Select Page

Regensburg

Germany

Regensburg

Reformation in the Danube area

Regensburg lies on the most northern stretch of the Danube and is the capital of Bavaria’s Upper Palatinate administrative region. The city’s Roman origins and its almost perfectly preserved medieval heart make it a very popular tourist attraction – and in 2006, the medieval centre and “Stadtamhof” were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Proponents of the Reformation were to be found in Regensburg as early as the 1520s. Protestant preachers were already hard at work and Holy Communion was celebrated in dual form in private households. During the Regensburg Imperial Diet of 1541, Philipp Melanchthon, John Calvin, Martin Bucer and Johann Pistorius formed the Protestant delegation at a religious debate, but no agreement could be reached between traditionalists and the Protestants. In autumn 1542, the City Council gave in to the majority will of the citizens to adopt the Reformation. On 15th October that year, the Church of the Beautiful Maria – now known as the Neupfarrkirche (New Parish Church) – was host to the first Protestant Eucharist in Regensburg. The surrounding Catholic Duchy of Bavaria reacted in the form of a trade and transit embargo.
During the second half of the 16th century, the Protestant city of Regensburg exuded quite some allure along the Danube to the south-east. Reformer Matthias Flacius Illyricus (Matija Vlačić) from Labin in modern-day Croatia, an equally influential and controversial figure, lived and worked in the city from 1562 until 1565. Superintendent Nicolaus Gallus laso played an important role in the construction and organisation of the Protestant Church in Austria during the same period. Between 1553 and 1624, the Regensburg Consistory ordained around 200 pastors in the Neupfarrkirche who then founded many new Protestant congregations along the Danube itself and in the neighbouring areas. Conversely, Regensburg formed a safe haven for scores of Protestant fugitives from south-eastern Europe during the 17th and 18th centuries.
Despite Regensburg’s status as Protestant imperial city, Lutherans and Catholics have lived side-by-side there for many centuries. There were four Catholic imperial estates in Regensburg – the Cathedral Chapter and those of Obermünster, Niedermünster and St. Emmeram. Many Catholics from the surrounding areas also lived and worked in the city, but without civil rights. During the decades that followed the instalment of the Reformation, the large Dominican Church functioned as a dual host for both confessions. This only ceased with the completion and consecration of Regensburg’s Church of the Trinity in 1631, one of the first substantial Protestant churches to be purpose-built in Germany.
The large Protestant churches dotted around the city centre bear impressive witness to Regensburg’s historical past. The cemetery of Protestant emissaries to the Perpetual Diet of Regensburg is a unique record of Protestant piety. Michael Ostendorfer’s Reformation altarpiece, completed in 1555, is one of the few Reformation-era altars to have been adorned with intricate imagery. It will form the heart of a special exhibition marking the 2017 anniversary in Regensburg’s Historical Museum.

The city authorities will be commemorating the status of the Neupfarrkirche as the mother church of Protestantism for all of (south-)eastern Europe, and we are planning a noteworthy art exhibition in the Historical Museum focusing on Ostendorfer’s altar and his artistic and theological portfolio. Joachim Wolbergs

City Mayor of Regensburg, Regensburg

Links

City of Regensburg www.regensburg.com/international
Regensburg Tourist Office www.regensburg.de/tourismus/Home/3854
Protestantism in Regensburg www.regensburg-evangelisch.de
Protestant-Lutheran Church in Bavaria http://www.bayern-evangelisch.de/

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Regensburg

Deutschland

Regensburg

Eine Stadt mit Ausstrahlung – Reformation im Donauraum

Regensburg liegt am nördlichsten Punkt der Donau und ist Hauptstadt des Regierungsbezirks Oberpfalz in Bayern. Der römische Ursprung und die fast vollständig erhaltene mittelalterliche Altstadt machen die Stadt zu einem viel besuchten Reiseziel. Seit 2006 gehören die Regensburger Altstadt und Stadtamhof zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Bereits in den 1520er Jahren gab es Anhänger der Reformation in Regensburg. Evangelische Prediger wirkten in der Stadt. In Privatwohnungen wurde das Abendmahl in beiderlei Gestalt gefeiert. Während des Regensburger Reichstags 1541 fand ein Religionsgespräch mit Philipp Melanchthon, Johannes Calvin, Martin Bucer und Johann Pistorius als evangelischen Teilnehmern statt. Der Einigungsversuch zwischen Altgläubigen und Protestanten scheiterte jedoch. Im Herbst 1542 gab der Rat der Stadt dem Drängen der Mehrheit der Bürgerschaft nach und führte offiziell die Reformation ein. Am 15. Oktober wurde in der Kirche Zur schönen Maria, der heutigen Neupfarrkirche, der erste Abendmahlsgottesdienst nach evangelischer Ordnung gehalten. Das Regensburg umgebende katholische Herzogtum Bayern reagierte auf diesen Schritt mit einer Handels- und Verkehrsblockade.

In der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts entwickelte das evangelische Regensburg eine große Ausstrahlung entlang der Donau nach Südosten. Der ebenso bedeutende wie umstrittene Reformator Matthias Flacius Illyricus (Matija Vlačić) aus Albona (Labin) im heutigen Kroatien lebte und wirkte zwischen 1562 und 1565 in Regensburg. Superintendent Nicolaus Gallus spielte zur gleichen Zeit eine wichtige Rolle für den Aufbau und die Organisation der evangelischen Kirche in Österreich. Zwischen 1553 und 1624 ordinierte das Regensburger Konsistorium in der Neupfarrkirche an die 200 Pfarrer. Sie begründeten viele neue evangelische Gemeinden entlang der Donau und den angrenzenden Gebieten. Umgekehrt wurde Regensburg im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert zum Hort für evangelische Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Südosteuropa.
Obwohl Regensburg evangelische Reichsstadt war, lebten Lutheraner und Katholiken über Jahrhunderte gemeinsam in der Stadt. Mit dem Domstift und den Stiften Obermünster, Niedermünster und St. Emmeram gab es vier katholische Reichsstände in Regensburg. Zudem wohnten und arbeiteten viele Katholiken aus dem Umland in der Stadt, ohne das Bürgerrecht zu besitzen. In den Jahrzehnten nach der Einführung der Reformation diente die große Dominikanerkirche als Simultankirche, die von beiden Konfessionen genutzt wurde. Dies änderte sich erst mit dem Bau der 1631 eröffneten Dreieinigkeitskirche, einer der ersten großen Kirchen, die in Deutschland als evangelische Neubauten errichtet wurden.
Die großen evangelischen Innenstadtkirchen sind heute noch beredte Zeugnisse der evangelischen Stadtgeschichte.

Darüber hinaus ist der Friedhof der evangelischen Gesandten des immerwährenden Reichstags in Regensburg ein einzigartiges Dokument evangelischer Frömmigkeit. Der 1555 fertiggestellte Reformationsaltar von Michael Ostendorfer ist einer der wenigen Altäre aus der Reformationszeit mit einem ausgeprägten Bildprogramm. Er wird 2017 im Zentrum einer Sonderausstellung im Historischen Museum Regensburg stehen.

Wir werden von städtischer Seite insbesondere die Dimension der Neupfarrkirche als Mutterkirche des Protestantismus für den gesamten (süd-)osteuropäischen Raum in Erinnerung rufen und im Historischen Museum eine namhafte Kunstaustellung um den Ostendorfer Altar und sein künstlerisches und theologisches Programm vorbereiten.

Joachim Wolbergs

Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Regensburg, Stadt Regensburg

Links

Stadt Regensburg: www.regensburg.com
Tourismusbüro: www.regensburg.de/tourismus
Evangelisch in Regensburg: www.regensburg-evangelisch.de
Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Bayern: www.bayern-evangelisch.de