Select Page

Reformation City Puconci

Slovenia

Puconci

The public exception to clandestine Protestantism

Puconci is a town and municipality in the hilly, history-laden region of Prekmurje at the furthest north-eastern tip of the Republic of Slovenia, bordering Austria and Hungary. Prekmurje takes its name from the Mur river. During the Middle Ages, it belonged to the Kingdom of Hungary. In the 16th century, it was passed to Austria during the Turkish Wars as part of Royal Hungary. From 1580 until 1732, it remained under Hungarian administration. A Hungarian minority still forms part of its population to this day.
The Reformer Primus Truber (1508-1586) played a key role in the Reformation in Slovenia. He was a student of the humanist adherent and pro-Reformation Bishop Pietro Bonomo (1502-1546) of Trieste. After his ordination by Bonomo, Truber’s Reformist sermons, which he conducted in Slovene, caused conflict with his church. Nonetheless, he was made a canon of Ljubljana Cathedral in 1542. However, things changed after Bonomo’s death. His successor implemented the Habsburgs’ anti-Reformation stance in the diocese. In 1548, Truber fled to Nuremberg, where he explicitly committed himself to the Reformation. Then between 1553 and 1561, he steered the free imperial city of Kempten towards Lutheranism as its pastor.
He had started his life’s major work on foreign soil, in southern Germany, in 1550 – to promote the Slovenian Reformation by publishing Reformist works in the Slovenian language. He completed most of the translations into Wendish himself. These included a catechism, a Slovenian church order and the complete New Testament along with parts of the Old. He translated the Biblical scriptures based on the Lutheran Bible. In 1561, he oversaw the team in the Württemberg town of Urach – which included his compatriot Hans Ungnad – that founded the “Ungnad-Trubersche Bibelwerk”, a printing centre dedicated to producing Reformation works in Slovene, Croatian and Italian. By publishing Biblical and catechetical texts in Slovene, Truber was in fact instrumental in developing a written Slovenian language, which had previously not existed as such.
In 1562, he returned to Ljubljana as a superintendent with the aim of establishing a Slovenian Church, but he was forced to leave again just three years later after the new ruler, Archduke Karl, banned him from preaching. He found refuge in the Lutheran Duchy of Württemberg. From 1567 until his death, he was the pastor of Derendingen near Tübingen. During this time, he continued his lifework of translating and publishing Slovenian works in the Urach printing house.
Truber’s Reformation in Slovenia was brought to an end by the successful imposition of the Counter-Reformation during the first third of the 17th century. This process closed the Ministry for Churches and Schools in Ljubljana, expelled Protestant preachers, established a religious reformation commission and banished any noblemen who refused to convert. From that point on, Protestant Christians lived their faith as “clandestine Protestants”.
Only in Prekmurje, of which Puconci is part, were there Protestant congregations – thirteen in all – under Hungarian administration. As a result, Puconci can look back over a long Protestant tradition. More than a few Lutheran pastors in Puconci followed Truber’s example as a writer and published catechetical works in Slovenia’s vernacular language. Following the Patent of Toleration issued by Joseph II in 1781, the first Lutheran church in Prekmurje was erected in the centre of Puconci. Puconci is one of the few Slovenian municipalities that is predominantly Lutheran.

Ludvik Novak

Mayor, Puconci

Links

Municipality and town of Puconci: www.puconci.si
Protestant Church A.C. in Slovenia: www.evang-cerkev.si

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Puconci

Slowenien

Puconci

Die Öffentlichen unter den Geheimprotestanten

Puconci ist eine Gemeinde und Ortschaft in der historischen Region Prekmurje im äußersten Nordosten der Republik Slowenien. Der Landesteil Prekmurje ist nach dem Fluss Mur benannt. Die Region ist ein Hügelland und grenzt an Österreich und Ungarn an. Das Gebiet war im Mittelalter Teil des Königreichs Ungarn gewesen. In den Türkenkriegen im 16. Jahrhundert kam es als Königliches Ungarn zu Österreich. Von 1580-1732 stand es unter ungarischer Verwaltung. Zur Bevölkerung zählt auch heute eine ungarische Minderheit.
Eine zentrale Rolle für die Reformation in Slowenien nahm der Reformator Primus Truber (1508-1586) ein. Er war Schüler des humanistisch gesinnten und der Reformation zugewandten Triester Bischofs Pietro Bonomo (1502-1546). Von Bonomo 1530 zum Priester geweiht, geriet Truber wegen seiner reformatorischen Predigten, die er auf slowenisch hielt, zunehmend in Konflikt mit seiner Kirche. Gleichwohl wurde er 1542 zum Kanonikus an den Dom in Ljubljana berufen. Durch den Tod Bonomos änderte sich jedoch die Lage. Sein Nachfolger setzte im Bistum den antireformatorischen Kurs der Habsburger durch. Truber flüchtete 1548 nach Nürnberg und bekannte sich nun ausdrücklich zur Reformation. Danach, als er von 1553 bis 1561 Stadtpfarrer in der Reichsstadt Kempten war, setzte er die Ausrichtung der Stadt auf das Luthertum durch.
Außerhalb seiner Heimat in Süddeutschland widmete er sich seit 1550 seinem Lebenswerk: Die Förderung der slowenischen Reformation durch Veröffentlichungen reformatorischer Schriften in slowenischer Sprache. Die nationalsprachlichen Übersetzungen in die sogenannte „windische“ Sprache besorgte er weitgehend selbst. Dazu gehörten ein Katechismus, eine slowenische Kirchenordnung und eine Gesamtausgabe des Neuen Testaments und Teile des Alten Testaments. Die biblischen Schriften übertrug er auf Grundlage der Lutherbibel. 1561 entstand unter seiner Leitung und Mitarbeit anderer im württembergischen Urach das „Ungnad-Trubersche Bibelwerk“, ein Druckzentrum zur Produktion reformatorischer Schriften in slowenischer, kroatischer und italienischer Sprache, das er zusammen mit seinem Landsmann Hans Ungnad gegründet hatte. Mit seinen Veröffentlichungen biblischer und katechetischer Texte in der slowenischen Sprache begründete Truber überhaupt auch die Entstehung einer slowenischen Schriftsprache, die es vorher so noch nicht gegeben hat.
1562 kehrte er nach Laibach zurück, um als Superintendent eine slowenische Kirche aufzubauen, doch musst er schon drei Jahre später, nachdem er vom neuen Landesherrn Erzherzog Karl mit Predigtverbot belegt war, das Land wieder verlassen. Aufnahme fand er im lutherischen Herzogtum Württemberg. Von 1567 bis zu seinem Tode war er Pfarrer in Derendingen bei Tübingen. Während dieser Zeit arbeitete mit der Übersetzung und Veröffentlichung slowenischer Schriften in der Uracher Druckerei weiter an seinem Lebenswerk.
Die Reformation Trubers endete in Slowenien mit der erfolgreichen Durchsetzung der Gegenreformation im ersten Drittel des 17. Jahrhunderts. Ihre Maßnahmen waren: Die Schließung des Kirchen- und Schulministeriums in Ljubljana, die Ausweisung evangelischer Prediger, die Einrichtung einer Religions-Reformationskommission und der Landesverweis für den konversionsunwilligen Adel. Von da an lebten evangelische Christen als „Geheimprotestanten“.
Lediglich im Prekmurje, zu der der Ort Puconci zählt, gab es unter der ungarischen Verwaltung 13 evangelische Gemeinden. Puconci kann darum auf eine lange evangelische Tradition zurückblicken. Nicht wenige lutherische Pfarrer in Puconci betätigten sich nach dem Vorbild Trubers als Schriftsteller und veröffentlichten katechetische Schriften in der slowenischen Volkssprache. Nach dem Josephinischen Toleranzpatent von 1781 wurde im Zentrum Puconcis die erste lutherische Kirche in der Region Prekmurje erbaut. Als eine der wenigen Gemeinden in Slowenien verzeichnet Puconci heute eine lutherische Mehrheit.

Links

Kommune und Ortschaft Puconci: www.puconci.si
Evangelische Kirche A.B. in Slowenien: www.evang-cerkev.si