the church order devised in La Rochelle and decreed in Pau in 1571, as it turned Béarn into a Reformed principality in line with the “ordonnances ecclésiastiques” model of the state city of Geneva. The houses of worship became “temples”, funding for pastors was secured and the Psalms were translated into a vernacular language related to Occitan. An academy of international standing was founded in Orthez.
Henri de Bourbon, born to Jeanne d’Albret in Pau castle, would later become King Henri IV of France. The most important act of his rule was to issue the Edict of Nantes in 1598, which granted Protestants the right to freely practise their religion. The following year, he issued the Edict of Fontainebleau with regard to Béarn, which forced his sister, Catherine de Bourbon, who had since taken rule there, to reintroduce Catholic rites. The Protestant principality managed to maintain its independence until 1620.
The underlying anti-Reformist tendencies in French politics eventually led to the repeal of the Edict of Nantes in 1685. From then on, Reformed religion was forbidden in France and so the Protestants in Béarn pursued their faith in secret. This clandestine church paved the way for re-establishing Protestant churches in Béarn during the 19th century.

The City of Pau, in partnership with the Reformed Church of Pau, has now been awarded the title “European City of the Reformation”. We want to use the occasion of the anniversary of the Reformation in 2017 to highlight the contribution of Protestantism, its history and heritage to Pau and our modern society.
The Centre of Protestant Studies in Béarn has already joined our endeavour. This historical association enjoys special relations with the Jeanne d’Albret d’Orthez Museum, the University of Pau and Pays de l’Adour and the Historical Society of French Protestantism.
We wish to propose a series of events, reflections and exchanges throughout 2017 that will be open to both Protestants and non-Protestants alike and to all Pau’s inhabitants and visitors. We hope to create fresh encounters with these commemorative events.

Inès Poisson

President of the Presbyteral Council of the Reformed Church of Pau, Pau

Links

City of Pau (in French only): www.pau.fr
Reformed Church of Pau (in French only): www.eglise-reformee-de-pau.org
United Protestant Church of France (click UK flag): www.eglise-protestante-unie.fr

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Pau

Frankreich

Pau

Selbstbewusste Frauen gestalten die Kirche neu

In der Nähe zu Spanien, am Fuße der Pyrenäen und eine Autostunde von der Atlantikküste entfernt, genießt die Stadt Pau eine außergewöhnliche Lage. Die Stadt ist heute eine Touristenattraktion und ausgezeichnet als „Stadt der Kunst und Geschichte“. Pau ist Sitz der Präfektur Pyrénées-Atlantique. Pau ist zugleich die Hauptstadt des Béarn, das bis zum Anschluss an Frankreich im Jahr 1620 ein souveränes Fürstentum war.
Charakteristisch für den Reformationsprozess in der Vizegrafschaft Béarn war eine über die Städte Pau und Orthez sich ausbreitende reformatorische Bewegung, die von Seiten der Landesherrschaft gefördert wurde. Bereits seit Anfang der 1520er Jahre gewannen die reformatorischen Ideen mit der Verbreitung von Schriften Luthers Einfluss. Zur Schlüsselfigur für evangelische Reformen wurde vor allem der Hofkaplan von Margareta von Angoulême (1492-1549) Gérard Roussel (1500-1550). Margareta war die Schwester von König Franz I. von Frankreich und die Ehefrau von Heinrich II. von Albret, Titularkönig von Navarra und Vizegraf von Béarn.
Roussel hatte auf einer Station seiner ausgedehnten reformatorischen Wirksamkeit in Frankreich, während derer er immer wieder auch Verfolgungen ausgesetzt war, unter anderen den jungen Johannes Calvin kennengelernt. Auf seiner Flucht gelangte er schließlich an den Hof von Margareta. Er wurde 1536 Bischof von Oloron. Das Amt hatte er bis zu seinem Tod 1550 inne. Nach und nach führte er behutsam evangelische Reformen durch. Margareta war eine engagierte Förderin dieser Reformen, die realisiert wurden, ohne jedoch den offiziellen Bruch mit der römischen Kirche zu vollziehen.
Erst Jeanne d’Albret (1528-1572), die Tochter von Heinrich II. und Margareta, die 1555 auf den Thron folgte, vollzog den entscheidenden Schritt zur Einführung der Reformation. Sie berief den Schweizer Reformator Pierre Viret an den Hof von Pau und übertrug ihm die Aufgabe einer Reform des Kirchenwesens im Sinne des reformierten Protestantismus. So wurde die Erneuerung der Kirche im Béarn im Prozess der Religionskriege, die Frankreich über Jahrzehnte hin erschütterten, durchgeführt. Der entscheidende Schritt dazu war die in La Rochelle konzipierte und 1571 in Pau erlassene Kirchenordnung. Sie machte das Béarn zu einem reformierten Fürstentum nach dem Modell der »Ordonnances ecclésiastiques« des Stadtstaates Genf. Die Gotteshäuser wurden zu »temples«, die Finanzierung der Pfarrer wurde sichergestellt und eine Übersetzung der Psalmen in einer dem Okzitanischen verwandten Volkssprache entstand. Eine Akademie internationalen Formats wurde in Orthez geründet
Im Schloss von Pau wurde Heinrich von Bourbon, ein Sohn Jeanne d’Albrets, geboren, der später als König Heinrich IV. den französischen Thron bestieg. Die bedeutendste Aktion in seiner Regierungszeit war 1598 das Edikt von Nantes, das den Protestanten freie Religionsausübung sicherte. Im Jahr darauf erließ er für das Béarn das Edikt von Fontainebleau, das seiner Schwester Catherine von Bourbon, die unterdessen im Béarn die Herrschaft angetreten hatte, die Wiedereinführung des katholischen Kultus auferlegte. Bis 1620 konnte das protestantische Fürstentum seine Unabhängigkeit noch behaupten.
Die antireformatorische Grundtendenz der französischen Politik führte schließlich 1685 zur Widerrufung des Edikts von Nantes. Fortan war die Ausübung der reformierten Religion in Frankreich verboten. Im Béarn lebten die Protestanten ihren Glauben im Verborgenen. Diese Kirche im Untergrund bildete die Basis für die Wiederherstellung der protestantischen Kirchen im Béarn im Laufe des 19. Jahrhunderts.

La Ville de Pau, en partenariat avec l’Eglise réformée de Pau vient d’obtenir le label « Cité européenne de la Réforme ». Nous souhaitons saisir l’occasion du jubilé de la Réforme en 2017 pour mettre en valeur l’apport du protestantisme, son histoire, son patrimoine à Pau et dans la société d’aujourd’hui.
D’ores et déjà, le Centre d’Etudes du Protestantisme Béarnais s’est associé à notre démarche. Cette association historique entretient des relations privilégiées avec le Musée Jeanne d’Albret d’Orthez, l’Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour et la Société de l’Histoire du Protestantisme Français.
Nous souhaitons proposer une dynamique de manifestations, réflexions et d’échanges tout au long de l’année 2017, dans un cadre largement ouvert à tous, protestants ou non-protestants, palois ou non palois. Nous espérons faire de cette commémoration l’occasion de rencontres nouvelles.

Ines Poisson

Présidente du conseil presbytéral, Eglise réformée de Pau

Links

Stadt Pau: www.pau.fr
Eglise réformée de Pau : www.eglise-reformee-de-pau.org
Eglise protestante unie de France: www.eglise-protestante-unie.fr