Select Page

Schwäbisch Hall

Germany

Schwäbisch Hall

Nowadays, Schwäbisch Hall is known throughout Germany mainly for its resident building society of the same name. However, the former free imperial city originally rose to prominence thanks to its salt water spring that made it an important centre of salt production and the salt trade. Schwäbisch Hall was also the site of a mint. The ‘heller’ coins minted there were widely spread throughout Europe and used as part of various national currencies. The town’s medieval heart still bears witness to its economic heyday.

In 1525, the Free Imperial City Council appointed Johannes Brenz (1499-1570) as the preacher of St. Michael’s city church, from where he would instill the Reformation over the next 26 years. Brenz had first met Martin Luther at the Heidelberg disputation in 1518 while he was still a student, and this encounter prompted him to adopt the new teachings. He introduced the Reformation in Schwäbisch Hall step by step, calmly damping any iconoclastic tendencies and urging leniency towards rebellious farmers and the Baptists. Brenz was also responsible for reforming aid for the poor and the school system of Schwäbisch Hall. He advocated school education for girls and boys from all social backgrounds and drafted three catechisms that together were reprinted more than five hundred times. The first celebration of dual communion in 1526, the new church order introduced in 1527 and Brenz’ marriage in 1530 signalled the completion of the city’s Reformation.

However, the exuberant mood of the Reformation led by Brenz in Schwäbisch Hall spread way beyond the city walls. Following the Marburg Colloquy in 1529, Brenz participated in the majority of religious debates and acted as an appraiser and consultant throughout the entire empire. When he was forced to flee Schwäbisch Hall in 1548 as a consequence of the Protestant defeat in the Smalkaldic War, Duke Christoph of Württemberg commissioned him to install a new church order in his Protestant duchy. This allowed Brenz to apply the processes he had initiated in Schwäbisch Hall to the larger arena of Württemberg. Thus Schwäbisch Hall acted as the cradle of the Reformation in Württemberg.

Various memorials to Johannes Brenz can be found in Schwäbisch Hall today, including the Brenz House and its bust of the Reformer. St. Michael’s Church, the seat of his preaching and work, is now a European Union cultural heritage site. The town archives in the market square hold a unique collection of Reformation documents, and a very special document from the Reformation era is on display in the Johannite Church. Here, visitors can inspect Hans Holbein’s Virgin of Mercy (1526) in the company of paintings by Lucas Cranach the Elder and other artworks from the Upper German Reformation, which all belong to the Würth art collection. At the same time, appreciators of modern art will enjoy the works on display in the Würth Art House (Kunsthalle). Nowadays, the salt water spring in Schwäbisch is no longer used to harvest salt for trade, but instead feeds the town’s popular salt spa.

Schwäbisch Hall is an important historical site, particularly in relation to the Reformation in Württemberg. It was the heart from which the movement spread afar during the 16th century and where the Reformation’s key protagonist Johannes Brenz preached and worked as one of the most important figures of that era.

Bettina Wilhelm

First City Mayor, Schwäbisch Hall

Links

City of Schwäbisch Hall www.schwaebischhall.de/en/
Tourist Office www.schwaebischhall.de/en/tourism.html
Evangelical Church District of Schwäbisch Hall www.kirchenbezirk-schwaebischhall.de/
Evangelical-Lutheran Church in Württemberg www.elk-wue.de/landeskirche/international-information-en/

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Schwäbisch Hall

Deutschland

Schwäbisch Hall

Schwäbisch Hall ist heute in Deutschland vor allem als Sitz der gleichnamigen Bausparkasse bekannt. Doch die einstige freie Reichsstadt verdankte ihren Aufschwung einer Salzquelle, durch die die Stadt wichtiger Salzhandels- und Salzherstellungsort wurde. Schwäbisch Hall war auch Münzprägestätte. Der hier geprägte Heller war in Europa weit verbreitet und fand Eingang in verschiedene Landeswährungen. Von dieser wirtschaftlichen Blüte zeugt noch heute die mittelalterliche Altstadt.

Im Jahre 1525 berief der Rat der freien Reichsstadt Johannes Brenz (1499-1570) zum Prediger in der Stadtkirche St. Michael. In den folgenden 26 Jahren steuerte er die Reformation in Schwäbisch Hall. Schon als Student hatte Brenz 1518 Martin Luther bei der Heidelberger Disputation kennengelernt und sich von da an der neuen Lehre angeschlossen. Schrittweise führte er die Reformation in Schwäbisch Hall ein, wirkte mäßigend auf bilderstürmerische Tendenzen und sprach sich für Milde gegen die aufständischen Bauern und die Täufer aus. Brenz reformierte in Schwäbisch Hall auch das Armenwesen und das Schulwesen. Er setzte sich für Schulunterricht für Mädchen und Jungen ungeachtet ihrer sozialen Herkunft ein und verfasste drei Katechismen die insgesamt mehr als fünfhundert Auflagen erfuhren. Mit der ersten Feier des Abendmahls in beiderlei Gestalt 1526, einer neuen Kirchenordnung 1527 und seiner Heirat 1530 war die Reformation in der Stadt faktisch vollzogen.

Doch die reformatorische Ausstrahlung von Schwäbisch Hall und von Johannes Brenz ging weit über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus. Ab dem Marburger Religionsgespräch 1529 nahm Brenz an den meisten Religionsgesprächen teil und wirkte als Gutachter und Ratgeber im gesamten Reich. Als Brenz in Folge der evangelischen Niederlage im Schmalkaldischen Krieg 1548 aus Schwäbisch Hall fliehen musste, wurde er von Herzog Christoph mit der Neuordnung der Kirchenorganisation im evangelischen Herzogtum Württemberg betraut. Was Brenz im Kleinen in Schwäbisch Hall geübt hatte, konnte er nun in Württemberg im Großen umsetzen. So wurde Schwäbisch Hall zu einer Wiege der Reformation in Württemberg.

An Johannes Brenz erinnert heute in Schwäbisch Hall unter anderem das Brenz-Haus mit einer Büste des Reformators. Die St. Michaelskirche, an der Brenz wirkte, ist mittlerweile EU-Kulturerbe. Über eine einzigartige Sammlung reformatorischer Dokumente verfügt das Stadtarchiv am Marktplatz. Ein besonderes Dokument der Reformationszeit ist in der Johanniterkirche zu sehen. Aus der Kunstsammlung Würth ist dort neben Gemälden von Lucas Cranach d.Ä. und Kunstwerken der oberdeutschen Reformation die Schutzmantelmadonna von Hans Holbein von 1526 ausgestellt. Doch auch Liebhaber moderner Kunst kommen in der Kunsthalle Würth auf ihre Kosten. Und auch die Salzquelle in Schwäbisch Hall dient heute nicht mehr der Salzgewinnung. Sie speist ein beliebtes Solebad.

Schwäbisch Hall ist im Bezug auf die Reformation gerade für Württemberg eine bedeutende historische Stätte, denn von hier breitete sich die Bewegung im 16. Jahrhundert über die Region aus und mit dem Reformator Johannes Brenz wirkte und arbeitete eine der wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten dieser Zeit in Schwäbisch Hall.

Bettina Wilhelm

Erste Bürgermeisterin, Schwäbisch Hall

Links

Stadt Schwäbisch Hall: http://www.schwaebischhall.de/

Tourismusbüro: http://www.schwaebischhall.de/erlebnisstadt.html

Evangelischer Kirchenbezirk Schwäbisch Hall: http://www.kirchenbezirk-schwaebischhall.de/

Evangelische Landeskirche in Württemberg: http://www.elk-wue.de/