Select Page

The Reformation City of Wertheim

Germany

Wertheim

Where Luther did not eat a bratwurst

Between Frankfurt and Nuremberg, the town of Wertheim lies on a tributary running into the Main. The ruins of an old Stauffen fortification loom over the historical centre of this most north-eastern town in Baden – those of Wertheim Castle.
In summer 1518, half a year after Luther had published his Theses against the sale of indulgences, Count Georg II of Wertheim (1487-1530) banned pompous funeral banquets and denounced the many foundations for funeral masses. In so doing, he raised one of the Reformation’s key criticisms of the Catholic practice of indulgences. However, Georg II not only wanted to reform the practice of piety in his county, but also to free himself from Church dominance over the ecclesiastical principalities of Kurmainz and Würzburg.
Count Georg II became the spokesman for the Franconian Imperial Circle, an association of small and medium-sized territories and towns at the heart of the German Empire. He attended several Imperial Diets in this role, which is how he came to know Martin Luther at the Diet of Worms in 1521. During the years that followed, on several occasions he sought advice from Luther on implementing the Reformation and asked him to recommend suitable preachers. In 1523, he appointed the former Carthusian monk Franz Kolb (c. 1465-1535) as a Protestant preacher, who then composed a Protestant confessional writing known as the “Wertheim Counsel”. But his Zwinglian understanding of Holy Communion caused Kolb to leave Wertheim.
The key protagonist of the Reformation in Wertheim would be Johann Eberlin von Günzburg (c. 1470-1533). Count Georg II summoned him to Wertheim in 1526, where he succeeded in gradually restructuring the county’s Church, school system and social life in line with the Reformation. As the county’s Superintendent, Eberlin not only drew up a church order, but also translated Tacitus’ “Germania” into German.
Upon the sudden death of Count Georg II in 1530, his widow Countess Barbara took charge of the guardianship of her son Michael, who was just a few months old. The Lutheran church order in the county of Wertheim was consolidated under her regency. Countess Barbara ensured that her son was thoroughly prepared for his future responsibility as ruler and sent him to study in Leipzig, and also to Luther and Melanchthon in Wittenberg. When Count Michael III took office in 1551, he introduced visitations for rural parishes, reformed the monastic system, and completed the Reformation process by 1555, the year that witnessed the Peace of Augsburg.
Some of the first printed flyers by Martin Luther from 1518, in both Latin and German, are still held in the historic church library of Wertheim’s Collegiate Church, which was founded in 1448. There can also be found a hand-coloured print of the Augsburg Confession dated 1557 that was given to Countess Barbara by her brother. The county museum has a special department dedicated to the Reformation in Wertheim.
A legend abounds in Wertheim that Luther supposedly ate a bratwurst in the town’s “Golden Eagle” tavern without paying. This would have made him not only the most famous guest but also a bill-dodger. Even if Luther actually probably never set foot in Wertheim, the story is told to this day – and bratwurst is the number one dish on the menu in Wertheim’s oldest tavern.

Wertheim is a town steeped in history, in which the Reformation has also left its clear mark. We are looking forward to hosting many interesting events that reflect this fact. The town will be commemorating the Reformation anniversary with guided tours “In the footsteps of the Reformation in Wertheim”, for example. There will also be a small exhibition of facsimiles in the side aisle of the Collegiate Church to complement the Confessional department in the county museum. Stefan Mikulicz

Mayor, Wertheim

Links

Town of Wertheim (in German only) http://www.wertheim.de
Wertheim Tourist Office http://www. tourismus-wertheim.com
Evangelical Church District of Wertheim (in German only) http://kirchenbez-wertheim.de
Protestant Church in Baden (in German only) http://www.ekiba.de/

Seite auswählen

Reformationsstadt Wertheim

Deutschland

Wertheim

Keine Bratwurst für Luther

Zwischen Frankfurt und Nürnberg liegt an einer Flussmündung in den Main die Stadt Wertheim. Über der Altstadt der nördlichsten Stadt Badens thront die Ruine einer alten staufischen Burganlage: die Wertheimer Burg.
Im Sommer 1518, ein halbes Jahr nachdem Luther seine Thesen gegen den Ablasshandel veröffentlichte, verbot Graf Georg II. von Wertheim (1487-1530) pompöse Leichenfeiern und prangerte die vielen Stiftungen für Totenmessen an. Damit griff er eine zentrale reformatorische Kritik an der katholischen Ablasspraxis auf. Doch Georg II. wollte nicht nur die Frömmigkeitspraxis in seiner Grafschaft reformieren, er wollte sich auch von der kirchlichen Vorherrschaft der geistlichen Fürstentümer Kurmainz und Würzburg lösen.
Graf Georg II. wurde Sprecher des fränkischen Reichskreises, eines Zusammenschlusses kleiner und mittelgroßer Territorien und Städte in der Mitte des deutschen Reiches. In dieser Funktion nahm er an mehreren Reichstagen teil. So lernte er auf dem Reichstag in Worms 1521 auch Martin Luther kennen. In den folgenden Jahren bat er Luther mehrmals um Rat für die Umsetzung der Reformation und um Empfehlung von geeigneten evangelischen Predigern. Ab 1523 berief er den ehemaligen Kartäusermönch Franz Kolb (ca. 1465-1535) zum evangelischen Prediger und dieser verfasste eine evangelische Bekenntnisschrift, den „Wertheimer Ratschlag“. Doch wegen seiner Zwinglianischen Abendmahlsauffassung musste Kolb Wertheim verlassen.
Zum eigentlichen Reformator Wertheims wurde Johann Eberlin von Günzburg (ca. 1470-1533). Graf Georg II. berief ihn 1526 nach Wertheim und ihm gelang es, das Kirchen- und Schulwesen wie auch das soziale Leben in der Grafschaft schrittweise reformatorisch neu zu ordnen. Als Superintendent der Grafschaft verfasste Eberlin eine Kirchenordnung, übersetzte aber auch die „Germania“ des Tacitus ins Deutsche.
Nach dem plötzlichen Tod von Graf Georg II. 1530 übernahm seine Witwe, Gräfin Barbara den Vorsitz der Vormundschaftsregierung für ihren nur wenige Monate alten Sohn Michael. Unter ihrer Regentschaft konsolidierte sich die lutherische Kirchenordnung in der Grafschaft Wertheim. Gräfin Barbara sorgte für eine umfassende Vorbereitung ihres Sohnes auf seine künftige Regierungsverantwortung und sandte ihn zum Studium nach Leipzig und nach Wittenberg zu Luther und Melanchthon. Als Graf Michael III. 1551 seine Regierung antrat führte er die Visitationen der Landpfarreien und die Reformation des Klosterwesens ein und brachte die Reformation bis zum Jahr des Augsburger Religionsfriedens von 1555 zu einem Abschluss.
In der 1448 begründeten Historischen Kirchenbibliothek der Wertheimer Stiftskirche befinden sich bis heute einige der ersten gedruckten Flugschriften Martin Luthers aus dem Jahr 1518 sowohl in lateinischer wie in deutscher Sprache. Ebenfalls findet sich dort ein handkolorierter und Gräfin Barbara von ihrem Bruder gewidmeter Druck des Augsburger Bekenntnisses aus dem Jahr 1557. Im Grafschaftsmuseum ist eine Abteilung der Reformation in Wertheim gewidmet.
In Wertheim erzählt man sich eine Legende über Luther, der angeblich hier im Gasthaus „Goldener Adler“ eine Bratwurst verspeist haben soll ohne zu bezahlen. So wäre der berühmteste Gast zugleich auch ein Zechpreller gewesen. Auch wenn Luther tatsächlich wohl nie einen Fuß nach Wertheim gesetzt hat, wird die Geschichte bis heute weitererzählt – und die Bratwurst steht in der ältesten Gaststätte Wertheims an erster Stelle auf der Speisekarte.

Wertheim ist eine geschichtsträchtige Stadt, in der auch die Reformation ihre Spuren hinterlassen hat. Wir freuen uns auf viele interessante Veranstaltungen, die darauf Bezug nehmen. Begleitend zum Reformationsjubiläum bietet die Stadt zum Beispiel Führungen zum Thema „ Auf den Spuren der Reformation in Wertheim“ an. Außerdem gibt es im Seitenschiff der Stiftskirche eine kleine Faksimile-Ausstellung als Ergänzung zur konfessionskundlichen Abteilung im Grafschaftsmuseum. Stefan Mikulicz

Oberbürgermeister, Wertheim

Links

Stadt Wertheim http://www.wertheim.de
Tourismusbüro Wertheim http://www.tourismus-wertheim.de
Evangelischer Kirchenbezirk Wertheim http://kirchenbez-wertheim.de
Evangelische Landeskirche in Baden http://www.ekiba.de/