Select Page

St. Gallen

Switzerland

St. Gallen

UNESCO World Heritage

St. Gallen lies in eastern Switzerland, to the south of Lake Constance. The city, which evolved from the hermitage of Saint Gall, to this day bears witness to its roots not only by name. The layout of the Abbey of St. Gall is considered the quintessential model of a Benedictine monastery, and the Abbey precinct encompassing the church and Abbey library has been deemed a UNESCO World Heritage site.
Important early inroads for the Reformation into eastern Switzerland were forged from the base of St. Gallen. In fact, the way the Reformation developed in St. Gallen was affected by two distinctive factors.
The first was the abbey’s strong influence over the city, with the Reformation era dawning during a phase of protracted power struggles between the City Council and the abbots for overall control of the city. A dividing wall was eventually constructed in 1566 that split the city into Catholic and Protestant districts until 1818.
The second aspect was that the Reformation in St. Gallen was driven by laypeople. Indeed, the two major proponents of the Reformation there, Joachim von Watt and Johannes Kessler, both pursued secular careers. Joachim von Watt (1484-1551) was born into one of the city’s merchant families and became a universal humanist scholar. He followed that tradition by adopting the Latin name of Vadian. He held the chair of poetry at the University of Vienna, was appointed poet laureate by Emperor Maximilian I, directed the Vienna Boys’ Choir for some time, and was even appointed Dean of the University. He also studied to become a doctor of medicine before assuming the position of city physician in his birthplace of St. Gallen in 1518. His university friend Huldrych Zwingli introduced him to Reformism, which prompted him to study its teachings and propagate them back home. Johannes Kessler (approx. 1502-1574) also returned to St. Gallen in 1523 after studying theology in Basel and Wittenberg. He had got talking to Martin Luther – without realising who he really was – on his way to Wittenberg at the Zum Bären tavern in Jena, as Luther was returning from the Wartburg under the alias of Junker Jörg. Upon his return to St. Gallen, instead of proceeding with his anticipated ordainment as a priest, Kessler became an apprentice saddler and began interpreting the Bible to the craftsmen and working on a new order of worship. His friend Vadian’s appointment as the City Mayor of St. Gallen in 1526 heralded the introduction of the Reformation in the city against the will of St. Gallen Abbey, after which Baptist groups also started to emerge. As Konrad Grebel, one of the Baptist leaders, was not only Vadian’s university friend but also his brother-in-law, there was no violent persecution of the Baptists in St. Gallen as was certainly the case elsewhere.
Kessler recorded notable events of the Reformation in St. Gallen between 1519 and 1539 in his Sabbata chronicle. Several architectural monuments to the Reformation still exist in St. Gallen. A commemorative plaque marks where Vadian used to live in the Schmiedgasse, and a bronze memorial to him stands in the Marktgasse. The only remaining evidence of the city’s dramatic confessional divide is a small part of the original wall. On the other hand, the Laurence Church, where the Holy Communion was first celebrated in its dual form in 1527, still a functions as a Reformed city church to this day.

St. Gallen was one of the first cities in Switzerland to adopt the new faith, after which it exerted a lasting influence on the course of the Reformation in eastern Switzerland. The Reformers in St. Gallen, especially its City Mayor Joachim von Watt and Johannes Kessler, studied the teachings of Luther and Zwingli intently. Their opinions carried a great deal of weight in the theological disputations at federal level.
We hope to welcome visitors to St. Gallen from near and far for the opportunity to explain the Reformation’s message of renewal and freedom.

Thomas Scheitlin

St. Gallen City President

Links

City of St. Gallen http://www.stadt.sg.ch/t/en

Tourist information http://www.st.gallen-bodensee.ch/en/

Evangelical-Reformed Church of the Canton of St. Gallen http://www.ref-sg.ch/

Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches http://www.kirchenbund.ch/en

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt St. Gallen

Schweiz

St. Gallen

Vom Kloster über die Schiedmauer zum  Weltkulturerbe

St. Gallen liegt in der Ostschweiz südlich des Bodensees. Die Stadt, die sich aus dem Kloster des Heiligen Gallus entwickelte, trägt dieses Erbe bis heute nicht nur im Stadtnamen weiter. Der St. Galler Klosterplan gilt als Idealplan eines Benediktinerklosters und der Stiftsbezirk mit der Kirche und der Stiftsbibliothek ist in die Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes aufgenommen worden.
Von der Reformation in St. Gallen gingen früh wichtige Impulse in die Ostschweiz aus. Dabei nahm die St. Galler Reformation unter zwei besonderen Bedingungen ihren Lauf:
Zum einen war die Stadt vom Kloster geprägt und die Reformationszeit fiel in die Phase der langen Machtkämpfe zwischen dem Rat der Stadt und den Äbten um die Vorherrschaft in der Stadt. Am Ende wurde 1566 eine Schiedmauer innerhalb der Stadt gebaut, die bis 1818 die Stadt in einen katholischen und einen evangelischen Teil trennte.
Zum anderen ging die Reformation in St. Gallen ganz von Laien aus. Auch die beiden St. Galler Reformatoren Joachim von Watt und Johannes Kessler gingen bürgerlichen Berufen nach. Joachim von Watt (1484-1551) entstammte einer St. Galler Kaufmannsfamilie und wurde zu einem humanistischen Universalgelehrten. In dieser Tradition latinisierte er seinen Namen und nannte sich fortan Vadianus. An der Universität Wien war er Professor für Poesie wurde von Kaiser Maximilian mit dem Dichterkranz gekrönt, leitete zeitweise die Wiener Sängerknaben und wurde zum Rektor der Universität gewählt. Er erwarb auch den Doktorgrad in Medizin und ließ sich danach ab 1518 als Stadtarzt in St. Gallen nieder. Über seinen Wiener Studienfreund Huldrych Zwingli vermittelt, setzte er sich intensiv mit den Gedanken der Reformation auseinander und unterstützte diese in seiner Heimatstadt. 1523 war auch Johannes Kessler (um 1502-1574) nach dem Theologiestudium in Basel und Wittenberg nach St. Gallen zurückgekehrt. Auf dem Weg nach Wittenberg war er, ohne dies zu wissen, Luther begegnet, der von der Wartburg kommend als Junker Jörg verkleidet im Jenaer Wirtshaus „Zum Bären“ mit dem jungen Schweizer ins Gespräch kam. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach St. Gallen ließ sich Kessler nicht wie erwartet zum Priester weihen, sondern machte eine Sattlerlehre und legte fortan den Handwerkern die Bibel aus und erarbeitete eine neue Gottesdienstordnung. Als sein Freund Vadian 1526 zum Bürgermeister von St. Gallen ernannt wurde, führte dieser in der Stadt die Reformation gegen den Widerstand der Abtei St. Gallen ein. Bald traten in St. Gallen auch täuferische Gruppen auf. Da Konrad Grebel, einer der Führer der Täufer, ein Studienfreund Vadians und zudem sein Schwager war, blieb eine gewaltsame Verfolgung der Täufer wie in anderen Städten jedoch aus.
In seiner unter dem Titel „Sabbata“ verfassten Chronik berichtete Kessler über die Ereignisse der Reformation in St. Gallen von 1519-1539. Auch einige bauliche Zeugnisse der Reformation finden sich noch in St. Gallen: In der Schmiedgasse befindet sich eine Gedenktafel für Vadian an seinem Wohnhaus und in der Marktgasse wurde ihm auch ein Bronzedenkmal errichtet. An die konfessionelle Trennung der Stadt erinnert heute nur noch ein kleiner Überrest der Schiedmauer. Die Laurenzenkirche jedoch, in der 1527 erstmals das Abendmahl in beiderlei Gestalt gefeiert wurde, ist weiterhin als reformierte Stadtkirche in Betrieb.

Die Stadt St. Gallen gehörte zu den ersten Schweizer Städten, die sich für die Glaubenserneuerung entschieden, und prägte die Reformation der Ostschweiz nachhaltig. Die Reformatoren in der Stadt St. Gallen, vorab Bürgermeister Joachim von Watt und Johannes Kessler, setzten sich intensiv mit den Lehren Luthers und Zwinglis auseinander. Ihre Meinung hatte in den theologischen Disputationen auf eidgenössischer Ebene großes Gewicht.
Wir möchten in St. Gallen die Besucherinnen und Besucher aus nah und fern mit der reformatorischen Botschaft vertraut machen und Themen wie Erneuerung und Freiheit zur Sprache bringen.

Thomas Scheitlin

Stadtpräsident der Stadt St. Gallen, St. Gallen

Links

Stadt St. Gallen http://www.stadt.sg.ch/
Touristeninformation http://www.st.gallen-bodensee.ch/de/
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche des Kantons St. Gallen http://www.ref-sg.ch/
Schweizerischer Evangelischer Kirchenbund http://www.kirchenbund.ch/de