Select Page

City of the Reformation Sárvár

Hungary

Sárvár

The town of Sárvár, which belongs to the country’s spa route, lies in western Hungary, not far from the border to Austria. These days, the town is best known for its thermal baths and related health and wellness facilities. The emblem of the town is the castle built by the renowned Nádasdy nobles, which is surrounded by an impressive park. Right alongside the park is the 16-hectare arboretum whose diverse and sometimes quite exotic trees were planted during the Reformation era.

The town played a key role as the Hungarian fulcrum of the Transdanubian Reformation. The influential Hungarian magnate and Palatine Tamás Nádasdy was partly responsible for the Reformation’s foothold in Hungary. Under the advice of Philipp Melanchthon, in 1534 Nádasdy founded a school in Sárvár that would be led by Melanchthon’s former pupil, humanist János Sylvester. It was three years later that the first print works were established in Hungary at his court in Sárvár, where seminal books would be published including the first book ever to be printed in Hungarian, the Grammatica Hungarolatina by János Sylvester (1539) and his own Hungarian translation of the New Testament (1541).

Nádasdy also supported Mátyás Bíró Dévai, the foremost Reformer of Hungary, who completed his studies in Wittenberg before spreading Reformationist thought as an itinerant preacher throughout the country. It was in Sárvár that Dévai composed the first catechism in Hungarian in the year 1538. The outstanding role Sárvár played during the Reformation era earned it the title “Hungarian Wittenberg”.

Many clear signs of the Reformation can still be seen around the town. A stone memorial to Sylvester stands in the park of the castle. The authentic equipment from the print works, which is normally kept in storage in the castle, will be put on display again in celebration of the anniversary of the Reformation.

We, the citizens of Sárvár, can proudly say that our town is not only famous today, but was already well known before the European Reformation. Philipp Melanchthon, an associate of Martin Luther, personally thanked the castle’s famous lord, Tamás Nádasdy, for running a school in the town to educate its people and promote the sciences despite the difficult circumstances. It is no coincidence that the translation of the New Testament in 1541, which was also the first book in Hungarian to be published in Hungary, arose here. Nowadays, nurturing culture and upholding traditions is not the preserve of one nobleman and his court, but something all our townspeople are keen to engage in. Sárvár is celebrating the anniversary of the Reformation not only because of its history, but also in the hope that we can strengthen this interwoven, cross-border tapestry we are proud to call Europe.

Tivadar Máhr

Vice Mayor of Sárvár

Links

City of Sárvár: http://www.sarvar.hu/en/index.html

The Evangelical-Lutheran Church in Hungary: http://zope.lutheran.hu/portal/bemutatkozas/english

Reformed Church in Hungary: http://www.reformatus.hu/english/

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Sárvár

Ungarn

Sárvár

Sárvár (dt. Kotenburg) liegt in Westungarn an der ungarischen Bäderstraße, unweit der österreichischen Grenze. Heute ist die Stadt hauptsächlich durch ihre Thermalbäder und die daran angeschlossenen Gesundheits- und Wellnessangebote bekannt. Wahrzeichen der Stadt ist das von der bekannten Adelsfamilie Nádasdy erbaute Schloss, welches von einem beeindruckenden Park umgeben ist. Unmittelbar an den Park schließt das 16 ha große Arboretum, eine auf die Reformationszeit zurückgehende Anpflanzung verschiedenartiger, oft auch exotischer Bäume, an.

Die Stadt spielte als Zentrum der transdanubischen Reformation eine maßgebliche Rolle in Ungarn. Dem einflussreichen ungarischen Magnaten und Palatin Tamás Nádasdy ist mit zu verdanken, dass die Reformation in Ungarn Fuß fassen konnte. Durch Beratung von Philipp Melanchthon gründete Nádasdy 1534 in Sárvár eine Schule unter der Leitung des Melanchthon-Schülers und Humanisten János Sylvester. Drei Jahre später folgte die Gründung einer der ersten Druckereien in Ungarn an seinem Hof in Sárvár, in der bedeutende Bücher gedruckt wurden, darunter das erste gedruckte ungarischsprachige Buch überhaupt, die Grammatica Hungarolatina von János Sylvester (1539) und die ebenfalls von Sylvester abgefasste Übersetzung des Neuen Testaments ins Ungarische (1541).

Nádasdy unterstützte auch Mátyás Bíró Dévai, den bedeutendsten ungarischen Reformator, der nach seinem Studium in Wittenberg als Wanderprediger das Gedankengut der Reformation im ganzen Land verbreitete. In Sárvár verfasste Dévai im Jahre 1538 den ersten ungarischen Katechismus. Durch ihre herausragende Rolle in der Reformationszeit kam es, dass die Stadt Sárvár auch das „ungarische Wittenberg“ genannt wird.

In der Stadt gibt es noch verschiedene Zeugnisse der Reformation. Zu Sylvesters Andenken steht im Burgpark eine Steinbank mit Gedenktafel. Zum Reformationsjubiläum soll die Ausstattung der Druckerei, die in der Burg aufbewahrt wird, auch wieder zu besichtigen sein.

Wir, die Einwohner von Sárvár, können stolz behaupten, dass man unsere Stadt nicht nur heute kennt, sondern sie auch bereits zur Zeit der Reformation in Europa bekannt war. Philipp Melanchthon, der Mitarbeiter von Luther dankte dem berühmten Eigentümer der Burg, Tamás Nádasdy, dass er trotz schwieriger Zeiten eine Schule in der Stadt betreibt, Leute erzieht und Wissenschaften fördert. Es ist kein Zufall, dass in dem Jahre 1541 die Übersetzung des Neuen Testaments, welches gleichzeitig auch das erste in Ungarn in ungarischer Sprache gedruckte Buch war, hier erschienen ist. Heute ist die Pflege der Kultur und die Erhaltung der Traditionen nicht nur einem Adeligen und seinem Hof, sondern allen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern unserer Stadt wichtig. Sárvár begeht das Reformationsjubiläum nicht nur aufgrund seiner Geschichte, sondern auch in der Hoffnung, dass wir dieses grenzübergreifende Geflecht, welches wir stolz Europa nennen, stärken können.

Tivadar Máhr

Vizebürgermeister

Links

Stadt Sarvar: http://www.sarvar.hu/

Evangelisch-lutherische Kirche in Ungarn: http://zope.lutheran.hu/portal/bemutatkozas/deutsch/

Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche in Ungarn: http://www.reformatus.hu/