Select Page

City of the Reformation – Strasbourg

France

Strasbourg

The capital of Alsace boasts a long European history in the Franco-German cultural realm as well as being the seat of many European institutions. The city centre, with its impressive stock of timbered houses and Strasbourg cathedral, has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site.

The Reformation quickly gained a foothold in Strasbourg. The Protestant preaching of Reformers such as Wolfgang Capito, Caspar Hedio and Matthäus Zell found favour among broad circles of the city’s inhabitants. When the City Council forbade Matthäus Zell from preaching from the cathedral pulpit in 1522, the city’s carpenters constructed a portable pulpit to enable him to continue preaching God’s Word in public. The appearance of Reformer Martin Bucer cemented the grip of the Reformation in Strasbourg, and city’s importance and prestige spread throughout Europe. Along with three other cities, in 1530 Strasbourg presented its own Protestant confession – the Confessio tetrapolitana – to the Imperial Diet in Augsburg. It expressed the fundamental alignment of the Upper German Reformation as a mediator between Wittenberg and Zurich.

The city became home to increasing numbers of Protestant religious fugitives from France, who acquired Johannes Calvin as their own pastor in Strasbourg in 1538. The High School, which was also founded in that year and became the academic seat of Strasbourg Reformationists, attracted students from far and wide who came to hear their prestigious teachings. The High School and the city’s many print works helped to disseminate Reformationist thought.

Women of the Reformation also played a particularly prominent role in Strasbourg. Katharina Zell, for instance, was not only one of the first Reformationist pastors’ wives, but she also corresponded with other Reformers throughout the Empire, published hymn books, delivered her own sermons and organised aid for the religious fugitives.

Strasbourg’s Reformation heritage is still very tangible in many places. You can wonder around the picturesque 16th and 17th century alleyways of “La petite France” and explore the Bible museum there. The Church of St. Thomas, Strasbourg’s main Protestant church, once hosted a sermon by Bucer, and Albert Schweitzer gave many recitals on its Silbermann organ to raise funds for his hospital in Lambarene. The Faculty of Protestant Theology and affiliated monastery continue the tradition of Protestant teaching and scholarship. Strasbourg is also home to the Lutheran World Federation’s Institute for Ecumenical Research, which regularly offers summer courses examining contemporary ecumenical themes.

Strasbourg is a city with a special European dimension that grew from the era of the Reformation.

Nous souhaitons saisir l’occasion du Jubilé de la Réformation 2017 pour retrouver nos racines, mais aussi réfléchir en Église sur l’apport de la Réformation pour notre présence dans la société et notre témoignage aujourd’hui, afin de toucher des personnes en-dehors du cadre de nos Églises. Nous sommes donc prêts à apporter notre part au grand mouvement qui s’esquisse en Europe dans la perspective de 2017.

Christian Albecker

President of the Council, Union of Protestant Churches of Alsace and Lorraine (UEPAL)

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Straßburg

Frankreich

Straßburg

Die Hauptstadt des Elsass hat eine lange europäische Geschichte im deutsch-französischen Kulturraum und ist Sitz zahlreicher europäischer Institutionen. Das Zentrum der Stadt mit seinen zahlreichen Fachwerkhäusern und dem Straßburger Münster zählt zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Schon früh konnte die Reformation in Straßburg Fuß fassen. Reformatoren, wie Wolfgang Capito, Caspar Hedio und Matthäus Zell erreichten mit ihrer evangelischen Predigt weite Teile der städtischen Bevölkerung. Als der Rat der Stadt Matthäus Zell das Predigen auf der Kanzel des Münsters untersagte, bauten die Schreiner ihm 1522 eine tragbare Kanzel, um das Wort Gottes weiterhin unter die Menschen zu bringen. Mit dem Auftreten des Reformators Martin Bucer setzte sich die Reformation in Straßburg durch und gewann an Bedeutung und Ausstrahlungskraft für ganz Europa. 1530 legte die Stadt mit drei weiteren Städten für den Reichstag in Augsburg ein eigenes evangelisches Glaubensbekenntnis, die Confessio tetrapolitana, vor. Darin kam die Grundausrichtung der oberdeutschen Reformation als Vermittlung zwischen Wittenberg und Zürich zum Ausdruck.

Vermehrt nahm die Stadt auch evangelische Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Frankreich auf, für die ab 1538 Johannes Calvin als Pfarrer in Straßburg wirkte. An der ebenfalls 1538 neugegründeten Hohen Schule lehrten die Straßburger Reformatoren und fanden Zulauf von Studenten, die zum Teil von weit her dem Ruf der Straßburger Hohen Schule folgten. Durch sie und die vielen in Straßburg ansässigen Druckereien wurde das reformatorische Gedankengut weit verbreitet.

Eine besondere Bedeutung kommt in Straßburg den Frauen der Reformation zu: Katharina Zell war nicht nur die Ehefrau eines Reformators und gehörte damit zum Kreis der ersten evangelischen Pfarrfrauen, sie unterhielt Briefwechsel mit Reformatoren im ganzen Reich, gab Gesangbücher heraus, predigte mitunter selbst und organisierte daneben die Hilfe für die Glaubensflüchtlinge.

Das reformatorische Erbe ist in Straßburg an vielen Orten präsent. Im malerischen Stadtviertel „La petite France“ kann man durch die Gassen des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts schlendern. Dort findet sich auch ein Bibelmuseum. In der Thomaskirche, der evangelischen Hauptkirche Straßburgs hat einst Bucer gepredigt und auf der Silbermann-Orgel spielte Albert Schweitzer viele Konzerte zur Finanzierung seines Hospitals in Lambarene. Die evangelisch-theologische Fakultät mit dem angeschlossenen Stift trägt die Tradition protestantischer Bildungsverantwortung und Gelehrsamkeit weiter. In Straßburg befindet sich auch das Institut für Ökumenische Forschung des Lutherischen Weltbunds, das regelmäßig auch Sommerkurse zu aktuellen Fragestellungen der Ökumene anbietet.

Straßburg – eine Stadt mit europäischer Weite, die schon in der Reformationszeit angelegt ist.

Nous souhaitons saisir l’occasion du Jubilé de la Réformation 2017 pour retrouver nos racines, mais aussi réfléchir en Église sur l’apport de la Réformation pour notre présence dans la société et notre témoignage aujourd’hui, afin de toucher des personnes en-dehors du cadre de nos Églises. Nous sommes donc prêts à apporter notre part au grand mouvement qui s’esquisse en Europe dans la perspective de 2017. Christian Albecker

Kirchenpräsident, Union der Protestantischen Kirchen von Elsass und Lothringen (UEPAL)