Select Page

Reformation City Rasica

Slovenia

Rasica

Truber’s home village

Rašica is a small village to the north of the municipality of Velike Lašče in central Slovakia. There is evidence of dioceses from as far back as the 3rd century in this former Roman province. Following renewed systematic missionary efforts during the 8th century, the region’s churches joined the Aquileia Patriarchy. Politically, Rašica belonged to the Duchy of Carniola and was ruled by the Habsburgs between 1335 and 1908.
Rašica is famous for being the birthplace of the Slovenian Reformer Primož Truber. He was born Primus Malnar on 9 June 1508 in Rašica, in the parish of Škocjan pri Turjaku/Sankt Kanzian near Auersperg in the Dolenjska region. His father, who had made a fortune as a carpenter and miller, commended him to the priesthood. In his early teens, he adopted his mother’s surname of Trubar, which he soon modified to Truber.
As a 16-year-old candidate in Trieste, he was introduced to the Humanist writers, primarily Erasmus of Rotterdam, by Bishop Pietro Bonomo (1502-1546) and became his student. After returning from studies in Vienna, Bonomo ordained Truber as a priest in 1530. His first post was as the town pastor of Laško.
Truber’s Reformist sermons, which he conducted in Slovene, caused conflict with his church. Nonetheless, he was made a canon of Ljubljana Cathedral in 1542. While a Catholic canon, he spread Reformist ideas and became a key proponent of the Reformation movement in the capital city. Reformist preaching had commenced in Ljubljana as early as 1523. The imperial guilds of Carniola helped the Reformation movement to spread. They took it upon themselves to revise church structures and founded a Protestant school in the capital.
However, things changed after Bonomo’s death. His successor implemented the Habsburgs’ anti-Reformation stance in the diocese. In 1548, Truber fled to Nuremberg, where he explicitly committed himself to the Reformation. Then between 1553 and 1561, he steered the free imperial city of Kempten towards Lutheranism as its pastor.
He had started his life’s major work on foreign soil, in southern Germany, in 1550 – to promote the Slovenian Reformation by publishing Reformist works in his native language. He completed most of the translations into Wendish himself. These included a catechism, a Slovenian church order and the complete New Testament along with parts of the Old. He translated the Biblical scriptures based on the Lutheran Bible. In 1561, he oversaw the team in the Württemberg town of Urach – which included his compatriot Hans Ungnad – that founded the “Ungnad-Trubersche Bibelwerk”, a printing centre dedicated to producing Reformation works in Slovene, Croatian and Italian. By publishing Biblical and catechetical texts in Slovene, Truber was in fact instrumental in developing a written Slovenian language, which had previously not existed as such.
In 1562, he returned to Ljubljana as a superintendent with the aim of establishing a Slovenian Church, but he was forced to leave again just three years later after the new ruler, Archduke Karl, banned him from preaching. He found refuge in the Lutheran Duchy of Württemberg. From 1567 until his death, he was the pastor of Derendingen near Tübingen. During this time, he continued his lifework of translating and publishing Slovenian works in the Urach printing house.
Truber’s Reformation in Slovenia was brought to an end by the successful imposition of the Counter-Reformation during the first third of the 17th century. From that point on, Protestant Christians lived their faith as “clandestine Protestants”. New congregations were formed following the Patent of Toleration issued by Joseph II in 1781. The independent Slovenian Church A.C. (Augsburg Confession) was founded in 1945. It asserts its status in this predominantly Catholic country as a small but committed minority church.
Truber, who had fallen into obscurity for a long time, is now celebrated in Slovenia as the creator of written Slovenian. His face can be found on the country’s one-euro coin. Reformation Day on 31st October is a national holiday. A museum in Rašica commemorates the Trubar farm where the Reformer was born.

Anton Zakrajšek

Mayor, Rasica

Links

Rašica: www.velike-lasce.si
Protestant Church A.C. in Slovenia: www.evang-cerkev.si

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Rašica

Slowenien

Rasica

Die Truberstadt

Rašica (zu Deutsch: Reschwiz) ist ein Ort nördlich der Kommune Velike Lašče in Zentralslowenien. Bereits im 3. Jahrhundert sind Bischofssitze in der damaligen römischen Provinz belegt. Nach erneuter systematischer Missionierung im 8. Jahrhundert kam die Region kirchlich zum Patriarchat Aquileia. Politisch gehörte Rašica zum Herzogtum Krain und stand 1335-1908 unter Habsburger Herrschaft.
Rašica ist bekannt als Geburtsort des slowenischen Reformators Primus Truber. Er wurde am 9. Juni 1508 als Primus Malnar in Rašica in der Pfarrei Škocjan pri Turjaku/St. Kanzian bei Auersperg in Unterkrain geboren. Sein Vater hatte sich als Zimmermann und Müller ein Vermögen erworben. Er bestimmte seinen Sohn dazu, die Priesterlaufbahn einzuschlagen. Als Jugendlicher nahm er den Familiennamen seiner Mutter Trubar an, dessen Schreibweise er wenig später zu Truber wechselte.
Im Alter von 16 Jahren lernte er als Priesteramtskandidat in Triest bei Bischof Pietro Bonomo (1502-1546) den erasmischen Humanismus kennen und wurde dessen Schüler. Nach Studium in Wien wurde Truber 1530 von Bonomo zum Priester geweiht. Seine erste Anstellung erhielt er als Stadtpfarrer in Laško.
Wegen seiner reformatorischen Predigten, die er auf slowenisch hielt, geriet Truber zunehmend in Konflikt mit seiner Kirche. Gleichwohl wurde er 1542 zum Kanonikus an den Dom in Ljubljana berufen. Als katholischer Domherr verbreitete er reformatorische Ideen und wurde zu einem führenden Akteur der reformatorischen Bewegung in der Hauptstadt. In Ljubljana gab es schon ab 1523 eine reformatorische Predigt. Die Ausbreitung der reformatorischen Bewegung wurde durch die Krainer Landstände gefördert. Sie nahmen die Neuordnung der kirchlichen Verhältnisse in die Hand und gründeten eine evangelische Schule in der Hauptstadt.
Durch den Tod Bonomos änderte sich jedoch die Lage. Sein Nachfolger setzte im Bistum den antireformatorischen Kurs der Habsburger durch. Truber flüchtete 1548 nach Nürnberg und bekannte sich nun ausdrücklich zur Reformation. Danach, als er von 1553 bis 1561 Stadtpfarrer in der Reichsstadt Kempten war, setzte er die Ausrichtung der Stadt auf das Luthertum durch.
Außerhalb seiner Heimat in Süddeutschland widmete er sich seit 1550 seinem Lebenswerk: Die Förderung der slowenischen Reformation durch Veröffentlichungen reformatorischer Schriften in slowenischer Sprache. Die nationalsprachlichen Übersetzungen in die sogenannte „windische“ Sprache besorgte er weitgehend selbst. Dazu gehörten ein Katechismus, eine slowenische Kirchenordnung und eine Gesamtausgabe des Neuen Testaments und Teile des Alten Testaments. Die biblischen Schriften übertrug er auf Grundlage der Lutherbibel. 1561 entstand unter seiner Leitung und Mitarbeit anderer im württembergischen Urach das „Ungnad-Trubersche Bibelwerk“, ein Druckzentrum zur Produktion reformatorischer Schriften in slowenischer, kroatischer und italienischer Sprache, das er zusammen mit seinem Landsmann Hans Ungnad gegründet hatte. Mit seinen Veröffentlichungen biblischer und katechetischer Texte in der slowenischen Sprache begründete Truber überhaupt auch die Entstehung einer slowenischen Schriftsprache, die es vorher so noch nicht gegeben hat.
1562 kehrte er nach Laibach zurück, um als Superintendent eine slowenische Kirche aufzubauen, doch musst er schon drei Jahre später, nachdem er vom neuen Landesherrn Erzherzog Karl mit Predigtverbot belegt war, das Land wieder verlassen. Aufnahme fand er im lutherischen Herzogtum Württemberg. Von 1567 bis zu seinem Tode war er Pfarrer in Derendingen bei Tübingen. Während dieser Zeit arbeitete mit der Übersetzung und Veröffentlichung slowenischer Schriften in der Uracher Druckerei weiter an seinem Lebenswerk.
Die Reformation Trubers endete in Slowenien mit der erfolgreichen Durchsetzung der Gegenreformation im ersten Drittel des 17. Jahrhunderts. Von da an lebten evangelische Christen als „Geheimprotestanten“. Neue Gemeindegründungen gab es nach dem Josephinischen Toleranzpatent von 1781. Die eigenständige Slowenische Kirche A.B. (Augsburger Bekenntnisses) gibt es seit 1945. Sie behauptet in dem mehrheitlich katholischen Land ihre Stellung als kleine, aber engagierte Minderheitenkirche.
Truber, der lange in Vergessenheit geraten war, wird heute in Slowenien als Schöpfer der slowenischen Schriftsprache in Ehren gehalten. Sein Bildnis ziert die 1-Euro-Münze. Der Reformationstag, der 31. Oktober, ist ein nationaler Feiertag. In Rašica erinnert ein Museum an den Trubar-Bauernhof, auf dem der Reformator geboren wurde.

Anton Zakrajšek

Bürgermeister, Rasica

Links

Rašica : www.velike-lasce.si
Evangelische Kirche A.B. in Slowenien: www.evang-cerkev.si