Select Page

City of the Reformation Speyer

Germany

Speyer

Speyer is where the Evangelists became “Protestants”

The city of Speyer in the Palatinate region of Germany has even more to offer than its UNESCO World Heritage Romanesque imperial cathedral in the form of its exceptionally rich Jewish heritage, to which the ruins of the 12th century synagogue and the oldest Jewish mikveh (ritual bath) in Central Europe still bear witness today. Speyer was one of the three Jewish “SchUM” cities together with Worms and Mainz. Moreover, Speyer also played a preeminent role in the course of the Reformation.

During the Reformation era, Speyer was a hub of imperial politics. Numerous Imperial Diets were held there, and the city became the seat of the Imperial High Court in 1527. At the first Imperial Diet held in Speyer in 1526, the Imperial Estates were all permitted to tolerate Protestant faith on their territory until a definitive future Council ruling. At the second Imperial Diet in Speyer in 1529, however, this concession was revoked. Six Evangelical princes and the representatives of 14 free cities protested against the ruling and positively asserted their right to hold their own beliefs that might differ from the majority consensus. In their protestatio they wrote: “In matters relating to the glory of God, the salvation of our souls and blessedness, every individual must stand alone before God and account for himself.”

The second Speyer Imperial Diet in 1529 was the first time that political leaders had publicly confronted the Catholic majority at the Imperial Diet with their Evangelical faith. In so doing, the political leaders were grasping the Reformist cause and clarifying that in matters of faith each individual has his own power of judgement, not just clerical officers alone – a ground-breaking step on the long path towards freedom of conscience and religion.

Speyer’s Neogothic Memorial Church of the Protestation provides enduring testament to this monumental event. Protestant Christians from all over the world offered donations at the end of the 19th century to aid its construction. Its tower was designed to surge above Speyer cathedral’s, and at 100m in height it is the tallest spire in Palatinate. At the church’s entrance is its memorial chamber with statues of the six protesting princes in each of its corners and an effigy of Luther in their midst.
The Reformation is also commemorated at many other sites in the city. The Evangelical Church of Palatinate, whose seat is in Speyer, bears conscious witness to the protestatio with its title of Protestant Regional Church. It has joined forces with the city archives to devise and design a smartphone app called “Speyer – the City of Protestation” that offers a virtual tour of the city tracing the footsteps of the Reformation.

The universal human right of freedom of conscience and religion, which is put to the test most acutely where cultures meet and coincide, has its spiritual roots in the 1529 protestation in Speyer. The genuinely Protestant freedom to choose is reflected in this fundamental right, which still needs expanding and constantly protecting to this day.

Hansjörg Eger

City Mayor, Speyer

Links

City of Speyer: www.speyer.de

Protestant Church in Palatinate: www.evkirchpfalz.de

“1529 Protestation” app: http://www.augias.net/index.php?ref=inc_8121.html

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Speyer

Deutschland

Speyer

Wo die Evangelischen zu „Protestanten“ wurden

Die Bischofsstadt in der Pfalz hat nicht nur mit dem romanischen Kaiserdom ein UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe vorzuweisen, sondern zeichnet sich auch durch ein reiches jüdisches Erbe aus, von dem noch heute die Ruine der Synagoge aus dem 12. Jahrhundert und die ebenso alte Mikwe als ältestes jüdisches Ritualbad in Mitteleuropa zeugen. Mit den Städten Worms und Mainz zählte Speyer zu den jüdischen SchUM-Städten. Doch auch für den Verlauf der Reformation ist Speyer von herausragender Bedeutung.

Im Reformationszeitalter war Speyer ein Zentrum der Reichspolitik. Zahlreiche Reichstage wurden in Speyer abgehalten und ab 1527 war Speyer Sitz des Reichskammergerichts. Auf dem ersten Reichstag zu Speyer 1526 wurde den Ständen im Reich zugestanden bis zu einer Klärung auf einem zukünftigen Konzil den evangelischen Glauben in ihren Gebieten zu dulden. Auf dem zweiten Reichstag zu Speyer 1529 sollte dieses Zugeständnis zurückgenommen werden. Sechs evangelische Fürsten und Vertreter von 14 freien Städten protestierten dagegen und nahmen selbstbewusst für sich das Recht in Anspruch sich in Glaubensdingen gegen die Mehrheitsentscheidung zu wenden. In ihrer „Protestatio“ schreiben sie dazu: „In Sachen Gottes Ehre und unser Seelenheil und Seligkeit belangend muss ein jeglicher für sich selber vor Gott stehen und Rechenschaft geben.“

Auf dem zweiten Speyerer Reichstag 1529 bekannten sich zum ersten Mal politisch führende Männer öffentlich gegenüber der katholischen Reichstagsmehrheit zu ihrem evangelischen Glauben. Die politischen Verantwortungsträger nahmen damit das reformatorische Anliegen auf und stellten klar, dass in Glaubensfragen jedem Menschen und nicht nur kirchlichen Amtsträgern Urteilskraft zukommt – ein bedeutsamer Schritt auf dem langen Weg der Gewissens- und Religionsfreiheit.

An dieses weitreichende Ereignis erinnert in Speyer heute die neugotische Gedächtniskirche der Protestation. Zu ihrer Erbauung spendeten im ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert evangelische Christen aus aller Welt. Der Kirchturm sollte den Speyrer Dom übertreffen und ist mit seinen 100 Metern der höchste Kirchturm der Pfalz. Im Eingang der Kirche befindet sich die Gedächtnishalle in deren sechs Ecken die Statuen der sechs protestierenden Fürsten die Statue Luthers umringen.

Darüber hinaus wird das Gedächtnis an die Reformation an vielen Orten in der Stadt wach gehalten. Die Evangelische Kirche der Pfalz, die ihren Sitz in Speyer hat, nennt sich in Erinnerung an die Protestatio „Protestantische Landeskirche“. Sie hat gemeinsam mit dem Stadtarchiv eine Smartphone-App konzipiert und entwickelt: Die App „Speyer – Stadt der Protestation“ ist als virtueller Stadtrundgang auf den Spuren der Reformation angelegt.

Die Gewissens- und Religionsfreiheit, die sich gerade im Miteinander der Kulturen zu bewähren hat, sie hat als universales Menschenrecht geistesgeschichtlich in der Speyerer Protestation von 1529 eine ihrer Wurzeln. Wir erkennen in diesem Grundrecht genuin protestantische Freiheitsoptionen wieder, die es heute auszubauen und immer wieder zu verteidigen gilt.

Hansjörg Eger

Oberbürgermeister, Stadt Speyer

Links

Stadt Speyer: www.speyer.de

Evangelische Kirche der Pfalz: www.evkirchpfalz.de

App: Protestation 1529: http://www.augias.net/index.php?ref=inc_8121.html